Posted by: jujuridl | January 13, 2010

Ah, hello, then.

Good grief, you ARE there. I don’t deserve you. But hello, there.

As I was saying, what, a couple of years ago…. this whole body maintenance thing… Not easy. That’s what I was saying, if I remember correctly.

While I wasn’t looking — attending to other things — I regained a bunch of weight. Not nearly all of it, not half. but a disturbing bunch. More alarming than the weight, for me, was how quickly and easily I lost fitness. It seems if one lies down and doesn’t get up for a couple of years, one loses muscle tone. Don’t bother looking it up. I tell you, it’s the stone cold truth.

I had grown proud of my fitness. Maybe a bit smug about it. And now, now that my ovaries are gone (poof!), and I have some inflamed joints to deal with (I sit up most nights, just me and my hip, in the dark, rocking), that fitness goal seems a bit farther away than it did even when I carried much more weight.

But I also know that without the fitness, the weight loss is simply not possible for me. I wouldn’t lose it, and I certainly couldn’t keep it off. So…

So tomorrow I rejoin the pool, at the club I am entitled to join because this year I turn 50. 50. That’s 50. And this club’s is for people 50+. (I’ll be the cute young thing there.)

Fighting pain? Fighting inflammation? Guess what’s good for those things? Um…. Eating well (eating your fish, cutting sugar and saturated fats and empty carbs)  and exercising. That’s annoying news, but true.

Argh. The pool. Now I’ve said I’m doing it. So it must be true…

Responses

  1. Go JuJu and I wont ” join you ” but I promice I will exercise too! It’s a deal… I understand about the loss of fitness experiencing the same thing… BUT where there is a will there is a way…. and I sense some will stirring up . for us PYT’s (pretty- yougest in the room- things!)

    • Hi Soliel. Thanks for visiting! Good for you!

  2. Chronic pain is horrible for trying to keep the weight off. I lost 40 kilos a few years back and gained back 14 over the last two years after a car accident that left me slightly disabled (and unable to exercise) but the only reason I’ve not gained back more is through sheer obstinance. The gym seems very far away for me now and I understand how you feel.

  3. Still similar! Just turned 50, but hate swimming. I thought we were much younger! Lucky to be able to walk, and sometimes jog, on the treadmill. Right at the halfway point between my goal weight and my “fattest” weight. Need to have more gratitude for my health. SO GLAD to see your posts!

  4. Glad to hear from you. I can totally empathize with the joint pain and weight gain. I have to get back on the bandwagon. I’ll feel better.

  5. Wow, what timing. I’ve also been looking back on the last year or so, wondering how and when I stopped planning for (and doing!) exercise. I keep having horror moments, but it’s taken until now to really turn around, face it, and start walking the road back to fitness.

    btw, I’d signed up for notifications via FeedBlitz, and suddenly got a notice yesterday — that’s what brought me back, and perhaps other readers as well? So glad to see you blogging again, it’s a comfort.

    • Hey Stephanie! We can do this!

  6. You go girl- I so treasure you. we are here to support you too!!!!
    Off to yoga! xoxoxo

  7. J

    See you at that 50+ place, probably in the pool. I’m working on the hips part too. I started swimming in Sept, and now I can’t stop because I know that it makes me feel better.

    The water is WARM there, if that helps!!

    Mary

    • Oh man, do I love that pool, Mary!

  8. Juju, It’s so good to hear from you! I’m sending you a warm hug, can you feel it?

    I’m sorry that you are struggling (I am too) but it’s good to know you’re in this with me, with US. I know that exercise is the key for me too, but I still manage to convince myself that I’ll start tomorrow. Ahh, tomorrow, when all things are possible…I have to keep reminding myself that life is lived TODAY! Thanks for the nudge.
    Gloria

  9. Juju, I’ve wondered a few times how you were doing weight-wise. I too, had some major life distractions and regained what I’d worked so hard to lose. Here I am again, starting over. Books which have been inspiring me to move more and eat better, just for today, are “Move a Little, Lose a Lot!” and “The One-Day Way.” I’m beginning to feel the ache of new exercise, but am also already able to do more, and I’m feeling okay about moderating my food, but the weight isn’t showing a change yet. I will be my best, just for today, and not worry about when the results show. Jane

    • That one-day-at-a-time idea — it’s a good idea, isn’t it?

  10. Arrrgh, I turn 50 this year, too! And I lay down a couple of years ago, when a tough thing happened in my life, and yeah, the muscle tone slipped out the door when I wasn’t looking. Damn…

    So, will you blog your process again? I loved reading you!

