Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

It doesn’t take much to keep me going. A little boost to my workout, a new pair of running shoes, maybe. Fresh batteries in my MP3 player and a couple of new tunes. Really, I’m easy. And today I have a new toy that tickles me pink. An online pedometer.

It’s the work of a couple developers who decided to put a small online application on top of the wonderful new Google map to allow people to very easily route and measure their running and walking paths. www.sueandpaul.com/gmapPedometer/.

It’ll tell you how long you far your route is when you take the stroller out, give Fido his constitutional, when you walk to the corner market, or when you train for that big marathon in the Fall.

A calorie counter lets you record your virtue, and a URL maker lets you share your route with your training buddies.

Honestly, I can’t think of what would make this any cooler. Oh yes, I can: It’s free.

So. That was just enough to push me past a stressful week and provide me with plenty of ideas for routes I can take to explore my neighborhood while getting in my 3-mile minimums.

It let me plan walking routes for an upcoming vacation in an unfamiliar place, too.

And it let me establish some fantasy routes for the day when I’m in ultra marathon shape.

If your exercise program is starting to lose its pull for you, stop and figure out what will help inject some pepper into it for you. Do you need a new bit of technology, a fresh pair of socks, a different workout, a class, a coach? Then get that. Because keeping at it is so important, and boredom can be a real enemy to regular exercise.

I will if you will.

5 thoughts on “Fantasy Routes

  1. Heather C says:

    that is the COOLEST thing ever! I LOVE it! I’ve always wondered whether my pedometer is accurate during my runs, even though I have set it according to my stride length, etc. Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. QuinnLaBelle says:

    ooooooooooooooo!!!!!

    waaaaaaay cooooooooooooooool!

    THANKS, JuJu!!! i have just spent a happy halfhour mapping and measuring all sorts of routes that I’ve been known to walk. Or want to walk. Or might someday walk.

    šŸ™‚

  3. Amy says:

    Way too Cool! Much easier than driving around and trying to do it! Thanks a ton.

  4. jj says:

    OMG… that’s so cool. It will allow me to map out alternate jogging routes without all the hassle of driving them and checking my odometer!

  5. Cheryl says:

    Wow!!! Let me repeat – this is soooo cooool!!! Just what I need to get my marathon training routes ready!! Any other first timers out there?

Leave a Reply

