Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

On Saturday mornings I work with a nice group of people in a quiet little suburb just south of San Francisco. It’s a prosperous part of the region, and I enjoy hanging out in the small downtown afterwards and people watching. I love how compact the area is, and that people are usually out and about in droves, walking around. They have two independent grocers, one of which is breathtakingly upscale (and where I often have lunch), and there are many different shops and restaurants.

This weekend, as I sat and ate my exquisite lunch from a salad bar, it dawned on me that the proportion of overweight people really seems quite different there. You would think that all the gourmet food (I was seated by the windows in the bakery section, next to a mountain of mouth-watering treats) and all the disposable income would lead to larger waistlines and heavier bodies. Instead, I noticed that the nice healthy-looking couple next to me, and their two adorable little kids, were animatedly chatting over several relatively modest-sized treats. Other shoppers came and went with carts full of amazing food, but the vast majority of people were not overweight.

And lest you think that these rich folk are merely sticking to good nutritional habits, let me add that I stopped by the local health club afterwards for a free one-day trial. That veritable palace of fitness was well-appointed, providing not only state of the art equipment, but also extremely knowledgeable personal trainers who wandered the floor offering help. My own gym paled in comparison. The clients there were seriously and efficiently working out. Amazing since it was a gloriously sunny day outside.

So has it come to this? Do Americans have to be loaded in order to be healthy? Do you have to be an Oprah or a Brad Pitt in order to achieve a healthy body and eat spectacularly healthy foods? It just seems so wrong that the things that keep one healthy – a pleasant place to walk around, markets with fresh food, knowledge about proper fitness techniques – are so out of reach for many of us. For now I’ll stick with jogging at lunchtime, buying frozen veggies at the Safeway, and digging up free fitness information online!

31 thoughts on “The Other Half

  1. SLM says:

    This one really struck a nerve with me! It makes me so angry that I have to “portion control” the delicious fresh fruits in my house because they are just too darn expensive. I’d like to say to the kids, “have as much as you want” of the blueberreis, raspberries, etc. Of course I could let them have as much as they want of the boxed sugar stuff but I don’t want to do that! It is truly a sad state when being rich is required to feed your kids right.

  2. Richard says:

    Jonathan, What an interesting observation. Perhaps the meaningful correlation is not between wealth and health but between education and health. Presumably people in your affluent group got there through higher education, and just maybe that translates into taking the time and effort to learn more and do something about nutritiion and health.
    Just a thought. Richard

  3. jonquil says:

    As I look out the window, I see my neighbors, some of whom are working class, some upper middle class. The fat ones are working class, and supposedly don’t have as much income, but they also have big new diesel trucks, huge RVs, boats, motorcycles, big screen TVs, massive Barcaloungers, ride-on mowers, and spare refrigerators in the garage full of beer. As if they could get to the beer because the garage is so full of tools and toys they never use.

    By contrast, my wealthier, skinnier neighbors seem to have far less stuff cluttering their land, garages, and waistlines. The stuff they do have is of better quality, and they actually use it. Their stuff also tends to be of the type that gets them moving: bicycles, kayaks, running gear, tennis rackets, golf clubs, gardening equipment.

    I’m not saying there isn’t poverty in this country, but I see a lot of my “less fortunate” neighbors choosing to spend their hard-earned dollars on status symbols that eat up all their capital. Or they go into debt. Their whole lives revolve around consumption, and competing to get the newest, biggest truck!

    To me the lesson is clear: less consumption means more movement, more involvement in life, and more peace of mind. And more cash in the bank!

  4. raynib9 says:

    “The fat ones are working class, and supposedly don’t have as much income, …” nor do they have enough money for medical care. Medical care in the most affluent nation in the world is far below standard.

    It also depends on where you put your priorities. The rich don’t need the toys in the garage, they’ve got them at their “cottage” or wherever.

    Yes, people need to be educated & not necessarily “higher” education. How many billions of advertising dollars are spent just to target the poor dumb fools?

  5. Florence says:

    I have noticed this often and tried to not let it become a sterotype for me, but it is true. I would be curious as to where you made these observations, having grown up in the Bay Area I’m sure I know the area well.

    Aloha,
    Florence

  6. anon... says:

    Hey, I think my sil and bil live in that suburb… The live inHills borough… one of THE wealthiest Peninsula suburbs.

