Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

If you have ever attempted or considered losing more than 10 or 20 pounds, you have likely discovered the connection between sugar and your extra weight. We’ve long ago let go of that silly old idea that a calorie is a calorie is a calorie.

The calories in, calories out equation still works for us, but the quality of the calories we take in, it turns out, are much more important than we used to think for our health and for managing our weight. While cutting back on calories, making your remaining calories as nutritious as possible is critical for your health and critical for control.

Sadly, the addictive nature of certain kinds of non-nutritious foods makes them doubly dangerous for people who are working to maintain or lose weight.

Which brings me to this past weekend, when I had every opportunity to win my battle against sugar, but managed, somehow, to lose it anyway. I had all the right options, great food to choose instead of the sweet stuff, plenty of delicious veggies, legumes, light proteins prepared and presented to me. I had friends and family around who would have swept away anything that made me feel weak, had I asked.

But I didn’t ask. I ate.

And no, I didn’t indulge in a bite or two of a favorite treat. And I didn’t enjoy one whole serving of a lovely dessert only to get right back on my eating program the next day. This wasn’t a reasonable sort of indulgence. Over the past few days of parties and play, I consumed more sugar than I have in the entire previous year.

The sugar was accompanied by obscene amounts of salt, of course (these days sweet packaged food is highly salted and salty packaged food is highly sweetened to double or triple their addictive power), so I’m having a hard time typing this morning, my fingers achy and heavy with retained fluids, my brain dull in a baffling cloud, the morning-after effects of a sugar binge.

What bothers me more than the same old stuff that always bothers me in these situations– remembering that I don’t have control over certain foods, that I never will, that I have to be smarter, that I’m not like other people — is knowing that it will take days now to remove this stuff from my system, and during these days I’ll be craving sugar and sweet stuff. The cravings will occupy a chunk of my brain that would come in handy this week for other things.

So, right now the Halloween candy we didn’t need is talking to me from its plastic container in the freezer (That’s supposed to deter me, but what is better than frozen candy?). My mind has remapped my route to work, highlighting the drugstores and gas stations and grocery stores and video rental places where candy is sold.

But wait where could I possibly be today where there wouldn’t be candy? There are vending machines at my workplace, my clients’ workplaces, at the doctors’ offices I’ll visit with my parents today. I can find candy while shopping at the stationers, at the butcher’s. There’s candy in the waiting room when I get my oil changed. Candy at school. Candy at church. Candy at the drycleaners. Candy at the vet’s office.

I see candy bars. They’re everywhere. (Can you imagine the world freely offering other addictive substances the way we do candy? I’m imagining cute little holiday baskets of airline vodka bottles on the edges of receptionists’ desks. Or perhaps a nice bowlful of oxycontin on the teacher’s desk. Complementary cocaine after dinner?)

I know I need just two or three days without sugar (and its cousin, refined grains) in my diet before I’ll have some control over it again. It takes that long, and only that long, for my body to let go of the cravings. Once they’re gone, I can travel through my day again without seeing through buildings to the nearest vending machine, without ideas of candy and cookies inserting themselves into my thoughts mid-sentence, mid-breath.

And best of all, I can write without the mind-scrambling effect that sugar has on me.

I hate having a sugar binge this early in the season. But maybe there is a silver lining. By losing it early, perhaps this correction, the one that begins today, will carry me right past Thanksgiving and at least half way through the year-end holidays.

If you’re a sugar junkie, a candy fiend, then the season on your soul has just opened. Time to be extra watchful and wary, to pull out all of your best control strategies for keeping sugar out of your system, and use them. Please stop by skinnydaily.com and share your best methods. We could all use all the help we can get.

The Sugar Addict’s Total Recovery Program, by Kathleen DesMaisons

Sugar Busters’ Concept

32 thoughts on “On the Sugar Wagon

  1. Marianne says:

    I had the same sort of weekend. I baked a birthday cake for my sister and somehow managed to eat most of it myself.

