Posted by: jujuridl | November 20, 2007

Good Calories, Bad Calories, abbreviated

Okay, okay, okay, okay, okay. Okay.

Here’s the dealio.

I’ve learned from Jimmy Moore’s Living La Vida Lo-Carb (I need to catch up there. Jimmy’s been burning up the interweb with Taubes news.) that my other personal boyfriend Andrew Weil (yes, I have touched the beard) is asking all of his students and researchers to read Good Calories, Bad Calories, as he has, cover to cover. I won’t share the link to the contentious Larry King show that featured Weil giving his stamp to the book, because the segment is just stuffed with images of headless obese people, and I won’t perpetuate that kind of yellow journalism.

However. Here’s my concern, and my pledge. I’m concerned that the book, informed by 7 years’ research, and pared down from Taubes’ original 400,000 word first draft, is too much reading for most of us. And yet, to paraphrase another great thinker, people are dying every day for want of what is found there.

I’m thinking cliff’s notes. I’m thinking instead of one book report, I’ll take on Taubes’ book, and offer up my version of cliff’s notes of its contents. This is just to help spread the contents around. But it is not to keep you from:

1. Buying a copy of the book and giving it to your doctor.

2. Buying a copy of the book and keeping it on your coffee table, to engender discussion among your circle of friends.

3. Buying a copy of the book for anyone who’s got the job of preparing your food or your children’s food, at schools, churches, hospitals — particularly institutions.

4. Buying a copy of the book for your local library.

5. Buying a copy of the book for another local library where there isn’t much wealth or many book donors.

6. Sharing the book with your weight loss support group.

Okey dokey?

I can’t promise the cliff notes will come as fast as you want them to. I also can’t promise that they won’t be laden with my own snarky editorial commentary (I KNEW that Ornish was a prig! Stunkard’s onomatopoeia ain’t lyin.)

I REALLY hope — those of you who will absolutely read the book along with me — that you will jump in and question, correct, add to, subtract from my notes. I’m going to go chapter by chapter. And… if you’d like to help with this project, holler, will you?

This is big, y’all.

JuJu

Responses

  1. Count me in. I just ordered a copy from Amazon and pledge that I will read it along with you. And I’ll help with the project :)

  2. I can’t wait to start promoting this on my blog.

  3. I should mention that if you’re way ahead of me, and many of you are, there is a chapter-by-chapter discussion on Jimmy’s discussion board:

    http://tinyurl.com/2rczax

    (Scroll down when you hit the site, it’s poorly designed, with all the content under the “fold” — not Jimmy’s fault.)

  4. um – all the content below the fold – it is Jimmy’s choice in the template to put big advertising first.

  5. Hi Juju! I’m not sure what to think about this book. With all due respect, the vegetarian in me is not all that excited about a meat, fish, fowl diet. I agree wholeheatedly about the high fructose corn syrup being the source of all evil :), but I’m not ready to give up my spaghetti. I’ll be following along with great interest! Thanks for you site. :)

  6. Oh Elizabeth, I hear you. And I am sorry about this. It’s going to be a flesh-eater’s world around here for a bit. But I’ll try not to be too graphic about it, and continue just to talk “protein” and “carbs.” I think there is absolutely tons of information in Taubs’ book useful for vegetarians. Particularly what he has to say about fats. Go ahead and eat your spaghetti, but remember to eat it with plenty of fats and legumes, and cook and eat it al dente — which lowers the glycemic impact, mkay? If you can tolerate soy, you might go for one of the soy or lentil or buckwheat pastas instead?

  7. [...] Skinny Daily Post [...]

  8. Folks may want to read this
    http://tinyurl.com/2xkksv
    for some balance.

  9. The funniest line in the article Chris linked to was “And now the poor public is confused!” So apparently the job of a journalist is to oversimplify things so people won’t be confused …

  10. This book is my new obsession. I bought it last Wednesday and I’m completely obsessed with it. I’m still stunned every time I think about it. Very good idea about sharing it with your doctors. Although they’re probably just tell me I’ll die.

    BTW, Juju, my childhood nickname was JuJu!!

  11. My book just came today and I inadvertently ordered two copies. Contest is underway to give away the extra …

    JuJu I can’t wait to get into the “meat” of this book.

  12. The book is actually quite readable. Yes, there are some technical bits and I (BA, JD) had to re-read a sentence every once in a while, but it’s so well-written that it flows. I guess it’s not for nothing that Taubes has won awards for his writing. And the research blew my mind.

    Just found your blog via Frances Kuffel’s site…

  13. That’s nice


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

