Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

What do you want? Seems like such a simple question, doesnít it? But itís not. Those of us who swallow our emotions just donít bother to ask that question. Instead, when weíre uncomfortable, we reach for something to put in our mouths. Chocolate, chips, pasta, whatever our particular comfort food is.

A number of years ago, I stopped to ask this question. I had no answer! Did I want to talk to someone? Go to the movies? Sleep? Read? Many choices, and nothing seemed right.

So I decided then and there to do NOTHING until I figured out a positive answer to that question, until I could honestly say that I WANTED to do something. To the casual observer, I basically sat around the house for a day or two. But I was very busy on the inside. I was poking around, both physically and emotionally to figure out how I felt, in every sense of the word.

Maybe itís no surprise to YOU that there were places with physical pain that I hadnít recognized. Of course, there was also a whole pile of emotional discomfort, along with genuine fatigue.

Once I defined all those feelings, I had to set priorities. After all, there was a lot going on here! If memory serves me right, I took a nap. After all, if I was so tired, there was no point in trying to sort out anything else!

The biggest surprise, though, was that I rarely actually wanted FOOD. Comfort, escape, sleep, company, all those things. But not really food. In fact, it made me realize just how often I substituted food for what I REALLY wanted, or needed.

And so it continued. Step by step. Question by question. And after several months of this, I realized the truth: this was the beginning of me actually taking care of myself.

So, here it is: what do you want?

6 thoughts on “The BIG question

  1. JB says:

    I want… a great book. And the time to read it.

    I want certainty about things in my life, instead of doubt.

    I want to be better organized, and to have the time to get that way.

    I want to be able to run a 5k and not have to stop to walk.

    … and I can have some of those things, and I can’t have others. ūüôā

  2. Patrizia Popescu (Romania) says:

    Any comments on the Zone Diet? I took it but left it after a few weeks as it was hard for me to do everything requested… But I have heard that many people are happy with the results. Any information from you would help me a lot. I have seen sites like they all say the diet is great but, is it not similar to Atkins? And we all know what negative effects Atkins may provoke, especially if you’re diabetic…

  3. sara says:

    I want…

    Time: to read, to slow down, to enjoy family, to focus on myself

    Health: to lose the 100 lbs that slows me down every day

    The ability to see the things that I have to do to accomplish these goals and the wherewithal to get up and do it.

  4. Misty says:

    Jane,

    Thank you for this article. It brought recent events to into light for me. My aunt just died, and while I was home for her funeral, I realized that I wasn’t eating in the self-destructive way that I used to. Instead, over the past year, my (recently learned) habits of working out my emotions instead of eating them really helped.

    I wanted comfort and support and company. Instead of being mute, I asked for and received all of those things. Now I wonder, if I had been expressing myself all along, would I have gotten to where I did?

  5. Joey says:

    This is exactly me, right now.

  6. Terri says:

    Don’t know if anyone will read this, but I just have to say, this has really made me stop and think ever since I read it. It has been the most helpful tool I’ve come across as I try to stem the tide of “stress eating” and start losing weight again. And I lost 2 lbs. today at weigh-in largely because of this. Thank you.

    Terri

Leave a Reply