    My thought is that the month between Halloween and Thanksgiving is sort of a gift, an almost-month-long reprieve before the real holiday madness begins. I plan to make the most of it.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Can’t believe how timely this is. I’ve always had a bingeing problem with refined carbs and sweets. As a result, I’ve learned that I just can’t keep much of that around – especially candy. Ah, but that pesky Halloween derails me every year. This year, I pledged to only buy non-chocolate candy, but of course, I had to supplement the four bags of skittles, nerds and gummy bears with one economy sized bag of Twix (why, why, why???) I waited until two days before Halloween to buy the stuff, and even left it in the trunk of my car. And, yup, you guessed it, for the next two days I found a remarkable number of excuses to run out to the garage for something I “forgot” in the car. Funny, but sad. My powerlessness over sugar really came home to me when, after a wonderful, sweaty, invigorating workout at my gym I went to throw my gym bag in the trunk and saw….you guessed it….and of course, I had to take FOUR “fun” sized Twix to eat in the car on the way home – and this is the worst part, when I finished them, all I could think about way how I could pull over to the side of the road and get more out of the trunk. Sick, sick, sick.

    So – I woke up Halloween morning and said, “that’s enough, no sugar, no bread, no refined carbs today.” And guess what, I did it! Yes! I resisted the pillow cases full of trick or treating candy the kids brought home! I resisted the left over candy (including the twix!) that we didn’t give out, and now it’s the next morning, and I’m actively (as I write…)resisting all the post-Halloween candy in the office. Oh, and another thing, I’m NOT hungry. And I know it’s because in the last 24 hours I’ve had eggs, lo-fat cheese, chicken breast and lots and lots of veggies.
    So there!

  3. Amy says:

    Girl, you know it’s true…yesterday was just humiliating. If there had been camaras on me…yikes. I am flat out a sugar addict. It’s scary how addicted I am. I love all kinds…I’m not going to list them out of kindness for my fellow addicts. Sigh…I love them. But I’ve tried everything to get the weight off. Everything. From Weight Wathchers counting points (only 3 points for a snack pack of Whoppers!) to low calorie. The only thing that works is South Beach or basically a diet with no sugar and little starches. When I eat poorly, I too cannot think sharply. I have stomach cramps at night. I cry…so depressed because I feel so controlled by this thing I love so much!

    So how do I get through the next few days of detox? Here are my favorites:

    #1 – Prayer. There was a gal on Oprah months ago that had lost 100 lbs + by diet and exercise. She said, “if Jesus can save the world from sin, surely he can save me from this temptation” (or something to that effect). Not religious? Meditate on something else. You’d be surprised what God can help you overcome!

    #2 – Substitutions. Ok, so I try not to eat too many processed foods. But sometimes it really helps to have a cup of coffee with some Coffeemate Hazelnut Carb Select Creamer. Yum. Or Sugar Free Jello or Sugar Free popcicles/fudgecicles.

    #3 – Gum. Chew away…maybe you’ll forget you wanted the sugar in the first place!

    I can’t wait to hear what others list. I have a bucket of candy sitting in my kitchen!

  4. Delanna says:

    Nice timing, as always. I’m suffering a sugar hangover myself. I hope I can learn from this.

    I thought, after losing 30 pounds and keeping it off for a while, that I had a handle on this, but I see that I’ll always be a sugar addict. I’m glad you’re here to remind me that I’m not the only one.

  5. Terri Hartsock says:

    What honesty and courage to talk about sugar addiction and binges. I lost 93 lbs. with Weight Watchers in 2001, banished sugar from my diet, only to have it sneak back in the form of “2-point bars”. After regaining 2/3 of the weight this year, I too realize once an addict, always an addict. My strategy for success? Mind over matter. Don’t look at it in the stores, don’t think or talk lovingly about it, don’t debate yes or no in your mind. I’m going back to this place, beginning with a return to the WW meeting room (and what courage it took to walk back in there!).

  6. Allie says:

    Huh… reading your post made a little lightbulb go off in my head. I never really thought of sugar as addicting. Just that my self-control around candy was awful. Not that I’m blaming sugar… self-control is necessary too. But if you would write down all of my candy highjinks, and replace the word candy with any drug… I’ve indulged in candy silently in the bathroom before, so no one would now. If I was shooting heroine in the bathroom so no one would know? I would need some serious help.

