Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Many, many, many of us who are overweight have problems with liking ourselves, problems being liked or loved. We want comfort, want peace, want joy, want success, want attention, want love, want. We want.

We try to fill up that big gaping hole of want. And often shoveling food (or pouring alcohol or popping pills) into it seems like a good idea.

If you kind of suspect it’s not a good idea at all, there are plenty of ways to get help. You can see a counselor try group therapy, join a 12-step program. These are all good. You can work on your own, with a journal. That really can help a lot too. Try talking it out with a friend, with a cleric, with a mentor. All good.

But when you know you’ve got your food and emotions all tied together, you would do yourself a great service by getting ahold of Geneen Roth’s books, tapes, attending a workshop.

This lady does a terrific job of helping people discover and untie the complex and intricate macramé of emotional knots that lead to compulsive, binge, emotional eating behaviors.

She’s been there, so she gets it. She struggles constantly with the problem, so understands how it requires regular focus and work. She’s created immediately useful, accessible, and inexpensive tools for helping people recover from eating disorders and lead more peaceful lives.

She’s not an advocate of dieting. I’m going to tell you right now that the first of her books I have read, “When You Eat at the Refrigerator, Pull Up a Chair,” is enormously challenging to me. Compulsive dieting is as tough on our psyches as compulsive eating. We know to maintain a massive weight loss requires focus. At the same time, we know we need to find balance.

I think the ideas Roth presents will help lead us to that balance, help us enjoy eating, learn to eat without guilt, learn to treat ourselves well, take the shame out of the simple act of eating.

Roth is out touring to promote her new book, which was released June 1. It’s a good time to catch her for autographs in a bookstore near you.

I recommend.

“When You Eat at the Refrigerator, Pull Up a Chair”

The author’s website, geneenroth.com

5 thoughts on “Geneen Roth

  1. Dana says:

    I’ve been a big, big Geneen Roth fan for a long time. I keep one of the tiny chapters from “When you Eat at the Refrigerator…” posted at my desk — *Do Not Sneak Food or Feelings.*

    She writes that “Every time you sneak food, you give yourself the message that you cannot be seen. You tell yourself, ‘If they really saw me, they wouldn’t love me. Therefore I must hide. Therefore I must sneak.’ ”

    I am reminded by Geneen that I don’t have to sneak around the office or hide snacks in my desks drawers. It reminds me I’m entitled to take care of my body — which may involve eating and may involve not eating. It reminds me not to lie to myself or others.

  2. Eden says:

    Juju,

    I’ve been hanging around your site for a few weeks now and have read several of the archived columns. Just wanted you to know I am an admirer. I am starting my own blog to catalog my own journey of weight loss. I’ve lost 75 lbs. so far and I have about 100 more lbs. to lose. I also am preparing to walk a marathon in four months before my 30th birthday. Thank you for the great resources and thoughts that you share. I really look forward to reading your column.

    Eden

  3. tammy says:

    We love Geneen Roth! Her books are so inspiring that our dietitian uses them to teach our “Living without Diets” class. It’s based on the principles Roth discusses. She’s so real and down-to-earth that it really helps when people are trying to learn that dieting isn’t the way to go if they want to make real life changes. Thanks for sharing Roth with so many people!
    Tammy
    Harbor Health and Massage, Holland, MI

  4. Hope says:

    Spiritual awakening
    Except to eat about it I am not prepared to deal with feelings of financial and emotional insecurity.
    I suffer from mental hyperactivity
    Feelings of anger, resentment, depression, self pity hat, fear anxiety and anxiousness. Anxious and fearful of failure.
    I have expectations of others: my husband, my daughters my siblings and my dead parents.
    I don’t know what to eat or how to eat. I have tried gray sheet, Atkins, Geneen Roth.
    What am I eating and why do I want it.

  5. Hope says:

    The posts are not recent. Is there a section for newer posts?

Leave a Reply

