Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Bites, licks, and tastes, in the words of a couple of people who have successfully lost and maintained their weight over the long haul. We all have them, that bite of chocolate. That just a taste of what were making for dinner. The is this any good sample of something new.

We know that these BLTs add up in terms of calories, increased insulin response, fat grams, carb grams, whatever were monitoring. They can even set off a binge. Its risky behavior that needs to be controlled. Notice I didnt say completely eliminated, but controlled, at least to the extent that were mindful of what were doing and why were doing it. Its important for me to stop this, as BLTs are the equivalent of a binge for me.

A few weeks ago, this BLT urge hit me in the grocery store, of all places. I wanted grocery store snacks. Chips. Cookies. Crackers. All I had to do was put them in my cart, get through the checkout, and into the car, where I could open them and munch away on the drive home.

But then I realized that I was actually planning on doing this!!!! Oh dear. Talk about self-sabotage.

I wavered. And then, the ultimate tool surfaced, and I pushed my cart through the aisles, talking to myself! You dont want that. You dont need this. What is going on with you? You deserve better. Several people heard me. I smiled sweetly at one or two and said simply that Id lost my mind or needed a vacation or some such nonsense. They laughed and said that worse things could happen.

But Im going to continue this habit when stressed. Its easy to discuss the concept of self-talk when its going on in your head. Its much harder to ignore when youre actually saying the words out loud and hearing them.

Besides, its rude to talk with your mouth full of food!

3 thoughts on “BLTs bring new meaning to self-talk

  1. meltingmomma says:

    Thank you for this post. It hits home for me, big time. 🙂

  2. JB says:

    I do this when I’m working out. “You’ve run four minutes already. Another minute is nothing.” “Seven reps, eiiiiiiiiiiight, yes yes yes!” Right out loud. It’s why I don’t belong to a gym. 😉

  3. Quinn says:

    “You deserve better.” That’s what I tell myself whenever the temptation to eat something bad for me starts to edge past my resistance.

    You deserve better. And you do.

Leave a Reply