    It’s crazy how we can be such slaves to our bodies wants without noticing. Now if I could just convince my body to really, REALLY crave broccoli…

  7. Carolyn says:

    Sweets are my downfall too. We had a company party last weekend where I had only one small sweet and fruity tart…filled with sugar. The rest of the week, I couldn’t seem to resist all the things that I had resisted in order to lose 20 lbs through WW.

    I couldn’t understand why I continued to eat badly through the weekend even though I started having stomach cramps, couldn’t sleep through the night and had a return of acid reflux for the first time in over 6 months. Now it all makes sense.

  8. victoria says:

    Thank you for your brave honesty. I felt so alone with these feelings of powerlessness and weakness and rage at myself for allowing this to happen AGAIN that I couldn’t stop crying last night. Halloween cookies, all kinds of candy, you name it, over the past few days. Previously (thanks to South Beach) I hadn’t had sugar in months and wasn’t even missing it!! My mistake was believing that I could control myself around it like a normal person. So now begins the sugar detox while the cravings will wane and the headaches will mount until it’s over. I do have something useful to contribute, though: in addition to gum, I’ve found that the no sugar no calorie no sodium sparkling waters from Wal Mart to be a real treat. I just sip it over ice when I want something sweet and it usually does the trick. Thanks again for sharing.

  9. Brenda says:

    Amen, Sister!

    I call it The Sugar Loop. You know it: The craving, the giving in to the craving, the crazy feeling, the crash, the craving, the giving in…

    I found, sadly, that Sugar Loops are not only triggered by refined sugar/simple carbs, but also by complex carbs, those supposedly good for you carbs like whole grains, and mixtures of simple and complex carbs like fruit and yogurt. So I don’t eat wheat or oats or the like, and I only eat fruit once or twice a week.

    But once a sugar loop is in action, I try to get out by eating lots of protein and vegetables and staying as far away from sugar as is humanly possible. So I didn’t buy candy this year. I don’t keep sugary treats or fruit in the house ever. I stay away from adult candy (read: energy bars and the like). And for the most part, it works. I can, after two years and 220 pounds gone, I can walk down the candy aisle in the store and not even see the stuff.

    That said, however, I do consume quantities of Splenda that would fell the average lab rat. I still drink copious amounts of diet soda. I use artificially sweetened syrups in my coffee. I still crave sweets.

  10. Carla says:

    I too am starting over. I have done this more times than I can count. I always think that I can control myself but I know in reality that I can not. I hate the addiction and the pull it has over me. Two years ago I lost 40 lbs on WW and gained most of it back. For 13 years I gave up eating chocolate because I truly thought I was addicted to it. This year I started eating it again after 13 years because I came to the realization that it’s not chocolate I’m addicted to it is SUGAR! Chocolate is just my sugar of choice! As I think back, the reason I gave chocolate up was because the hold it had on me seemed to be a spiritual problem and I didn’t want to lose the spiritual battle. If you
    have ever read the Bible you see food being used to tempt people since Adam and Eve. “When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it.” It wouldn’t be a temptation if it didn’t look good or taste good.
    I say Dr Phil is right on this one, get the temptations out of the house.
    I’m determined to win the battle once and for all. This is November 1st, new month, a new day, and a new attitude.
    I can do this but it will take the help of a much higher power than what I have and I’m going to be calling on it!

  11. Laura says:

    Sugar is my downfall!! I went to OA 9 years ago, and I lost 90 pounds by eliminating sugar and alcohol, but couldn’t stay away from the booze and realized I had a big problem with that and all the other drugs I did, too! So I got clean and sober, and what to they have at AA meetings? Cookies. Tons of cookies. I slowly gained all of the weight I lost back.

    I am an addict. Sugar is my oldest drug of choice, I have been sneak-eating ring dings since I was 6.

    I’m grateful to know that I’m not alone. I’m one foot back on the sugar wagon, and you’re right, it’s going to suck for the first four days, but after four days I sleep better, my head clears up, I feel more alive. That’s ALMOST as good as chocolate…I’m kidding, it’s better.

