Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

True confessions time. At one time, in another place, I wrote that as long as one dressed appropriately, the weather shouldn’t stop us from exercising. Not even when it’s below freezing (and this from someone with asthma!)

Those words came back to haunt me this morning, as I looked at the nor’easter that’s lashing the east coast. Lots of rain, starting last night, and blustery winds. Certainly not hurricane force, but dark, wet, dreary, and cold nonetheless.

The past few days haven’t been exercise heaven, despite inspiration from Jonathan’s 9 mile run! The dog has been doing more running around than I have, and yesterday afternoon I vowed that TODAY [this morning] would be my day – my day for a long walk.

And it was raining heavily.

So, should I keep my vow or not? Excuses were easy to come by. Should I go to the gym and do the morning cardio? But the dog wouldn’t get her walk, and I’d have to battle people to get onto the equipment at that hour. Besides, cardio in the gym is boring!

Instead, I put on my flashy hot pink plastic boots [waterproof, you know!], the world’s ugliest protective hot pink hat, lightweight bright yellow gloves, and a lavendar waterproof jacket. What a sight!

The dog and I walked for 40 minutes, making a point to splash in all the puddles. It was fun! And my head was clearer afterwards.

Trust me, I’m not really looking forward to the winter. But, I do have a warm coat, warm hiking boots, warm hats and face coverings, mittens and gloves to layer, and snowshoes. The sweater I’ve been working on for the dog isn’t nearly finished, however. Poor dear.

It IS indeed possible to exercise outdoors, no matter what the weather. A little preparation and planning. But most of all, you need determination and commitment. I think I’ll give myself a gold star for today. Did you get one, too?

8 thoughts on “Dress for success

  1. Alya says:

    Hello Jane!

    Thank you for a wonderful story! Here’s another from me to back up your point.

    I went to grad school in North Dakota, the coldest of all the states except Alaska. On the bitter cold nights I used to put on a t-shirt, a wool turtleneck, two sweat shirts, two pairs of pants and go for a run!

    I also had some head and feet “equipment” that will take too long to describe.

    I remember the marvelous feeling of lightness and silence. And also the smell of the laundry detergent in the air – you know that “winterfresh” kind? At first, I decided everyone was doing their laundry!

    and then… a steaming hot cup of tea with a tear of honey.

    what can be better? Stick to your routine!

    Thanks,
    Alya

  2. jessica says:

    I exercised this morning too – despite the 33 degree weather and the fact that this morning marked the first frost of Minnesota winter, I put on my fleece and hit the pavement. I wanted to quit every 3 minutes, but I ran 31 minutes. yay for me!

  3. louise says:

    Dreary and cold in Vermont today, also! Good for you for getting out and about. Lacking a dog, I made it to the gym tonight and watched the snowflakes fall outside as I treaded on the mill. I do enjoy your blog!!

  4. Janet says:

    Awesome post! Good for you for staying committed to your goals! But don’t be surprised if some people start calling you ‘obsessed’ and acting like there’s something wrong with YOU for being dedicated to exercise. Ignore them and keep up the good work!!

  5. Kate says:

    Great Post!!

    Sometimes we just have to make up our minds to just do something. I too walked in the 35 degree heat last night. I moaned and groaned until I got out there… then it was actually kinda fun. 🙂

    Keep up the great work and posts Jane!!

    Thanks!

  6. Sandra says:

    Ajusting to climate is just a matter of changing ones apparel, as Jane has said! Really is a great opportunity to do different things depending on the season.. I am looking forward to snow shovelling and snowshoeing this winter… the workout is fantastic. I think I would get bored if it was sunny and warm all the time…;)

  7. Tanya says:

    I agree that you can exercise in any weather – but outdoors? Oh nooo … my Jamaican born and grown butt can NOT run outdoors when the temperature drops – the amount of clothes I would have to wear would make it so I could barely walk :0)

  8. janet says:

    that paints a lovely picture in my head, thanks. 🙂

    I actually looked outside this morning and decided it was too cold to run, so I’m feeling a little guilty now.. Inspiring though!

Comments are closed.

