Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

First day back at work after a week’s vacation, and something snapped. I ate everything in sight. Sesame sticks, cookies, chocolate, bread, and I grazed. The regular eating plan went completely out the window.

A part of me simply sat back and watched, occasionally commenting with ideas like “you really don’t want that, do you?” and “you’re way too full to eat that, aren’t you?”

This all followed a rather good weekend. So, what snapped? I’ve been thinking about it, and it seems that it has something to do with getting back to real life after vacation.

Last week was spent alone. No Alzheimer’s mom to take care of, no work. Just the dog, the cats, and me. FREEDOM, for the first time in three years. As the week progressed, my habits cleaned up. Being relaxed, and myself, was the key.

And now, the Alzheimer’s mom is back, work is running at full tilt, and I’m realizing how off-balance I’ve been living.

So. There it sits. What am I going to do about it? Carve out more time for myself. Get more help for Mom, decrease the amount of time I spend at work. You’ve heard me say this before, but here’s what’s different:

For the first time in my life, I now know what it feels like to be balanced. It’s not some far-off, out-there concept. It’s real, and it’s achievable. Just have some organizational work to do.

Those half-written posts on various observations will have to wait a bit.

5 thoughts on “It’s just been a bad day

  1. Connie says:

    Jane,
    Somehow my life has come full circle to be balanced and good. But I have been there. That’s how I gained my weight. Remember that you need to take care of yourself as well as mom and work. It took over 20 years for me to realize that it is possible, over time, to balance it all, but there have been alot of changes in my life in those 20 years. Most learning lessons, for the better.
    Connie

  2. Panda says:

    Jane-
    I’m trying to find balance after four years of taking care of a daughter with a seizure disorder that had spiraled out of control. She is much better now, but I was in a constant panic state and had to remain cheerful and upbeat for her, while encouraging her to eat (two of her meds made her lose her appetite.) Guess who gained 30 lbs? You are so right about finding help where you can and finding time for yourself. I’m rooting for you!

  3. Allyson says:

    Good for you achieving the balanced life. I will get there someday. I do not have the responsibilities you do but I am sorely lacking the organization part.

    For now, I am blaming the coming fall. Days are getting shorter and it was much cooler this weekend. My body is trying to tell me that winter is coming. I wanted to eat non-stop on Sunday. Must resist!

  4. Darcy says:

    Jane –
    I too am trying to find my balance. Sometimes life just seems to give you challenges to see how you handle them. That seems to be the story of my life lately. My husband’s drinking habit caught up to him, he quit his job, my father in law was put into an Alzheimer’s facility, my mother in law receives regular treatments to keep her dementia at bay, almost spilt up with my husband over drinking (which at least now he is slowly making steps to get his act together and going to classes), bought a house, and will be moving mother in law out of house she lived in for 40 years into a condo. In the midst of all of this, I wonder why I have gained 10 lbs and have no motivation to take care of myself.

    So, your goal of finding balance is right in line with what I need to do. Thanks for sharing – it gives me hope 🙂

  5. stretchy says:

    Jane,

    We can all relate… women just don’t carve out time for themselves and then they carve up a pie instead.
    That’s not really what your body/mind/spirit is asking for.

    But hey it happens and we move on, and it happens less and less frequently…

    Stretch

Leave a Reply

