Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Have you noticed that I haven’t posted very much? Well, I’ve been busy researching some topics to write about. And there’s quite a bit of interesting stuff — like the cost of ‘good food,’ and the idea that being overweight doesn’t mean you’re a bad person, and the images we have of ourselves, and all kinds of other topics. They’ll be interesting, at least I hope they will be.

But I’m sitting here realizing that there’s been a whole lot of thinking and not much doing. And that applies to a number of areas, from thinking about not eating chocolate to my still-not-working plots to get to the gym. Elaborate schemes, no action. (Although I DO think that buying three pilates DVDs and a Tai Chi DVD counts to some extent, even though I couldn’t figure out the DVD player!)

But a conversation I had this evening offers some hope for this stalemate, at least for me. The message: I run the business of ME. I am the CEO. I make the decisions, arrange for benefits, take care of all the bills, manage the income, carry out various training programs, in general, I take care of the business.

Now, let’s be honest. I’m doing things — or not doing them, as the case may be — that I would never do at work. I’d never show up late for a meeting at work, yet I’m not keeping my gym appointments. I’m considered a key piece of the internal education program, but am I taking the time to learn Pilates to focus on my core? NO.

When I’m overwhelmed at work, I first take a few minutes and figure out the priorities and come up with a plan. It often involves recruiting other people to lend their particular skills. And what do I do when I’m overwhelmed in my personal life? Head for the chocolate!

This all ties in with one of my key personal observations. And that is that I’ve never met an overweight person who put themselves first in their lives. And here I am, taking so much better care of my 9-5 job and not of my own personal corporation.

So, my company isn’t doing as well as it should, and it’s time to re-evaluate the goals and the path. There’s ALWAYS a chance for a mid-course correction. So here it is! I now declare the reorganization of JANE’S COMPANY. The first item on the agenda is to make a list of goals and the tasks I need to do to accomplish them. The next step is to identify possible obstacles and develop strategies for handling them.

So, the first goal is that I will make it to the gym three times this week. And the obstacle is that it’s too much bother to get ready. So I’m going to try changing into my gym clothes before I leave the office. Sounds like a plan, doesn’t it???? Wish me luck! And let’s hope I don’t decide to fire the CEO!!!!

9 thoughts on “The Business of YOU

  1. Sara says:

    That was a good post, and a great idea. I think that my problem would come because I am not cozy at work. I get cozy at home, in sweats and big shirts. I curl up on the couch and read a book or watch the rain.

    Perhaps if you designate a room that is the cozy room and everywhere else in the house is designated for the business of you?

  2. Nicole says:

    Good luck with organizing your “company”. It sounds like a great way to think about things.

  3. EB says:

    Hi Jane!
    Good post. After years of struggling, things finally clicked for me to take control of my company. I signed up to workout with a trainer 3x a week starting in late November. (got a bulk rate and decided I’d invest in myself) I purposely chose this time to avoid gaining MORE weight during the holidays. After 8 weeks I actually gained weight! But it was in a good way, because I converted fat to muscle. Now I’m on a 12 week push to increase my aerobic exercise everyday to lose the layer of fat. If someone told me in November that I’d be leaving the house by 6:15am every morning to get to the gym, I’d never had believed it. But you know, it’s now just something I do…without thinking about it. I fully expect that the return on my investment on this company will be impressive. Now, if I could do the same with Wall Street!

    Your perspective was right on target!
    eb

  4. Donna says:

    I am just curious, how often do you send out the skinny posts? I thought it was daily, but I only receive it a couple times a week at the most. Thank you so much for this website. It has been very helpful on some of my bad days.

  5. Amy says:

    Jane,
    Sounds like you’ve been reading “Business Plan for the Body”. Or if you haven’t, you might like it.

  6. Jane says:

    That was a great post and made me stop and think. We do put ourselves last on the list every day. I’m going in to do my walk tape as soon as I’m done here. It is something I MUST do everyday. Thank you.

  7. Jonathan says:

    I’ve been fortunate to have had a lot of success in leading weight loss groups of various kinds and sizes, but the one truly spectacular FAILURE I had was when I chose to work with a group of nurses at a local hospital. Not one of these caring, kind, intelligent, driven and compassionate people had ever thought of spending a moment’s energy on themselves. They were so busy caregiving to the world that they had no time to eat right, get enough sleep and exercise. I found myself completely unable to figure out help empower such people who, no matter how wonderful and hard-working, were always putting themselves last on the priority list. One day, when I was doing what was meant to be an uplifting exercise about how we DESERVE to be at a healthy weight, several people began crying. Since that time, I have always remembered that there is no way I can help anyone else until I start with myself.

    -Jonathan

  8. Sam says:

    Dear Jonathan:

    Reading your evaluation of yourself as ” business ” was like looking in a mirror
    for me . You describe my situation exactly . My Mother is sick & I’ve devoted enormous time to caring for her … but practically no time caring for myself. Even though I know I must be healthy FOR HER . There’s another person in my life- Sharon – my girlfriend – who I love & who sent me a link to your article. She sent it to me because she wants me to “start my own company ” like you did . Well , I’m gonna try to be a CEO like you & correct my course like you . Thank you for the well articulated thoughts.

  9. Jane says:

    I’m happy to report that the JANE COMPANY seems to be improving! and Sam: we’re in the same boat. and so is JuJu. we’re all taking care of ailing parents while trying to stay on track, and it’s so very hard. A word of actual advice, if you don’t mind: make the goals ACHIEVABLE and OBVIOUS. there’s no sense in setting yourself up for failure or other craziness.

    and Donna: we INTEND to post daily, but we don’t always manage it. unfortunately…

    i’m going to look for the Business Plan for the Body.. it sounds right on target!

Leave a Reply

