Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

So here I am at work, sipping tea, writing some documentation, and looking for something to eat in my desk. Whatís there? Sugar free gum. High fiber crackers. Tea, lots of tea. All the little snacks and treats are gone, and have been for months. There are days when Iím really glad about this, and then there are days I find it annoying.

But then, I have to remember that I took this step for a reason: to not eat! No stress eating. No boredom eating. No ĎI donít want to do this taskí eating. No mindless munching. This clean out was definitely the right thing to do Ė the whole setting-up-your-environment-for-success concept.

But Iím still bored. What about a substitute? In theory, I should, of course, be diligently working, but everyone needs a break now and then. With the kind of work I do, thereís a definite benefit to clearing out the cobwebs. It gives me a chance to look at things from a different angle and clarify the task at hand. But those are also the moments when I start rooting around my desk for something to eat.

Hmmm. Over the weekend I suggested to a boredom eater that he take a walk around the store, or the block, instead of reaching for that second or third bagel. Sounds like good advice, as long as the route doesnít take me past the vending machine [at least, there are some 100 calorie snack packs in there, but this isnít a habit I want to cultivate!]

Oh wait. What am I doing right this second as a distraction? Iím writing this essay!

Maybe things arenít so desperate. Iíve just written about two boredom munchie strategies. Now, if only I could get to the point where I donít even notice the lack of snacks around! Thank goodness for the fact that all that stuff is gone, though.

2 thoughts on “Bullet-proof environment

  1. HeatherC says:

    This article REALLY spoke to me!!!! I’ve been having the exact same issues recently, and a lot of it stems from a desire to procrastinate. If I’m eating, then I can’t possibly do Task X, Y, or Z, right? What makes it more difficult is that there is often a lot of tempting foods lying around the workplace, leading to plenty of excuses to “procrastinate” by eating.

    Thanks for the post!

  2. Quinn says:

    Also, junk food is expensive. Especially that stuff in the vending machine. Don’t believe me? Multiply what you spend there on an average work day by twenty. That’s how much money you waste each month on something that’s basically poison. Ouch. Then multiply the month’s total by twelve. That’s what you spend in a year.

    Can you think of something else to do with that money? Pay off a credit card maybe? Start a retirement fund for yourself? Stash away for your kid’s college bills? Car repairs? House repairs? Doctor bills?

    A friend of mine quit smoking by stashing the money she was thinking of spending on a pack of cigarettes in a special jar. At the end of a week she was shocked at how much she’d saved, and she hadn’t even done it every day. She was really proud when the stash reflected a month’s savings. After several months she had enough to take herself away for a short vacation at a lovely bed and breakfast up in the mountains somewhere. And this was back in the early 80’s, before inflation and taxes had raised the cost of a pack of cigarettes so much.

    If trying to persuade yourself you deserve better health doesn’t work for you, if the vending machine is just toooo much temptation, then add up the cost of that trash in dollars and cents. With the economy slowly edging downhill, we’re *all* gonna need every penny we can save. And healthier bodies, too!

Leave a Reply

