Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Okay. Last night wasnít a good night. It was the night after a bad day. You let your guard down, and into your face marched every empty calorie in the house. Every cracker, chip. Every cookie, every slice. Everything that looked good. And, well, some more you had delivered.

It was a binge, plain and simple. You didnít think it would get out of control, but it did. Itís the morning after, or itís mid-binge, and youíre upset. What do you do?

You get help.

You find your sponsor, buddy, friend, counselor, go-to person, support system for your binge thing, of course. Straight to a meeting. Straight to the phone. Directly online. You report in, right? Tell them what happened, talk about it, decide what youíre going to do next.

And if you donít have those things?

Itís time you got help, friend.

Look, if youíre a binge eater, and you know who you are, then you need support. Why are you trying to do this alone? Itís too hard to fight this thing all by yourself. It just is. You didnít develop a binge eating problem in a vacuum, or overnight. You werenít born with it. You donít completely understand it. Youíre not in control of it. It is, in fact, an addiction. Itís not hard to become addicted to food. Itís everywhere. We learn to use food in many ways that have nothing to do with nourishment. Most of us, in fact, have a food addiction or two. For some of us itís a problem that has cut into our health, our life.

And when youíre fighting an addiction, why also fight the convention for treating an addiction? The convention for treating an addiction is reaching out for support, advice, counsel. To admit this thing is stonger than you are, and to get help. To learn to rely on the help of people who get it, have been through it, and know how to help you.

Addiction to food is particularly hard to treat. Because, well, you canít really give up food, now can you? Weíre around it all the time, are exposed to it constantly. Because of this, I believe, binge eaters need more help than other addicted folks. More support, more assistance.

Luckily, itís not all that hard to find help. You can find it online at sites like somethingfishy.org, find a personal counselor, find it in diet program support groups, in church basements, at Eating Disorders Anonymous or Overeaters Anonymous meetings, in online diet boards. The numbers and opportunities for finding the kind and style of support you need are legion, actually. It can be as communal or private as you need, as public or as anonymous as you like. Itís out there, friend. I recommend you find your support before the next binge. Kay?

I will if you will.

Somethingfishy.org

Eating Disorders Anonymous

Overeaters Anonymous

9 thoughts on “The Morning After

  1. Debbi says:

    Thanks for the somethingfishy.org link. I’d never been there before, and the Coping Bank sounds like a good idea for me.

    I’m beginning to think perhaps I must give up food. I’ve been tracking calories and exercise for quite some time, staying at or below 1200 calories and doing at least 30 minutes of intentional exercise daily — often more — as well as my normal routine. When I take a day off from eating — either a juice fast or a total fast — the scale moves down. Otherwise, I stay the same whether I eat healthfully or not. I wonder if I should just accept that my body weighs more than I want it to, and move on. I’m getting awfully discouraged and depressed about my lack of progress.

    I’ve spent two years with doctors trying to treat subclinical hypothyroidism. I have all the symptoms, but was not able to find an effective treatment, and I quit going. A trip to the doctor is about a two-hour round trip drive. It just got too hard.

    Anyway … your site is one I go to every day, and I really appreciate your well-written thoughts on a subject that is always on my mind.

  2. JuJu says:

    Hey Debbie,

    I sometimes think life would be easier if we could give up food. But that, of course, isn’t a good solution. Not for those of us who enjoy having hair and teeth and fingernails and a pulse and stuff.

    However, it sounds as if you are coping with a very slow metabolism. We’re sisters there. I maintain my weight at or near 1,200 calories, with exercise. Thyroid nodules, PCOS, all of that. That’s a bummer. That makes weight loss, as you’ve noticed, excrutiatingly slow, and the lower your body weight the slower it gets. A pound this month, a pound next.

    Accepting a weight that is higher than your goal may be a good option for you, certainly. I finally gave up trying to lose the 10 lbs. the weight and BMI charts tell me I should lose. Getting there just meant a lifestyle I couldn’t and wouldn’t sustain.

