Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Over the past few years I have faced any number of extravagant eating events and undertook them always with the hope that I would exercise some level of control, either in portion sizes, or by compensating in my other eating and exercising behaviors. I have a mixed track record, and I aspire to improve a lot on this front. This past weekend, however, I ate extravagantly and with intent. After all, its not every day that I get married!

Through prior holidays, vacations and events, I have strategized about exercising more, eating more calmly, coping in new ways, and holding the line on calorie intake. Unfortunately, about a week before my commitment ceremony I pulled a calf muscle while I was running, which threw my whole exercise routine for a loop. And when exercise goes out the window, I always seem to have a hard time feeding myself properly. So with a spirit of resignation, I simply decided to go with the flow and make decisions moment by moment (rarely a successful strategy for me, personally).

A couple of things saved me. Most of all, the momentum from years of working hard at weight maintenance kept me at least aware of the choices I made, even when they werenít optimal. I journalled a lot of what I ate without beating myself up for meals I didnít record. And I was so intently focused on the joy and the celebration of being with friends and family, that I didnít need food as a crutch to cover up anxiety or sadness or stress.

Oh, and the wedding banquet (after all, my partner is Taiwanese-born)! Our ten course meal was exquisite without being excessive. Each table of eight received a single reasonably-sized plate of each course to share, one at a time. And the timing was evenly paced, with breaks for toasts and speeches. As a result, everyone was able to eat comfortably and I never had that over-stuffed feeling. I was amazed that by the time it came to cut the cake, I was actually satisfied with two pieces (hey, I love cake!).

Donít get me wrong Ė I have a lot of damage control to undertake, and I need to ramp up my cardio. But I am happy to report that I didnít throw in the towel.

14 thoughts on “Best of Intentions

  1. Steph says:

    Congratulations!

  2. gp says:

    Congrats on the joyous occasion, Jonathan. May you and your beloved have a long, happy, healthy life together, and may you and he share many more reasonable portions of celebratory cake! (oh, I know, I know, and celebratory broccoli too…) ūüôā

  3. margaret says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!
    I bet that wedding feast was unspeakably good. But hopefully not as good as your marriage will be!

  4. Rachel says:

    Congratulations – on all of it!

  5. T says:

    Congratulations Jonathan! Best wishes on your marriage and may you both have years of happiness and a lifetime of smiles together!

  6. jane says:

    Jonathan –

    congratulations all the way around!!!! wishing you and your partner absolutely all the best forever and ever!!!!!

    can’t help but observing that the food was fabulous, but you viewed it as part of this wonderful occasion, instead of the main focus!!!

  7. Michelle says:

    Best wishes to you both!

  8. jonquil says:

    Congratulations! And I hope you’re reading this from some fabulous honeymoon destinatation! ūüôā

  9. Chris says:

    Congratulations Jonathan. Some days are not meant for food focus and that is one of them. I hope your injury heals so you can better enjoy your honeymoon.

    Chris

  10. Denise says:

    Congrats and Best Wishes!!

    Some days I just journal, “One Heck of a LOT of VERY yummy points!!!!!!”

    But, honestly… I wouldn’t even bring a food log to my wedding ceremony or honeymoon!

  11. Laura says:

    Include me in congratulating you!

  12. Priscilla says:

    Best Wishes to the happy couple! What a lovely day for you. Congratulations!

  13. stretchy says:

    Jonathan,

    I wish you a lifetime of joy. How delicious was that cake?
    The feast sounded great. Some days are just cake days…
    Congrats and Love!

    Stretch

  14. Tonia says:

    Congrats!! I read your columns all the time to help inspire me in my own weight loss.

    I just know that if you and your partner work together throught the good and especially the bad you will have a great life together that lasts beyond eternity.

    T.S.

Comments are closed.