    XO XO

  12. Megan says:

    I know sugar is my addiction…it has been with me for as long as I can remember…I hear it calling out to me still. Just this morning I was reading a little before going to work and looked down to realize my breakfast of choice this morning was almost gone…4 cookies and a glass of milk – 4 cookies that I had just yesterday deemed too “burnt” for the Harvest Festival Cake Walk at church. I don’t really remember getting the cookies or the milk, but there I was eating away.
    My next thought was how to hide the evidence that I ate cookies for breakfast. And as I sit here thinking about it, I ask “Why the need to hide?” My husband doesn’t care what I eat. I am a grown woman. I am free to make my own choices. But I DID want to hide the evidence today, just like I wanted to hide the evidence of eating cookies for breakfast when I was 6 years old – when I would sneak downstairs on Saturday morning and oh so carefully lift the lid of the cookie jar with out making a sound, pull as many cookies as I could fit in my little hand, and then hold my breath as I carefully placed the lid back on the cookie jar with my one free hand. All this to make sure I did not wake my mom (who would NEVER approve of cookies for breakfast). Then off to the bathroom to lock the door and gobble my sweet breakfast before my mom was any wiser.
    Growing up I was not allowed to have anything with sugar in it after 4:00 p.m. (unless it was a “special” occasion). Why? Because as my dad puts it, sugar makes me “wound up like a $2 watch.” Sugar has always affected me. I know I need to simply NOT EAT sugar…nothing high in processed/refined sugar or starch, nothing containing the “ose” – fructose, dextrose, sucrose, maltose…I shouldn’t have any of it. The problem is I like it, I love it, I crave it. This is what makes me a sugar addict.
    I have kicked sugar cold turkey in the past…for 6 whole weeks I ate nothing that would spike my insulin to fat producing proportions. My Chiropractor put me on a no sugar, low starch diet the six weeks before Thanksgiving. The only carbs I ate were from a very specific and very small list. And while I grumbled and complained as I watched my husband add 2 teaspoons of sugar to his coffee, and ate lovely looking toast…I began to notice a difference in my body. The way it worked. The way it felt. I had consistent energy all day long. I slept like the dead for 7 solid hours every night. I lost 16 lbs in the first 3 weeks, 21 lbs by the end of the 6 weeks. I needed new pants. But still the sugar called to me. So when my 6 weeks were up, and despite my feeling & looking great, I ate Thanksgiving dinner. Mashed potatoes, bread rolls, stuffing and of course pie. And I went back to feeling lousy, gaining weight, and having trouble sleeping. I have been a slave to my body’s sugar addiction for 3 years now. I’ve tried to convince myself that sugar is not my problem, that I just eat too much, exercise too little. I’ve told myself the lie that it must be genetic and that my 29 year old body is just made in a way that it holds onto fat, that is needs 10 hours of sleep. Because that is what you do when you are addicted. You make excuses. You justify.
    Your article today helped me to remember what it felt like to be sugar free. It inspired me. And so I want to begin again today. After I read your email I had the courage to pass by the donuts in the office, to pass by the enormous jar of candy on the front desk. And I pray to have the courage to throw out the “too burnt” cookies when I get home, because I know it will take more than courage, more than will power. It is going to take kicking sugar cold turkey, and kicking sugar to the curb. Thank you for your honesty and for sharing your struggles. It is going to help to know I am not alone.

  13. Amy says:

    If I could write all of the crazy things I have done to stop eating sugar, and then all of the crazy things that I tell myself in order to rationalize eating it!!! It is a cycle that I have been in for years.

    But I must give myself a little credit, after trying to remove sugar from my diet and failing so many times I realize that I am powerless over it. I now buy only single servings of treats. One cookie, one ice cream, one bagel etc. I found that if I tried to eliminate it I overate SOMETHING to compensate, loads of yogurt, cottage cheese, fiber cereal, chicken…anything. So I am much better off treating myself to a cookie every few days and really enjoy it.

    It has been great to read all of these tips…great topic JuJu!

  14. Linda says:

    I feel like a addict when it comes to sugar. I don’t know if I will ever be totally free from wanting it but I do things to avoid consuming it.

    1. I don’t keep sugar in any form in my house.

    2. In grocery stores I don’t go down the chocolate asile or junk food asiles. I try and get another family member to do the shopping so I can avoid the stores.