    Yes, they have the bucks to eat well and exercise. My sil meets with a personal trainer EVERY day at 4:30am before work.

    This Suburb is like the Hollywood of the North… There is a TREMENDOUS amount of pressure to look a certain way. OK… my sil is thin… very thin… And she is CONSTANTLY worried about losing 5 lbs… even though she is about 5’6” and weighs less than 120. She’s no kid… she’s 40 years old.

    She doesn’t eat wonderful fruit for lunch or fancy salads from the deli… too much sugar, too many carbs… she eats a Lean Cuisine for lunch everyday because a) it is > 300 cals and b) she has a high stress job (to make the big bucks to live there) and works about 10-12 hours a day and has no time and c) she has no time after work because their children must also fit in to a certain lifestyle and be chaperoned from activity to activity to activity to activity.

    Everyone is getting Botox-ed and lipo-suction-ed in order look a certain way and to fit in. Yeah, they look good… but I would MUCH rather shop at my neighborhood Safeway and go to my neighborhood Y with the over sixty crowd and folks whose BMIs are all over 25 (My Y doesn’t even have a locker room or showers… it is so NOT state of the art!). I wouldn’t want to live in that pressure cooker… even if I could afford it.

  7. stretchy says:

    I totally agree with Jonquil. I often visit a city in central NY State where much of the population is struggling and obviously overweight. The people complain of serious illnesses, the price of gasoline, and not being able to afford to feed and clothe their kids the way they would like to. Fully half of the kid’s in one school’s classrooms are on Pyschotropic drugs. (this according to some teachers I spoke with).
    The people who complain to me about the price of gas live in run-down housing or in trailers. The yards are littered with expensive toys , kiddie pools and rusted junk. And these people have huge SUVs, they also own snow mobiles, ATVs, and motorcycles. You’d be surprised at how many have ride-on mowers for the tiny yards! Of course they’re complaining about gasoline prices! Big Screen TVs are a MUST for many residents because the men are very into sports and Nascar watching. I feel like a real hypocrite standing there, nodding in agreement with them when I feel like I am in a Twilight Zone episode.
    Young single men complain there are no jobs, some get disability checks, most do odd jobs. They always have plenty of cash for drugs and bar-hopping. We are offered every kind of drug (as gift), casually, when we visit. I guess what shocks me most is the out of wedlock babies born and handed over to grandparents to be raised. These people spend a lot more money on food items than I do, they also buy take out / fast food , which I do not. If this lifestyle only applied to a few residents, it wouldn’t bother me. But it is so widespread, it is incredibly sad.

    The other day I overheard my son bragging about my cooking. and he added “She makes AWESOME salads, too!” He never knew how short of money we were back then, because good food was my number one priority with the kids. I had to buy the best and stretch it (soups, stews, small portions) We never used any salad dressings, so the kids developed a taste for things like arugula and bell peppers.

    It was worth it. we still drive small older cars, we never have had a dishwasher or microwave, but we have a nice cozy house and peace of mind.

  8. h says:

    This is a very interesting article about the affordability of food in the US vs. other industiralized countries. One take-away from it is that Americans are out of touch with the idea of “seasons” for food, and demand that all fruits and vegetables be available at all times. This leads to more expense and a less varied diet.

    http://www.public.iastate.edu/~rjsalvad/cheapfood.htm

  9. SA says:

    As a Yale-educated gal who is about 20 pounds overweight (I have a neurotic relationship with food and medicate myself with it, like many of us), I just have to say that the classism and insensitivity in some of these posts is mind-blowing. I’m assuming that the folks writing are overweight and/or struggle with their weight. I do hope that you wouldn’t want to be stereotyped in the way that you have stereotyped the working poor. Shame on you! Please take a moment to read some books on poverty and open your minds a crack. It might help with your weight loss, too, as so many of us are so hard on ourselves without really trying to understand why we are overweight. It’s not as simple as putting down the fork.

  10. Meg says:

    Okay, I’m seeing a trend here. Poor people can’t afford good food because their priorities are in the wrong place, because they waste their money, and it’s all their fault.

    Uh, guys? I grew up in that class of people. I grew up in the land of pick-up trucks and NASCAR racing. I am afraid I’m going to have to tell y’all that you are currently having an attack of bigotry. It’s okay, it happens to us all. Please don’t let it become a habit.

