Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Don’t Wait

I must be the world’s most impatient person. Whether it’s waiting for my coffee to brew, or waiting for that darn teller at the bank to hurry up and get to me, I find myself groaning and tapping my feet, wondering if I’ll ever get what I want. But walking my dog Paco yesterday I happened to glimpse a paper on the ground in front of my local Zen Center that caught my eye. It said “Be Patient, Don’t Wait.” Huh?

After reading the paragraph that followed, it dawned on me. Waiting around is a waste of time and energy. But being patient allows us be engaged in the process of change and in reaching our goals. Being patient takes focus, energy and determination. Waiting around implies inertia, powerlessness and anxiety.

Like a few other people I know, early in the holiday season I found myself gaining a few unwanted pounds. I got real with myself pretty quickly (nothing like keeping only ONE clothing size in the closet), but I’ve been sitting around DYING for that darn weight to come back off. The effect of increased attendance at the gym and careful journalling of my eating for the past few weeks has yet to show up on the scale. Yeah, sure, I know it’ll eventually happen, but c’mon, just how long is this gonna take?

I’m guessing my Zen friends would tell me that this, today, right now, IS the answer. Here is where I am and this day is what I’ve got to work with. Patience means keeping up the momentum, focusing on the goal, and staying aware of progress and setbacks. So, I look forward to having looser clothing and seeing my abs at the gym again, but for now I’ve decided to set some shorter, achievable goals that keep me occupied and moving forward. For one thing, Paco got another long walk this morning.

Now if only I can figure out what to do at the bank while I’m waiting in line. Maybe that’s when I could get out my food journal and do some calculating. I’m going to hurry up and be patient, how about you?

5 thoughts on “Don’t Wait, Be Patient!

  1. JB says:

    This Zen attitude of living in the moment is a hard one to adopt for me. I have a serious problem with saying, “It is what it is. Now is now.” I tend always to look to future benefits: when I lose another 40 pounds, when I can fit into a size 12, when I can run a 10k.

    But none of that is now. Today, I am fitter than I was yesterday. Today, I have better eating habits than I did last week. Today, I weigh 20lb less than I did three months ago. I don’t have to wait for any of that. None of that has to hurry up.

    Hmmmm. What’s the future got that I ain’t got?

    JB

  2. Gulla says:

    Thank you, this is just what I needed to hear today 🙂

  3. Mary says:

    Yes – I like the concept of momentum you guys keep talking about. If we are forced to wait in line, for example, we can still keep up the momentum – maybe we could do a visualization of how we will look, or maybe we need planning time for that next meal or tomorrows schedule. I think momentum is more than just cardio workouts, more than weight training and more than eating good – its all the planning the keeping the head focused, the sharing with friends, the journaling, etc If we can do some of these in one day -why we can keep the momentum going!!! I think the top three are: cardio, weights and eating but the other activities really support the total momentum. Momentum has been a tremendous concept for me, thanks to this site, I am on my way

  4. Kris says:

    Hi Jonathan!
    Thanks for your insight. This concept is exactly what I spent this afternoon talking about with a good friend of mine who is a Buddhist. I am trying to grasp the whole “right now” thing instead of focusing so much on the future. It’s not easy for me to wrap my western brain around, but I am trying.

    I am reading a great book right now called “When Things Fall Apart : Heart Advice for Difficult Times” by Pema Chodron. She is a Buddhist nun. Anyone who is interested in exploring this concept some more, might want to give it a read.
    Kris

  5. Lisa says:

    Excellent. I really needed this reality smack today. I stepped on the scale and not a pound lost, despite very careful eating and good workouts for a whole week.

    You are so right. I have to keep the momentum and focus on the goal. Thank you for the right words when I needed them.

Leave a Reply