    3. I always remind myself how terrible I feel after a sugar binge and that I don’t want to feel that way again.

    4. For Halloween I only buy candy that tastes terrible to me so I have no trouble resisting it. Other Halloween choices are to give out gum, or coupons for Mc D’s, anything that isn’t one of my trigger foods.

    5. I refuse to bake any Christmas goodies, who needs that sugar over load.

    6. I ask people not to eat sugary things in front of me. This is something I can ask of total strangers but friends and family are a great help in this area.

    7. I keep a water bottle with me and down lots of water when temptation of sugar is near me.

    8. I look for subsitutes. I like air popped popcorn and will munch on it.

  15. Lynne says:

    Excellent post. For many of us, moderating sugar is impossible. We are just not built to handle it. Some people can take sugar or leave it—- but many just cannot. Katheleen DesMaisons is a genius about this, really. P.S. Just b/c sugar is everywhere doesn’t mean that it should be right there in your own very home. My friend, its time for that sugar in your freezer to be walked out to the curb. No use dancing around fire when you have the resources to put it out with a firehose, is there? Thanks for the great post.

  16. Marilyn says:

    Amy–The same thing happened to me yesterday. Because I crave sugar and the candy is always plentiful at work, I have some every day (my downfall is M&Ms) and then count the points. Well, this past Saturday I had what I considered an unexplainable 3.4# gain! Talk about depressing. On the same day I went to an out of town wedding (lots of food and alcohol) and then Sunday brunch (the best I have ever seen). I thought it would be good to take drastic measures and start by eliminating the candy at work and no Halloween candy at all. The result was a constant search last night for some kind of food other than candy to satisfy my, ending with macaroni and cheese, taking me well over my target points. So, today I had my few bits of candy and feel better…

  17. Marie says:

    Wow..mind scrambling effect? After reading your post and the other replies, I’m wondering if this might be part of my brain fog problem. I know at least part is a sleep thing but maybe its a sugar thing too? Anyone have more stories to share on that?

    Its interesting, I’ve read not getting enough sleep (constant problem) can effect how your body handles sugar, and I know I crave it more the more tired I am..I have no resistance. And I know eating sugar makes me want more and more sugar. Maybe its all related.

    I know could not have any desire for a cookie, but someone offers me one and I have it, and suddenly I become the cookie monster, thinking cookie cookie cookie..at least until next I brush my teeth.

    And one time I decided to give up sweets. Not carbs, not things like spaquetti sauce w/sugar in them, just desert like sweets. Well it was hard for a couple days but then weirdly it was like I lost the craving. People would offer me cake and I was not even tempted. This lasted maybe a couple weeks, and it was the weirdest thing, like forgetting it existed. But then there was a work birthday and “one small piece” and boom off the wagon I fell.

    I don’t know if I ever have all out binges, but I know one bit of chocolate and yipes. So today I got a big cookie from panera at lunch, I resisted and only ate half, …and then thought about the other half all afternoon. My mom had given me left over Halloween candy (what WAS she thinking?) and hunger after work led to half a bar. Through the other half out the window so I wouldn’t eat it! Then later after my class I kept thinking milk shake milk shake and couldn’t stop and got one. So its not a half a bag of cookies all at once style binge, but constant craving I keep giving into.

    sorry this got long..

  18. Latifa says:

    Is it possible, that you may never loose weight? What if you are meant to be a 5’6 165lbs woman? Of course you could starve and loose weight but you cant keep that up. What if your normal is 165lb? What then? Is surgery the only way?

  19. Sylwia says:

    Very timely post and I enjoyed reading all the responses and personal stories.
    I myself nearly wept when I got onto the scale at my mom’s (the magic scale that always makes my weight lower and lower)to find myself heavier for the first time in months! I blame my sugar cravings entirely – and the fact that I gave into them all last week when there was a candy bowl at work, right near my desk. I am bloated, irritated at everyone and I had no energy for my post-work ashtanga classes, so I didn’t go. Vicious circle.
    I’m back to fresh veggies in plastic containers and green salad and yummy cheeses and nuts and all that goodness.
    And Lynne is right about the sugar that can be thrown out – or given away. Soup kitchens and other places in urban areas are happy to accept all kinds of food donations.

