Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

We hear so much about – and talk about – the need to drink at least 64 ounces of water a day. Our bodies are mostly water, and we need the stuff to properly function. Muscles, thinking, blood flow, breathing, absolutely everything that goes on in our bodies needs water.

Ok. I’ll stop preaching to the choir now.

There are many ways to achieve this goal. Most of us spread it out through the day, but every once in awhile, I run across someone who decide that if the consume the 64 ounces in, say, the morning [16 ounces when they get up, 16 ounces after breakfast, 16 ounces at 10, and 16 ounces before lunch], then they’re done for the day!

What do they do at, say, 5 in the evening when they’re thirsty? Do they simply decide that they’ve had enough and that they don’t need any more water? I hope not, because they’re more than likely dehydrated at that point.

That’s because the body, in its infinite wisdom, realized earlier in the day that it was being drowned! There was more water coming in than it needed, so it got rid of the rest. The kidneys are wonderful organs, adjusting the amount of water they let pass based on whether you have enough water in your body or not.

And now, in the later afternoon and into the evening, the kidneys have sensed that the earlier oversupply is gone. It’s time for more water!

How many of us confuse thirst with hunger, so that we might eat instead of drink, thereby consuming more food than we need, and less water. So, if some of you are ‘batch drinkers’ and wondering why you don’t feel right or function right or wonder why you’re eating more than you want, or you get thirsty later, that’s the explanation.

Bottom line: sipping water throughout the day keeps your body on an even keel, and prevents dehydration. And can reduce your food intake because you’re giving your body what it NEEDS, rather than what you THINK it wants!

Once again, it’s all about balance!

9 thoughts on “Sip, sip, sip

  1. Marla says:

    Good point! I think I remember Oprah of all people saying she got all her water drinking done by noon, and I thought that wasn’t the best way to go about it. I know she’s trying to prevent waking up several times in the night, but still…

  2. Beverly says:

    You said it Jiffy! I’ve gotten to the point now where I don’t even keep track anymore. I just know that when my 32 oz. cup is empty, it’s time to refill it, which happens 3 or 4 times a day. It doesn’t have to be so scientific as some make it; when you’re thirsty drink water, plain and simple!

    Beverly

  3. Greta says:

    In Thomas Jefferson’s day the scientific wisdom was that drinking water is UNhealthy and it might have been in those days before purified water. People drank beer instead. Actively NOT drinking water seemed to work for those people. In the 1950’s most people had a cup of beverage alongside a meal and maybe one more another time during the day. Not much was thought about it. NOBODY force fed themselves water back then. I really wonder if anyone has looked into the practice of high levels of water consumption? A dieting organization recommended high water consumption some time in the 1970’s or 80’s. Then somebody invented bottled water. Before that we used to drink tap water with ice cubes in a glass. The bottled water manufacturers had a financial motive to get people to drink lots of water in bottles so all the bottled water ads began. Maybe 10 years ago the water industry had gotten through to us enough that people started carrying water bottles around with them as though without them they might die of thirst. I consider that water consumption at current levels might one day be determined to be too much once it occurs to somebody to study this relatively new practice. Has is ever occurred to anyone to drink water WHEN YOU ARE THIRSTY? My guess is that if you are running to the bathroom 10 times a day like many friends of mine who can’t make it a half hour without a toilet, then you are drinking TOO MUCH. If we ATE when HUNGRY and DRANK when THIRSTY most of us would not be overweight or under/over consume water.

  4. jane says:

    greta- i love your points, especially about the bottled water marketing machine.

    as someone who used to drink only when thirsty, i never consumed much water, in any form. 32 oz was a big day for me. upping the water to at least 64 oz was hard, but i felt better.

    with the heat of the summer, i’ve been drinking when i’m thirsty, and when i’ve looked back on the consumption, it’s been about 100 oz. not purposely. and because i’m sweating more, it’s ok. but gotta tell you, i can’t wait for the cooler weather!!!!

  5. jonquil says:

    Since I’ve cut way back on sodium, including the nitnites and nitrates, I find I don’t need as much water. And the salts seem to be mostly in processed foods. So eating simple homemade meals has made me much less dehydrated overall.

  6. Kim says:

    Jane-great post. I, too, tried to drink as much water as possible during the day at work because the bathroom is always available. I find that if I drink water after work I have to pay more attention to how much and when because the bathroom isn’t always so convenient.

    Lately I’ve been really taking advantage of those little To-Go packs to add some flavor to my water. (Afterall, water sure doesn’t taste as good as Coke to me.)

    I’m going to try harder to drink water after work, too. Thanks for giving me something to think about.

  7. Debbi says:

    Regarding Greta’s post, I once heard the sarcastically funny comedian George Carlin do a bit of a rant about “personal hydration.” I tried to find it on the web, but didn’t see the exact bit I remembered. I did, however, find this Carlin quote:

    “Ever wonder about those people who spend $2.00 apiece on those little bottles of Evian water? Try spelling Evian backwards: NAIVE”

    That said, when I do manage to drink three half-liters of bottled water a day, I feel better. We have a well, and I can’t abide the taste of it unless it’s flavored with coffee or tea.

  8. Elizabeth says:

    I generally drink tap water, but at work, the water is so over-chlorinated I can’t drinking it unless it is ice-cold. I did get a water bottle with a carbon filter, which definitely improves the taste.

    I find that if I don’t drink at least 50+ oz. of water (particularly when I’ve exercised), I wake up the next morning with a headache that won’t go away until I’ve had a couple of glasses of water.

  9. Kery says:

    I feel like a freak now… 64 ounces is about half the volume of liquid I drink daily. It used to be my normal consumption (lots of water and a bit of coffee/tea–the contrary in winter when it’s cold and I need something hot), but since I’ve added exercizing regularly, it has upped. On days I don’t drink enough, anyway, I get a headache before the evening, which tells me I’m on my way to dehydration.

    I’m also of the avice that sipping it through the day is better than doing everything before noon. It’s not a contest of any sorts. If it’s recommended, it’s for health purposes, not because it’s trendy…

Comments are closed.

