Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Its Friday, so I got my weight recorded, just like every other Friday. Seems I have to keep doing that, if I want to reach my weight management goals. And even though I have a top-of-the-line digital scale at home with all the bells and whistles that money can buy, it takes me going to a third party, handing over my record book, and having someone else put that weight down for me. You’d think that paying for this privilege would seem a little wearisome, but frankly I look forward to it all week.

You see, as I’ve written before, during my melt-down last year (joblessness, family strife, clinical depression), my weight began slowly slipping upwards. Never mind that weight management facilitation is how I make my car payments. It was the classic case of ‘only’ a pound here and ‘only’ a pound there as I binge-ate my way through crisis after crisis. And somewhere along the line, I stopped bothering to have that weigh in. I would look at my own scale and write the number down and convince myself that was enough. Besides, I was ashamed of the gain and the last thing I wanted was to have that made public.

Fortunately, by the time I came to my senses, I was welcomed back with open arms. I absolutely hated to see that higher number – and it was dismal to have them record as I continued to gain! But no one yelled at me, no one gave me unwanted advice, told me how to change or made me feel uncomfortable. It was just reassuring to have that impartial witness and see the data for what it was.

Yesterday someone gave me an article from Consumer Reports on diets. I wasn’t surprised to read that the things which seem to work are balanced eating and group support. I know from personal experience that its possible to lose weight without any help. But for me, going it alone was painful, lonely, boring and temporary. This time around I’m getting all the help I can.

My eating wasn’t particularly peaceful today. But I sure am looking forward to next Friday.

4 thoughts on “T.G.I.F.

  1. Terri says:

    Wow, Jonathan. I’ve had a very similar year–lost my job (with Weight Watchers, no less), family stress, resulting depression, and weight that rapidly slipped upwards. But I’ve started back with group support and the weekly weigh-in three weeks ago. It feels good to get back on track and feeling in control again.

    Best wishes,
    Terri

  2. h says:

    I couldn’t have said it better myself, Jonathan. I lost a lot of weight last year thanks to group support and challenges at an online diet site, then stopped paying and participating when I went on maintenance. Work, holidays, stress… I watched my weight creep very slowly up, pound by pound, day by day. And, like you, I watched it happen even as I weighed myself every day.

    I recently rejoined that online site to get back to the group support and 3rd party accountability. It may be a necessary component of my long-term healthy lifestyle. So be it.

  3. Janie says:

    Thanks Jonathan. I needed to hear this too. I quit going to WW because of the money. Thought I could do it alone, but I know I need more support. I got a phone call last night from a friend who just returned from Florida. She asked me to go back with her next Tuesday and I told her to go first and let me know how it goes! I don’t like the leader, but I know I’m using that as an excuse. Lots of stress at home, my school and with my aging parents. I need to get back to meetings and weigh-ins!

  4. Eileen says:

    Get this – I stopped going to WW thinking I wanted to get back to goal first! (I’m a Lifetime Member.) What a mistake THAT was! Instead, I put on another 10 pounds! I returned to WW last November, and now I’m 6 pounds away from being “free” again. There’s definitely something about being accountable, not just to myself, but to that person behind the counter who records my weight in that little book …

Leave a Reply