  20. Jonathan says:

    Clearly this issue of refined sugar is emotionally resonant with most of us (all of us?) who have struggled with weight management. Because the power of refined sugar is such a common phenomenon, I would suggest that rather than telling ourselves “I am a sugar addict” how about replacing that thought with “I am a human being.” The human body is programmed to respond to a variety of stimuli — addicts of any drug are not stupid or immoral, they are simply responding to the substance being introduced. Indeed, the very fact that we can cognitively address this chemical reaction and take even a modicum of control over it, is testament to the power and the magnitude of the human brain.

    When you take an aspirin, you expect your headache to decrease. When you drink coffee, you expect your body to perk up. We understand and accept these chemical reactions without judgement. So why do we place such an emotional value on our reaction to intake of refined sugars? Probably because there is a brain chemistry affect of the sugar.

    When I joined Weight Watchers four years ago and cut out a lot of the empty refined carbs, I had a MAJOR headache for the first TWO WEEKS! Since then, I have always noticed, as JuJu so eloquently posted, that when large amounts of refined sugars are reintroduced into my life, my head goes out of kilter (I’m thinking of a three-day cookie extravaganza that began at my Father’s wake and lasted until I got on the airplane three days — and five pounds –later.)

    Fortunately, our brains give us the capacity to continue thinking even in the midst of the carbohydrate-induced fog. We are capable, of forgiving ourselves, stopping our destructive course, and reorienting our thoughts and actions. Sometimes we might gain back some or all of our weight before making the “click.” But it can (and does) happen that sometimes we learn the early warning signs and can make a mid course correction.

    I am a human being. I hope you are too!

    -Jonathan

  21. jd says:

    Another sugar addict checking in. Yesterday working at Kerry campaign headquarters in New Hampshire, I ate at least 10 mini candy bars. Feel like I need to detox this morning. I struggle almost daily with candy/sugar addiction, from being completely abstinent to eating only dark chocolate, to eating ice cream, and back to candy. Candy is truly a drug.

    Namaste,

    jd

  22. Quinn says:

    Jonathan? That was an excellent post.

  23. Quinn says:

    Been thinking some more about this sugar thing.

    Aversion therapy? Would that help? I’m not any kind of addict to anything, including sugar. (Lucky me, I know. I know.) But chocolate in any form is hard to resist. So. When faced with sugar/chocolate temptation, I remind myself of how ghastly I will feel afterwards. How the sugar will leave my mind unable to think coherently about anything at all. How the vast amounts of fat/olestra/weird chemical subs for fat encasing the sugar/chocolate will have me in ghastly pain ALL NIGHT LONG. Plus, most of the sugary stuff out there tastes like crap. Yuck.

    Mostly, this works. Have found that if I can keep it up for at least a week, then the cravings begin to go down. (Remember, I’ve no addiction issues.) And the longer I stay away, the easier it becomes to resist. Takes a good bit of self-discipline, but that’s not such a bad thing. Is it?

  24. Chris Brogan... says:

    Sugar’s probably my one last significant rough spot. And it was really interesting to read someone else’s comment (too lazy to read back) that they overcompensated with other foods when trying to avoid sugar. I did the same thing twice over the last few weeks. Healthy stuff, but too much of it. Weird, eh?

    Anyhow, perfect post.

  25. caryn says:

    Hi-

    Came here via a link on my photoblog actually, from Blogsnobs, but thought I’d share a link I have up on my holiday site.

    Tips for a Low Carb and Low Sugar Thanksgiving & Christmas

    Everything I have done to change my eating and rearrange my body so to speak is accessible off of that page and I hope it helps inspire people.

  26. Debbi says:

    I’ve been sugar-free a couple times in my adult life, once for as long as five years, both times with great benefits, including but not limited to weight loss. One thing that kicked me into eliminating sugar the first time around was reading a book called “Sugar Blues.” I’m not sure if it’s still in print, but you could probably find it in the library.