    Saying “ALL these people do this!” with a tinge of “it’s all their own fault!” is generally a big clue. Yes, po’ folks spend money on stupid things. So do middle-class people. So do rich people. The reason you’re noticing it most in poor people is because they don’t have the excess income to absorb the impact of the moment of insanity. Being poor does not necessarily grant you financial wisdom beyond your wealthier peers. It does not grant you better control over your emotional spending– in fact, it makes it harder, because most people can spend money to alleviate the everyday problems of their lives. Poor folks don’t have that outlet, so they get driven into more desperate venues of relief– and yes, an SUV or a big-screen TV counts in my mind as the same sort of desperately stupid move as drinking or drugs.

    It’s not impossible to live healthy on a tiny paycheck. It is, however, tremendously difficult, and you have to make it a huge priority. Considering the number of people who can’t manage to make health a priority on an adequate paycheck, can you really fault people who make minimum wage for finding it too difficult to bother? Something’s gotta give, and sadly, healthy food is the first thing to go.

    Seriously, I’m not going to point fingers. This is hard work for anybody. Trying to do it when you’re poor is the same amount of work as anyone else– but minus every single one of the regular safety nets.

  11. Ali says:

    Wow. This is interesting to read what people believe about wealthy or unwealthy people just by looking at them. Everyone is different, every situation is different. If someone really wants to be healthy, they can, no matter what the money. It’s all about what you desire. The choices you make and the subsequent results flow from your desire.

    Perhaps the wealthy/educated simply make caring for themselves a higher priority?

  12. Alexandra says:

    Wow, such a provocative article!

    You pose the question:

    “Do Americans have to be loaded in order to be healthy?”

    and I think for our family, the answer is yes and no. I left my high-powered corporate job in San Francisco when my daughter was 3. My husband and I ate high fat, high calorie breakfasts and lunches at work, then picked up take out food on the way home. Every day.

    I’ve been home and under-employed for 2 years but our quality of life has improved dramatically. I make all our meals from scratch. I buy organic ingredients. I grow what I can in our garden. And we are slowly going broke because we just can’t afford to live here in the Bay Area without me working full time. I don’t know what the answer is, but I’m working on finding balance between the 2 extremes I’ve described.

  13. Jenna says:

    Interesting enough, there are some poor folks who don’t have “toys” in their garages, or the like. lol My family happens to be some of those folks, trying to keep up with broken cars, house payments, and utilities. It can be rough.

    I know that I would find it easier to feed my family healthy meals if we had a little more money. I can spend my meager amount of grocery money on high priced fresh fruits and veggies, or cave in to non-perishables that are loaded to the extreme with either carbs or fats, not to mention trying to keep an eye on sodium. I’m sure that no one wants their kid to grow up on Mac & cheese every day, but when it is what you can afford, that’s what they eat. Obviously though, these kinds of meals aren’t great for the body, and it shows.

  14. Donna says:

    At 38 years old, I am finally learning the difference between quantity of food and quality. Even though I am far from wealthy, I have made the choice to spend my limited resourses on fresh, less processed foods. This choice is much more expensive in the short term. I have to live without other things, like a cell phone, cable tv, a new car, etc. I think it is a good trade-off. I’m banking on better health to be the reward.

    Food quality is a low priority for many people, not just the less affluent or less educated. However, fast food companies and manufacturers of cheap, easy to prepare foods seem to target poor people, and those who do not know how true the old saying is: you are what you eat.

    I also believe wealthier people have access to more kinds of foods. Grocery stores in affluent neighborhoods usually have a larger variety of foods, especially fresh foods, then the stores in poorer neighborhoods. I think willingness to try new (healthy) foods as an adult is directly related to being offered a wide variety of foods as a child. Let’s face it, if you never encountered a bean sprout or soy milk as a child, how likely are you to try it as an adult?

    It was a hard choice to spend a larger percentage of my income on better quality food. I made this choice when the pain of an unhealthy lifestyle could no longer be ignored.

  15. jonquil says:

    Just for the record, I am neither a “bigot” nor “classist,” just a realist. I grew up in a working class family, and the behavior I’ve described is something I’ve seen over and over. As Stretchy suggests, it’s not a stereotype, it’s becoming a common social pattern: overconsumption disorder, if you like. And working class people often aren’t sufficiently inoculated against it.

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been asked to help friends and relatives who have sunk into a pattern of overspending, overeating, drinking, smoking, gambling, and/or drugs. Sometimes it gets to the point of depression, bankruptcy, legal trouble, or severe health problems before these self-inflicted catastrophes are finally faced. Sometimes people don’t face reality, and eat, drink, or smoke themselves to death.

