Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Last night I walked home in the rain, because its May, this is Northern California, and its supposed to be dry this time of year! Its funny, I could have taken the subway and then caught a bus home, but since I always walk it just seemed normal and natural to keep doing it. Since I had neither a coat nor an umbrella, I looked and felt like a drowned rat by the time I got home. Iím glad that walking is such an important habit of mine that I donít want to give it up, even when its illogical.

About half-way home last night, I paused by a small bookstore, and gazed in longingly at the patrons who were browsing near the window. To me there is something seductive about those shelves and shelves of books, and last night the warm glow of the storeís lights seemed especially inviting. But I didnít stop in. The thought in the back of my mind was Ďas soon as I get home Iím going to shower and eat something to make myself feel all better.í So I kept marching onward.

Ironically, after showering and having some comfort food, I realized that I had nothing to do. I work two jobs and had been to the gym at lunchtime, so I was genuinely tired and needed to relax a bit before bedtime. And then it dawned on me. If I had simply taken the time to stop in and get a book, not only would I have enjoyed being in the store, I would have wound up at home with something to do for entertainment other than eat.

Sometimes I think life would be so much better if I could just get all my good habits sorted out and lined up so that I didnít have to deal with the bad ones. Walking good. Reading good. Overeating from boredom, not good.

I guess thatís why they call this a process.

6 thoughts on “All wet

  1. Kat says:

    Hey jonathan,
    Sorry to hear you had a bad night with the eating. 2 outta three ain’t bad… right ?!!! walking, reading both good…. eating from boredom very bad… chalk it up to a “not so good moment” and move on… that’s why they call it… Learning from our mistakes. and growing into a better person from the experience.

    When you dig another out of their troubles, you find a place to bury your own. -Anonymous

    Kat

  2. k says:

    Reading is the thing for boredom, I read almost all the time.

    I grew up on the west coast of Scotland, so to me, walking (cycling, sailing, motorbiking, camping) in the rain isn’t illogical – just how life is when it rains 250 days of the year on average. It’s pretty evenly spread throughout the year but sometimes it’s wet for weeks on end without pause.

    As my mum would say – “you won’t melt!”.

  3. Kathy says:

    Isn’t it amazing the power that food has over us???

    I agree about lining up the habits. I get one thing sorted out and lined up and it seems in the meantime the other habits have gone to pot. And I start all over with them.

    A Skinny Daily Post question – I enjoy reading your posts Jonathan and Jane’s, too.
    Just wondering what has happened to Juju.

    Kathy

  4. TLo says:

    Great posting, thank you!

    Evening is my prime danger time for emotional and entertainment eating – and I’m sure I’ve got lots of company. Choosing to do something pleasant and comforting in the evenings that isn’t food related – especially something that will occupy my hands – has been an important strategy for maintaing a healthy weight.

    But until reading this, I hadn’t considered being as deliberate about it as planning on the way home from work how, exactly, to best spend a specific stretch of time after dinner and before bed … making sure that I have the right materials on hand. Makes sense; it’s the same concept as stopping by the grocery store to get the specific ingrediants you need for the dish you’ve decided to make for dinner.

    So now I’ll try a bit more thoughtful evening-at-home conciousness!

    TLo

  5. Holly says:

    Isn’t it amazing how long it takes us to learn how to take care of ourselves and what we need to do to avoid the pitfalls. Taking care of us seemed to come naturally to our parents; knowing what was good for us and what was not. But it takes us almost a whole lifetime to learn for ourselves.

  6. Quinn says:

    I’m trying to imagine not having anything to do when I arrive home from work.

Leave a Reply

