Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

No, we�re not going to discuss recipes here. Actually, this is about narrow escapes and recovering from a less-than-good choice.

It was very hot last week, and I was dehydrated. VERY dehydrated, and had very little time. So, on my way back to work, after letting the dog out, I stopped at a local deli/farm market for something to drink.

Picked up a quart of sugar-free iced tea, figuring it would see me through the 20-minute drive, and then stood on line to pay. Talk about environmental sabotage! What better way to get people to buy sugar-coated, low-quality carbs than to line the aisle where everyone waits for the cashier with TABLES and SHELVES of gumdrops, chocolate covered everything, cookies, candy, etc etc etc.

Tired and thirsty ME looked at the chocolate covered pretzels, and wavered, and thought, and wondered. I rationalized that I�d share them at work. I told myself that I could have a couple on the drive back. In short, I rationalized myself into buying them.

When I got in the car � thirstier by the second � my first thought was those darned pretzels. And I actually said, out loud, and several times, JANE: YOU ARE THIRSTY, NOT HUNGRY. So I cracked open the iced tea and started to drink. After a few gulps, I felt so much better. And realized that I now had more than a half pound of chocolate covered pretzels right on the seat next to me.

I walked into the office, and stood between the cubicles of two of my co-workers, a young man and a young woman. I told them what I�d done. The young woman looked at the pretzels in TERROR. So I turned to the young man and told him that I had to give him the care and custody of the pretzels, and I didn�t want to see them! And added that I was not rational [for some reason, I�d changed into a pair of those 500-pound shorts and wore them for the last couple of hours of work].

How many times in the past would I have hidden the pretzels and eaten them within a day or two, in an effort to get rid of them quickly so I wouldn�t have to face them?

Thank goodness for healthy 20-something men with a sweet tooth! Crisis averted, and everyone at work was happy with this treat. The first decision � to buy the pretzels � was NOT a good one. Figuring out how to recover, and keep myself safe was a major accomplishment.

6 thoughts on “Making Lemonade From Lemons

  1. Greta says:

    Congratulations! I don’t think I have ever purchased food in a weak moment that I did not eat. Twenty minutes in car with chocolate-anything is a LONG time. Good thing you had that diet drink with you. My husband is a thin guy with low cholesterol and low BP and no heart trouble so after we take beach hikes he wants to stop for fast food. I always get a KING sized diet drink which is so huge I wonder if it will drown me. It tastes yummy though and somehow enables me to ride in a car next to a guy munching deep-fried fattening foods withut eating it. That drink was your saving grace…pluis great willpower. Dr. Phil claims that urges to eat are VERY short lived and if we can just get ourselves through those short time periods that we won’t fall victim to the urges. I did not believe him when I heard it, but as I have observed myself I have come to think that it’s more true than not true. So for me I try to think of what I can do to cope with the moment long enough that the intense desire turns into a more manageable level of desire.

  2. Eli says:

    I think that it was even harder to give up the pretzels once you had them, than resist buying them. And it was great that you stopped to listen to your body (being thirsty and not hungry). If we all really listened to our own bodies, fat would not be a problem. Great post.

  3. Marla says:

    VERY good point on the hunger vs. thirst! I remember ancient diet advice was always to drink a glass of water before every meal – seems there might be sense in that.

  4. saffy says:

    Jane,

    Way to go! I had the same experience this week with a small bag of cheetos. I had to have it, rationalized that i had burned off enough calories in my workout and that my lunch had been small. So i bought it, but went the step further and ate about four of them. Every bite screamed louder that i needed to stop hurting myself with these wretched, greasy snacks. I took the bag to my neighbor, who is pregnant and eating everything she can find. She took them happily. Maybe not the best choice for her either, but i needed to get them away from me as fast as the impulse to take care of me lasted. Besides, she could have said no (in which case i would have thrown them out).

    Thanks for posting these lessons as you learn them. It helps and reaffirms my own.

  5. Mr Mayor says:

    I have been visiting your site for about a week now and must say that today’s post was very inspiring. You did what a lot of us struggle to do. Quiet that inner voice that says “Eat and be happy.” Congratulations!

  6. zuu says:

    ha ha ha! That is the hardest habit to break – that want for goodies which feels like a need at the time. I have to laugh at this, it is so familliar.

    I used to live in an apartment with my sister a few years ago. If I bought ice cream for myself, she would YELL at me, because just looking at it would make her snack. She’d eat my whole carton of ice cream, too. :c)

Leave a Reply