    Avoiding overconsumption is part of what it takes to live a mentally and physically healthy existence. And a healthy life is attainable: I see successes in my own circle of family, neighbors, and friends– and many of them had a rough start in life. But it does take discipline, determination, and a willingness to stick to the program: the same mindset needed to lose weight and keep it off. It’s a personal choice, and the rewards can take a long time to manifest. But these rewards last longer than a box of donuts, and they might help keep you, as the man said, “healthy, wealthy, and wise.” Cornball as that sounds.

    BTW, middle class people who use phrases like “po’ folks” to characterize the way they think working class people talk are just perpetuating a nasty “classist stereotype” of their own.

  16. Denise says:

    There was a 6 month period when dh was out of work and I was in college and working 20 hours a week, making $5 an hour tutoring ESL…

    We paid rent with savings and lived on the $300 (after taxes) I made. This was in 1989-1990… And I’m not sure how much food and everything cost… but things were EXTREAMLY tight. I think that the two of us ate on about $25-35 a week.

    “Going out to eat” meant going to McDonald’s once a week and splitting a $1 sundae… as we couldn’t justify spending $1 each.

    I’ve also got to say that I was at my ideal weight and very healthy. We couldn’t afford a second car, so I walked everywhere and rode public trans. We couldn’t afford to go out to eat. We ate a LOT of vegetarian meals – without cheese – because it was too expensive. Cold cereal was too expensive… we ate oatmeal. 6 or 8 oz cups of yogurt were too expensive. We watched portion sizes, because we had too. We NEVER ate chips, or Doritos, etc. because every penny went towards “real” food. I had to choose between baked potatoes and potato chips. We ate real potatoes – because a 10# bag was less than a bag of potato chips. Didn’t watch TV as much because we couldn’t afford cable TV. Read magazines at the library.

    Just this last weekend… I got 5 fajita meals out of 1 bell pepper, 1 onion, 1 chicken breast (yes… I split one chicken breast 5 ways), 3 cups of cooked pinto beans, 1 lime, 5 tortillas, and a tub of salsa (and still have 5 tortillas and half the salsa left – in the freezer). I also used ¼ c. of tequila in the sauce… I wouldn’t have been able to afford that in 1989. Dh said it was better than Chili’s.

    I gained weight after we had money… and we went to Chilis and I had a car and drove everywhere.

  17. Sandra says:

    What you are talking about here is Food Security….that is, when all persons at all times have access to safe, affordable food for optimal health. The number one cause of food in-security is poverty. Check out http://www.foodsecurity.org to find out what The Community Food Security Coalition is doing and what you can do… a description of is as follows from their website.

    The Community Food Security Coalition (CFSC) is a non-profit 501(c)(3), North American organization dedicated to building strong, sustainable, local and regional food systems that ensure access to affordable, nutritious, and culturally appropriate food for all people at all times. We seek to develop self-reliance among all communities in obtaining their food and to create a system of growing, manufacturing, processing, making available, and selling food that is regionally based and grounded in the principles of justice, democracy, and sustainability.

    It is possible for anyone to experience food in-security at different points in their life….. education about food is not necessarily a socio-economic issue… learning how to become food secure is something all of us can learn…..

  18. stretchy says:

    I grew up poor, I admit it, and for a short time (10 months) we were homeless, which terrified my older siblings, but I saw it as an adventure since I was only 8.

    I saw first hand how we were at the mercy of landlords, especially when my dad was ill. He had one operation after another, and eventually died, leaving my mother with incredibly huge hospital bills which she was determined to pay. She took the bus or rode an old bike to work (7 miles each way). She also had a nights/weekend job.

    My mom always fed us first, we always ate well and had very small portions of things like tangerines and bing cherries, as they were special treats. We ate lots of oatmeal and beans and greens. She was so smart when it came to nutrition and herbal medicine. I never saw a doctor or dentist until I was an adult.

    Mom has passed on, but she really taught me what is important in life. I was never embarrassed by being called trash or poor by kids at school.

    No one is saying “ALL” poor people do this or “ALL” rich people do that. I will never be anywhere near rich, but no one in my family ever felt they were in some inferior class.

    People viewed us one way (trash) but we knew their opinions were wrong. Good health was always a priority (emotional, physical and mental health) for that, I thank my mom.

