Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Mirrors have always been the enemy. When we donít like ourselves, we donít like our reflection. We may be too critical of the nose, or hate our chins. Or we may simply think that we see Ďunder the skin,í so to speak, and our self-hate distorts the image that we see. And let’s not forget that so many of us aren’t actually connected with our bodies, so it’s no wonder that we don’t see ourselves realistically.

So, when I found myself sitting in front of one at the gym, working on a chest press, and actually concentrating on what I was doing, it was a real eye opener.

It was almost as if I were seeing myself for the first time in years. And what was there to see? A flushed face, first of all, but it came from the exertion, the fact that I was focused and had increased the weight. It wasnít from being unable to breathe.

And then I saw them. MUSCLES!!!! Yes, people. There were actual, real muscles moving under the skin. With definition. I first saw them in my chest, of all places. As I worked the chest press, I checked out my arms. And there were CUTS in the biceps. Oh, of course all that excess skin was still hanging there, but there was real definition in my arms.

And then I realized: What if mirrors can only reflect truth and reality? What if we donít have to be afraid of them? What if Iíd never seen myself clearly? What a concept!

As Iíve shared these revelations, one of my friends came up with the wisest words Iíd heard in a long time:

Sometimes mirrors reflect strong women.

So Iím urging you all to use different eyes when you look in mirrors. See the strengths, the determination, the good things that you share so willingly with other people. We who have always been so critical of ourselves, or separated from our bodies, need to literally focus outside ourselves to get a better view of reality. So maybe mirrors arenít so bad! And maybe reality isn’t as bad as we think it is.

2 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror On The Wall

  1. cindy says:

    Congratulations to you! What an amazing feeling to realize that all that hard work you are doing is really paying off.

  2. Quinn says:

    “When we donít like ourselves, we donít like our reflection.”

    It has taken me decades to learn to like myself. These days, when I see my reflection, I smile back at it. Look at that tall, strong, curvy body! And that beautiful skin. The thick, beautiful hair! Those sea-blue eyes. ūüôā

    But, like I said, it has taken me a few decades to get to this point. I had to learn to like my self before I could even begin to see my body.

Leave a Reply

