Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Years ago, some children and I were playing cards and munching on chips or crackers or something like that. And, as we all know, itís so easy to grab these by the handful and eat a few at a time.

The four-year-old looked sternly at me and said ďeveryone should just take one at a time!Ē And he was ANNOYED. At the time, I was truly impressed that he took such a neutral tone. He didnít say Ďhey, stop that!í

This scene returned to me as I was eating a small bag of pretzels. I must confess that Iíve returned to the habit of eating a few at a time, even though I know itís a bit of a risk with the tiny tummy. But, as I remembered that irate, small boy, it dawned on me that this was not only a matter of courtesy, but of slowing down Ė of being satisfied, of enjoying what you have.

So I did. And it worked! It must have taken about 30 minutes to finish that tiny little bag, and I was more than satisfied. Now, letís look at that last phrase. More than satisfied. Yes, itís true. About halfway through the bag, Iíd realized that I was satisfied, but I kept going. There was no real reason to continue eating. No hunger, no emotion attached to it, just the fact that the pre-surgery habits of cleaning my plate seem to be raising their heads.

Gotta chop off those little heads. But isnít it amazing that the key seems to be in something that a small child knew, and understood? Somehow, somewhere, I missed a few beats. Time to go back to the beginning, to learn some lessons that Iíve either forgotten, or perhaps never heard.

2 thoughts on “One at a time

  1. stretchy says:

    This portion control (I like to call it serving mangaement!) makes me wonder Why I sometimes feel I need a giant piece of cake or a whole bag of something. ( it happens less and less, thank goodness)

    When we were kids, sharing a small bag of pretzels or a piece of gum or a candy bar was something my siblings and I did all of the time. And we were scrupulously honest about the sharing. It brought us closer, or reinforced something we already had I guess.

    Our kids are SO DIFFERENT. My daughter was eating a slab of cheesecake and her fiance asked her for a taste. NO WAY she yelped and crammed a huge forkful into her mouth. He asked again, (thinking since family was around she would relent)
    but she stood up with the plate and ate the rest of the cheese cake standing away from us.

    My husband and I both had to stop ourselves from saying something to her! We were appalled at how she behaved. No wonder the guy is so skinny! Giving him a taste could have been romantic, at the very least it would have been polite.

    No one ate ANY of her precious cheesecake, and she ate the whole cake that weekend they visited.
    Then she complains that she need to lose 50 pounds. Next year it will be 60.

  2. Greta says:

    Oddly I learned to “let go” of the cleaning-my-plate syndrome from my dogs. I feel obligated to give them a taste of what I am eating so I always save the last part for the 3 of them. Somehow this practice has allowed me to be able to stop eating while in a restaurant or other non-dog situation as well. What this tells me is that it’s merely a matter of practice.

Leave a Reply