  19. Contessa says:

    Quality of life is everything. May you find a balance.

  20. Greta says:

    It is not true that healthy whole foods such as fresh fruits, vegetables, bulk whole grains, and bulk dried legumes are more expensive than junk food! Check out the price of potato chips by the pound and compare that to the cost of fruit or dried lentils. Compare the cost of pizza to the cost of apples. Compare the cost of Coke and candy and frozen dinners with fresh fruits, veggies, and grains. NO FRESH FOODS are as expensive as the packaged foods that everyone takes for granted. What’s best for our health is also LESS expensive. Compare a pound of brown rice with the cost of a pound of chicken. It is lack of education not money which leads people to eat packaged and processed foods.

  21. slm says:

    Wow, I was shocked to read so many finger-pointing accusations that the poor are fat because they don’t care enough to take care of themselves. I really appreciate Meg and SA for brining some balance to this discussion. I live hand-to-mouth. I am well educated and work for one of the world’s leading academic institutes. I am also a single parent with two children, just getting by in the Boston area (not quite as expensive but close). I find it very, very hard to provide my family with healthy choices. Its not impossible but it requires tons of effort. When I am just getting by, its hard to make the right choices at the market. A box of generic cookies cost $1.99 and would provide 8-10 snacks for the kids. Try providing 8-10 snacks for the kids of fresh fruit and veggies for $1.99! When your food bill is a significant portion of your income, these choices become quite difficult. I’m really sad to read that so many people are so judgmental. Walk a mile in mine, buddies! (BTW I don’t own any ride-on toys or SUVs).

  22. Elizabeth says:

    There is also the interesting question of how do you find time to cook nutritious meals when you have to work two jobs, particularly if they’re the type of jobs where you’re much closer to fast food and vending machines on your break than you are to a salad bar. Or if you have to work night shift. Sure, standing on the outside looking in, you can think of ways to make it work. But if that is your reality, day in, day out, it’s a different story. People who work regular hours in office buildings are in a very different environment from people who work in factories or warehouses. And if you’ve ever been into a local grocery store in a housing project, you will see even more starkly what Jonathan is talking about – no (or very little) fresh produce, very little lean meat, and the meat that is there is of questionable quality (some of it gets re-packaged after the sell-by date). The food that is sold in those stores is whatever has the longest shelf-life and requires the least overhead spending to maintain. Yes, the element of choice is the same for all of us, but the circumstances surrounding those choices are very different, and I think money makes more of a difference than we like to believe. (Oh, and the biggest factor that correlates with the income gap? Education. Which costs money – it may be public education, but if your tax base is below the poverty level…it’s a vicious cycle)

  23. Michelle says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading everyone’s comments. I agree the most with Meg’s post. I also think that, as Alexandra said, that our society is extremely time-poor. It takes time to plan healthy meals, to shop, and then to prepare them. It takes no time to go to the drive-through at a fast food place or to have a pizza delivered. Beyond that, it takes time and resources to research and learn about nutrition: not only what the healthy foods are, but why they are healthy and how to prepare them so that they taste good. Perhaps those families, regardless of their income, in which the parents work 50+ hours or maybe even have more than one job, simply don’t have the time to put into this.

  24. Michelle says:

    Oh. It appears I didn’t read all the way down before commenting. I pretty much just echoed what a lot people before me said.

  25. Jenna says:

    You can weigh and measure food, pound for pound, but it doesn’t neccesarily add up the way that many would like.

    I agree than many good foods are cheaper. *nods* I am always thankful that my dad taught me to be happy with bean soup, as pinto beans are so affordable. I am thankful that my daughter isn’t picky, that she will sit down with me and eat oatmeal for the 7th time in a week. It’s a good thing.

    I think that what people need to keep in mind is that not everyone can just hop in their car and drive over to the nearest supermarket and take their pick. Just this week, my husband asked me if I had bought any milk at the store, but I had to reply that it was too heavy to bring home. It’s good exercise to walk to the store and carry groceries home (yay!), but it doesn’t mean that the foods that are available so close to home are the ones that will have a nutritionist gleeful. If you’ve ever spent a half hour scrounging through bins to find a piece of fruit that isn’t spoiled, or sifted through cans to find veggies that aren’t past their expiration date, then you know what I mean.