    The good news is, a pound here and a pound there is the best possible way to lose weight. But it’s hard to be patient. You could try a medically supervised weight loss program (recommended for anyone considering eating less than 1,200 calories per day), which includes food subscriptions and regular blood tests, EKGs, etc. to closely monitor your health). That’s a big step and often a big investment. On the other side of the weight loss, you’ll still have your stinky metabolism, and will need to guard your diet and exercise as you do now.

    Nowadays, rather than eat less, I choose to step up my exercise now and then. That’s a lot easier on my system, of course. (It sounds as if being good to your body is what you’re trying for?) Burning 100-200 more calories per day is easier than eating that much less at our intake levels.

    Of course there’s such a thing as too much exercise. If you find yourself going there, somethingfishy.org can help with that too.

    Hang in there, Debbie. Take good care of yourself.

  3. juju says:

    Ooops. Meant to include the link to the Coping Bank idea at somethingfishy.org. It’s a great idea:

    http://www.somethingfishy.org/reach/copingbank.php

    J.

  4. julie says:

    OK…did you set up a hidden camera in my house last night? YIKES…thanks for the post, I need to tap into the support system-QUICK!

  5. sarah says:

    Hey

    I just wanted to add my two cents. 1200 calories is really low, so low that your body may think it is starving, and is therefore holding onto every bit of fat as best it can. If you make sure you get 5 meals/day (keeps your metabolism working it’s fastest), and aim for 10 X your body weight (ie, if you weigh 127lbs, you should eat 1270) on the days you DON’T workout, and aim for 13 X body weight on the days you do workout, you should see the fat start to melt. eat more, look smaller.

    oh, and don’t worry about the scale. at 120, I’m a size 7, but at 127 i’m a size 4. . .muscle weighs more than fat, so just go by how you look in the mirror and how your clothes fit.

    hope that helps. feeling bad about your body sucks enough, without adding a feeling of constant hunger into the mix.

    ~S

  6. j says:

    I agree with the comment from one reader who said just go by how your clothes fit and how you look in the mirror. I was never one to weigh myself. I had been working at losing some weight and thought I’d set a two month goal and then get on the scale. Two months later I had looser fitting clothes, felt more confident and was sure I had lost some weight. The scale said I hadn’t lost more than two lbs. The confidence I had was just shot down and all because of a number on a scale. I told myself from then on that the scale didn’t matter and will continue to go by the fit of my clothes as always. I knew my hard work paid off even if the scale said different.
    -J

  7. Debbi says:

    Thanks for all your comments.

    I’m convinced my metabolism is non-functioning. The man I live with, who is a physician, started a new job near a major university in our state, and has agreed to help me find an endocrinologist there.

    The “starvation mode” theory applies to those whose metabolism functions normally. Ditto the multi-mini-meal plan. It’s simply an exercise in futility for me to think those things will work for me. I’ve tried. They haven’t. I keep thinking they will. They don’t.

    I’d love to like what I see in the mirror. But I don’t. So I need to figure out what’s wrong and going back to a physician is the first step. In the meantime, I continue to work out and watch what I eat. If I’m going to be fat, I may as well be fit.

  8. JuJu says:

    Hi again, Debbie,

    Good plan. The fitness part and finding an endo. If you have the patience for it, you might try more than one endo. They do not all ascribe to the same theories.

    Keep using your own head and heart in this.

    It’s so unspeakably frustrating to have to work so hard for so little. But I’m sure you’re worth evey effort.

    JuJu

  9. laura says:

    On slow metabolisms–remember, too, that building muscle helps up that basal metabolism. Cardio exercise is important–it burns calories, is great for your heart, makes you feel good–but there’s nothing like weight lifting for weight loss. Getting a trainer at first is a good investment if you can afford it. Otherwise check out Krista’s Smash website: http://www.stumptuous.com/weights.html

    It sounds like Debbie has some health stuff going on, and I don’t want to imply that weights will fix everything, but I wanted to throw that out there.

    Debbie, give yourself credit for getting help and caring for yourself! Way to go!

    Laura

Leave a Reply

