Posted by: jujuridl | January 11, 2010

When will you write about sex?

Hi folks. Juju here. Are you out there?

I am still here. Thanks to those of you who wonder and post and check in now and then. It’s been a crazy year. I’ve been through some heavy transitions that I’ll tell you all about soon…

I remember reading somewhere that menopause hits women like a perfect storm. Your parents suddenly need you, your de-nesting kids suddenly need you, your career challenges hit their peak, and that’s when your body starts playing tricks.

Well, the truth of that seemed academic and far away for me just a few years ago. I was fit, healthy, having fun with my job. And then… Wow.

Here’s what I’ve learned: Respect for hormones.

Say, speaking of hormones (I’ve got no transition more clever than that): On the average of once or twice a month during the years that I regularly worked on this blog, I’d get the question: When are you going to write about sex? And you know, I always answered: No way, dood, my parents read this blog… I’m no prude, and I was thinking hard about how middle age affected my sexuality, but, really and truly, dood, my parents were reading my blog.

Well, I lost my dear mom. And my Dad, who suffers from severe dementia, no longer uses the computer or reads. No reason to hold back now, folks.

But I have an even better reason. One of my docs — an OBGyn I went to college with — and a colleague from a Fortune 500 company I’ve worked for, are starting up a website specifically to support the sexuality of women over 40. Respect the hormones, indeed.  They’ve asked me to come write for them. So… That answers that old question. When will I write about sex? Often. Daily. Over at MiddlesexMD.com. If the subject matter interests you or someone you love, check it out. We’ve launched just the blog today, but the whole site, full of lots of great info (oh my aching head), is under construction and ought to be up before spring sproings.

And without a lot of fanfare, without a lot of wild resolutions, I’m going to return to this blog too. Try to neaten up the edges, dust under the carpets a bit. I’ve fallen away from the subject matter, and the fitness/diet world has only gotten crazier in the meantime. But hey, I still have a body. Why not write about it? Right?

If you’re still there, I hope you’re taking good care of yourself. I will if you will.


Responses

  1. JuJu, getting your email was like seeing a post from an old friend! While I’m sorry to hear the news of both your parents, I was thrilled to see you’d be writing regularly again – about health, nutrition and sex.

    Look forward to hearing from you and welcome back!

  2. Yea!!!! Juju is back. I too echo the sentiments about your parents. I understand that life happens and we have to love those that need our love on the level they need it, when they need. Whether they know it or not! I pray your continued strength with your dad… I love the picture of you… I am sans the hat but sitting here in the mud room drinking coffee – I can’t wait to hear more from you. Welcome back. You were missed.

  3. I was glad to get your email. I wish you the best in your new writing endeavor. Your open and honest style has kept me engaged.

  4. Julie! Sorry to hear that the hormone thing is hitting you – it’s rough! Been there, done that and don’t wish it on anyone. Super happy to have you back blogging and I will definitely check out the new venture. Take care of yourself – midlife is rough! Hugs!

  5. Well…..women’s issues was not REALLY what I was looking for, but I am REALLY happy to see one of your posts. Thinking of you!

  6. great to see your post Juju…. now all that’s left for you to rejoin the blogosphere is to link to both a Facebook page, and Twitter. :-) and your followers will come!

  7. Hi folks! Hey, you ARE still there. Thanks for commenting. And don’t you worry, Dennis. SDP will still be about healthy living for boys and girls. Especially the older ones.

  8. yay!! i was looking for some support in the new year and every now and then i would look to see if you had updated—so happy to see you back in cyberworld!! –which seems to be more of a real world as it develops!!! sorry to hear about your parents–we have some of that going on in our lives here,but on we go—-someday it will be us {yikes} take care!

  9. Yay! Glad you’re back Julie!

  10. A friend in my in-box! That’s what it felt like. And then I thought, of course Juju would resurrect SDP! Because she doesn’t have enough going on… Thanks for doing it!

  11. Welcome back, Juju! We missed you!

    So sorry about your folks. I’m there too, and it’s a very tough time in my life also.

    Always loved your blog and I’m so glad you’re back to inspire, challenge and inform us again.

  12. So glad to see you back! I’ve missed the SDP and I could REALLY use it now! (I’m also looking forward to checking out your new blog.)

  13. What a delight to hear from you! I’m so glad you’re back!

  14. Glad to hear from you again! Can’t wait to hear more.

  15. So glad you are back and your new subject matter couldn’t be timed more perfectly. I am one of those women that they would have institutionalized back in the 40’s after menopause. To feel like you have died physically and emotionally and be told by a much younger female doctor that,”You watch too much Oprah!”…that old song, “Is that all there is my friend…” became my theme song. Thankfully there are professionals out there that have been enlightened and luckly I found one…but the battles are still going on. Your return makes me feel like the Calvery has arrived!

  16. My prayers!
    Wish you a wonderfully happy and prosperous 2010!

  17. I was so happy to see you back in print. I often go back and read some of the old subjects. Once I thought I would take all the previous columns and make my own book.

  18. Wow – so good to read your good words again. It’s been a helluva year (’09 that is) for me too and I’m age 50 so menopause looms. Will be great to see you arrive in my blog feeder once more.

  19. I was so happy to get the email about Skinny Post! I am sorry about your Mom, and your Dad. I will definitely check out middlesexMD.com. I’m gonna be 48 and have just started perimenopause last year… I mean just started. Sigh… 10 years to go? Lord help everyone I know! :) Looking forward to reading you regularly again.

  20. I was glad to get your post. I can’t wait for your new blog as well as I have few questions that I can’t ask any of my friends since they are all younger. I’m sure I’m there- smack in the midst of menopause- but since I have been wrong about my body before, during the whole pregnancy thing and attempts at weight loss, I don’t trust what is going on now. Maybe I’ve just watched too many episodes of House. Anyway, I hope you still address “weightier” issues, especially after menopause.

  21. What a great way to start the year!!! I’m so glad you’re back….Welcome!

  22. HI JuJu. I first “met” you when I spent some time in Grand Rapids — I guess it was around 2001 or ’02. I read the Skinny Daily post in paper form. I have struggled with extra pounds pretty much my whole life–yet your column and your style finally got me to actually lose weight and be more committed to exercise. As one example, you had a phrase, “pang, no gain,” which helped me be more aware of eating only when hungry. I could write much more–but suffice it say that I am very grateful you are ‘back,’ and my thoughts and prayers continue to be with you and your family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