    There are lots of things to consider when trying to find foods that are wholesome, yet able to make it through the front door. I’m not saying that it is impossible, but that it is not as easy as some would make it out to be. Instead, it takes a lot of planning and careful budgeting.

  26. LBTEPA says:

    Two things are jumping out at me here, as a non-American – one is the classist attitudes and the “blame the poor for being fat” (and I’m not saying that’s confined to the US, it’s just as rampant here). The other is the lack of inexpensive produce. I live in a relatively poor area and our supermarkets have a lot of fruit and veges which are affordable – although these do vary seasonally, ie strawberries are prohibitive at this time of year (winter) but apples are cheap and so on. We don’t get mangoes and gourmet bread like in more posh suburbs, but the basics are available in every supermarket, and greengrocers are even cheaper. That is tragic to read that poor suburbs have no access to good produce. That’s wrong! No wonder people are ‘treating’ themselves to things they can afford (even if it’s not so good for them). You guys have made me count my blessings.

  27. judy says:

    It was late, dark and cold and I was still running around picking children up and had not started cooking tea. I passed by Dominos and it looked bright and warm and smelled good and it was two for Tuesday deal night. Too easy.

  28. Elizabeth says:

    And, for the record:

    1 pound of potato chips = 16 portions
    1 pound of grapes = 4 portions

  29. taylor says:

    This is the kind of discussion that sticks with you for a few days. I’ve been pondering the thread on and off, in the car, at the gym, even in the shower 😉

    Over the past 3 years, my husband has been unemployed on and off, for 13 months. To say this has drastically affected our finances would be an understatement.

    Last week we had a $30 grocery budget. Almost everything we bought was on sale, via coupons, or using our store “club” card. We are also counting calories, and combined, it takes twice as long to grocery shop. I cannot dash in and out, when I’m punching into a calculator and struggling with sales prices as I go. My grocery visits take 1.5 hours now, not 45minutes. Via sales, we managed to purchase some chicken (with skin, on the bone) and a lean london broil. Also on sale, we picked up frozen peas and spinach. From the produce department we bought new potatoes (3lbs for $3), corn on the cob (12 ears for $3) onions, plantains (4 for $1) and bananas ($8 for 1.49). We bought granola bars (coupons) for breakfasts, and whole white chunk tuna packed in water (store sale) at 2 for $1. I was disappointed we could not afford fresh asparagus or berries. My husband would have liked some juice. I would have preferred skinless chicken, but it’s cheaper with the skin on. Oh well.

    Right now I am working a full-time job, and trying to start my own business (also full-time). My husband works full time, including weekends on occasion. I go to the gym 3-4 times a week (it was one of the few expenses I kept through hard times). Some days I don’t fall into bed till well after midnight, I get up at 7am, and I rarely get any downtime (except for the gym).

    Some days I’d really just rather order Dominos and kick back with a beer. I don’t even know the last time I ate Dominos.

    Not to mention, I’d rather not live in a pigsty, so we must fit time in for laundry and house cleaning.

    We don’t have a lot of toys, frankly, right now we cannot even afford to purchase books. Last year we bought a sensible car, not a fancy SUV. We are saving meager funds in two accounts labeled “vacation” and “house.” We dipped into those accounts to pay things like the electric bill and car insurance whilst he was unemployed.

    It’s easy to point at any group and say the fat ones are working class but it’s also wrong. Not all working class people overspend, gamble, and do drugs. I couldn’t tell you the last time I’ve done any of those things. Who has the time?

  30. Diane says:

    This has made me count my blessings too. I am in tears. I’m so ashamed as I read the struggles some have here who are making do, trying to be as healthy as possible, while I have it relatively easy now. But I hadn’t realized how good I do have it and what better choices I can make with the resources I have. I am jolted to a new understanding that I’ve been in a continuing poverty mindset although the poverty is ended. Thank you all for taking the time to post. It’s been very eye-opening. It’s not simply about having money, it’s all about attitude. I am living proof that money doesn’t automatically solve the problem of making poor choices.

  31. Stasia says:

    Sometimes I do think you have to be loaded to be healthy. I know that our own healthcare costs us out the wazoo every month. We are self employed and pay for our own healthcare coverage. Most working people could not afford health care if their employers did not contribute on their behalf.

    Also, we negate the theory about the blue collar folks. My husband is a physician and both he and our son are overweight. They make terrible food choices in spite of being privileged and educated.

Leave a Reply