  11. Juju! It’s great to hear from you. You are such a wonderful writer, makes me want to come to the blog every darn day.

    Before, when I was reading, I wasn’t really doing much else to make myself a healthier person. But at long last, your words have taken hold and I’m SLOWLY making progress. I’m even more fit than I have ever been. Not saying a whole lot there, but hey…the bike is my friend, now!

    I’m on the downhill slope to 50, too. Yipes.

    • DT!!! UPhill to 50! Achievement!

  12. JuJu, I can so empathize with the up in the middle of the night with a painful hip. Hugs to you! I’ve found it impacts just about every aspect of my life but cannot yet commit to surgery as I have so much weight to lose and cannot help but think that if that weight were gone it would feel much better. Of course, the rational side of me says, “Will that make the pain in the hands, shoulders, etc. go away?” Perhaps, but I haven’t yet investigated it. Regardless, the weight still needs to come off.

    Now that you’ve started writing again (and on several topics that affect me this time around), I feel a bit more inspired to do something positive toward doing something healthier for myself. I’m at a time in my life when I’ve taken over the care of an elderly in-law and WOW, I feel I need to be healthier more than ever. It’s a lot of work, even if it is coming from the heart.

    Thanks for coming back to inspire and share. You’re a positive force for so many!

  13. JuJu – I will if you will!

    Gosh we’ve missed you. It is so good to hear from you – its been far too long!

    How is it that when we are overweight we tell ourselves that this is a lifetime journey and that we must stay on the path everyday, but then when we lose our weight we forget the excercise and good eating habits. I too have recommitted 2010 to be the year I do this. I’m so glad to have you back for the journey. We need you!

    • MIssed you too, Martha! Thanks for being there…

  14. Wow….twin sister, separated at birth.

    In a nutshell (there’s room for two in here): At age 48, I weighed 240 lbs. Suddenly, I realized I wasn’t so much OLD as FAT. By age 52, I had transformed myself. I weighed 140 lbs. I worked out, HARD, on the heavy-weight, high-intensity Crossfit/long distance cycling train.

    Then the proverbial kaka hit the fan.

    I developed spinal stenosis from an arthritic cervical spine and needed two surgeries to stabilize my neck. Both my teens developed bipolar disorder (the older one also has autism), my uterus, bladder, and rectum decided it would be fun to prolapse, my husband developed hypertension and diabetes, and my aging parents started to need me more.

    In two short years, at 54, I have gained 50 lbs., a boatload of chronic, daily stress, finally begun having irregular periods, and find it very difficult to exercise without pain. I can walk. I can sometimes ride a stationary recumbent bike. Period.

    I am dedicated, not to weight loss, but to healing from all this. If I restricted calories, it would be just another stress for me at this point. So my recovery program looks like this:

    1. Eat well. Lots of vegetables, some fish, lean grassfed meats, free range eggs, yogurt, lacto-fermented vegetables, nuts, seeds, olive oil. Chocolate. *grin* I supplement with a ‘greens’ smoothie every day, fish oil capsules, vitamins, and bee pollen with ginseng. My kids call it voodoo. I call it turning to alternative medicine to heal what mainstream, allopathic doctors have no interest or expertise in. (I should know, I am a physician.)

    2. Meditate every day. I follow mindfulness meditation practices.

    3. Restorative exercise—not grinding it out to burn calories for weight loss, but to maintain my body, soothe my mind and spirit. So I do what I call ‘yoga walk’: being completely present in the moment, in my body, to feel how to hold myself to create the most ease in any given moment. This can be challenging with spinal fusions from C3 to C7—even walking can strain my neck and shoulders. So I must yoga walk. I also gently and carefully do a few yoga poses—standing, seated, and lying down.

    4. Relax, and sleep. I wind down in the evening. I drink Sleepytime or Bedtime tea. I listen to music. If I am tired during the day, I take a few minutes to meditate before moving on.

    Well, juju, that was a big nutshell. But we’re not the only ones—this midlife passage has powerful lessons. I am glad you are back, you are a wonderful writer.

    • WOW, Susie! Thanks for commenting. You’ve been through it, sister! What I would give for a long cup of tea to hear more… I don’t know what lacto-fermented vegetables are? Can you say more about your diet and how you arrived at it? Some time? So glad you stopped by. Thanks!

  15. Woohoo! Over the moon to see you pop up in my Google Reader! Welcome back lovely JuJu. Looking forward to reading your words again and best of luck with getting back in the pool :)

    • Shauna!! And you have become such a STAR! Thanks for dropping by. I am SO in the pool! Love it, love it, love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