    My metabolism seems to be a bit screwy right now, and eliminating sugar isn’t affecting my weight loss. But like many of you, I feel better in other ways without it. I loved reading all these comments, and am ready to recommit to a sugar-free lifestyle. There’s nothing good about it, for me.

    I’m also a recovering alcoholic, and have made the connection that I treat sugar like a drug. Not everyone does; for those of us who do, abstinence may be the only answer.

  27. rebeka says:

    I never thought of the addiction being related to sugar in general, but I have become familiar with the concept that chocolate once eaten in large amounts creates a need for more of it. The only way to rid your body of it’s addiction is to cut chocolate out completely, at least for a few weeks until once again our body will be satisfied with a small amount. I don’t think it is a coincidence that most of the overweight people where I work have king-sized candy bars on their desks and eat them everyday.
    Thank you for this entry. I am in love with your site.

  28. Rain says:

    Hey there,

    Cutting sugar completely is something I could never do (or want to, to be honest!). I love my chocolate and peanut butter… so I came up with a plan that’s worked for a LONG time…
    Just have little amounts. A little piece of chocolate every couple of days basically keeps your sanity heheh. And it does wonders for situations where you’re faced with a LOT of chocolate/candy and you won’t feel like going crazy because it’s something you have almost every day…
    (As for the peanut butter issue… a peanut butter sandwich could work as breakfast – eaten VERY slowly to savour every single lovely bit mmmmm….. – or pre-workout meal. Beats me eating it straight out of the jar… which is something I’m VERY capable of, haha).

    Like that hair-product ad : A little dab’ll do ya…

  29. vicki says:

    I read this and the comments a week after it was posted, and 24 hours later, I must comment. Sugar has been on my mind nonstop. I didn’t eat any sugar on Halloween. Sitting by the candy bowl, my partner and I had a dinner of lean turkey burger and sauteed broccoli with tomato, basil, garlic. Herb tea. We had bought candy we didn’t like, and lots of kids were out this year. We got rid of all of it.

    I haven’t had sugar in over 2 months. I also haven’t had grains, beans, even fruit. No wine, no bread, no starch. All my carbohydrates come from low glycemic vegetables. In the past 2 months of this diet, I broke the plateau I’d been on for a year and a half. 120 pounds lost, 20 more to go, and the scale creeping up slowly, even with working out 6 days per week, and calories well below maintenance.

    Two months of radical sugar banishment, and I’ve lost 15 pounds, my adult acne is gone, my contact lens presription had to be adjusted (for the better), and my thinking is clearer. Moods stabilized.

    This weekend I’m going to be in a hotel with my food catered. White bread, pasta, dessert. I thought I’d just eat conservatively until I read this, and the comments. I had to look at what I really do in these situations. What I really do is dive in. Have all the sugar. Then have that hangover thing. Then, in 2 weeks, Thanksgiving. I think I will take on the commitment of the sober alcoholic, who knows that just one sip WILL hurt.

    Wow. It’s powerful to get honest about where you really are. Thank you to all who responded here.

    Vicki

  30. iona says:

    Here are a few things that I find helpful when I’m craving something sweet, but don’t want to have anything too sugary: dates and prunes, amazake (a fermented Japanese porridge, made from either brown rice or millet) and liquorice tea.

  31. Cali says:

    THANK YOU!! Everyone here is so candid and honest when it comes to admitting sugar addiction…from eating it in the bathroom away from everyone to the classic( and my all time favorite) “Park and Scarf”…Thank you for all the wonderful tips…I am so excited to have found this site..and I will pass it along to my “Sweet Sugar Sisters” who are also struggling with this addiction. Cali

  32. Dawn says:

    Wow…and I thought I was alone. My friends all seem to have difficulties with the salty stuff! I am studying to be a Holistic Nutritionist so, along with my addiction, I now also seem to have great guilt and am becoming more of a closet sugar addict. How can I preach the negative effects of sugar and be an addict at the same time? I am just coming off a weekend binge… homemade cookies and cake this time. Did I mention I love to bake! So, hopefully, I am back on track today. When my judgement is not clouded by the ‘sugar haze’, I find drinking green tea or going for a brisk walk instead of reaching for the cookie can seems to work.
    Glad to have found some support.

Leave a Reply

