Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Several people have been asking about protein powders. It can be a tricky issue. Some people think they’re inappropriate, others think they’re essential for weight control. Body builders often use them, but not every body builder does.

So, here’s my personal experience. First, with the gastric bypass, protein supplements are essential because we eat so little for the first year. The supplements provide our bodies with the basic tools we need to survive. But, after awhile, we’re supposed to rely on real food for protein. However, there are times when a protein supplement is a welcome addition.

There are many on the market: whey [milk] based and soy based are the two main types. Some are designed to mix with milk, and others with any other kind of liquid. Some have lots of calories and carbs, and others have relatively few calories and almost no carbs. It’s important to pick the one that fits in with your plan. And that tastes good. Many stores have a ‘no questions asked’ return policy, so if you don’t like what you bought, take it back. Some stores also stock samples, a great idea.

Personally, I choose protein supplements that run about 20-25 grams of protein per scoop, and that are in the 100-125 calorie range, with 0-5 grams of carbs. The milk-mixing proteins worked well for awhile, and I’d add things like extra sweetener, some unsweetened cocoa, DaVinci syrups, coffee powder to improve the taste.

Right now, I’m using Nectar protein, kind of like a fruit juice. They mix in water, and are a nice change from the milk.

A word of caution: if you mix these into warm milk, or warm oatmeal, or anything else that’s meant to be eaten hot, don’t let it sit around after you mix it. Heat degrades the protein.

On the other hand, cold doesn’t degrade it, so making ice pops out of the Nectar is a nice treat. Mixing these things with yogurt is a variation, or you can go the standard smoothie route with fruit and ice. Remember: adding ice cream is counter-productive, no matter how good it tastes!

Although I’m not as dependent on these as I used to be, they sure come in handy. After that major molar was extracted this week, food choices were very limited. The protein powder was the right thing at the right time.

3 thoughts on “Protein powder

  1. cOOkie says:

    The timing of this entry couldn’t be more perfect! I have been a vegetarian for 15 years and am just now beginning a daily protein supplement. Ideally, I would love to eat all the right foods and get my protein as naturally as possible but reality has it otherwise.

    I have nobody “in the know” to help me figure out if I have been doing the right thing..until I read what you wrote. I feel more at ease with my choice now.

    Thanks for the insight!

  2. Ellie says:

    I’ve lost about 40 pounds over the course of a few years, and learning to eat a lot more protein was key in feeling sated and energetic during the process. I started with one or two Myoplex meal replacement shakes as between-meal snacks (I was weight lifting, so I got to eat quite a few calories while losing) and now I use Designer Whey or Jay Robb whey on weightlifting days or when I don’t have time to cook as much protein as I need.

    Just a few notes on choosing a supplement: Nectar and Isopure are whey isolate, which is very fast absorbing, making it best as a pre- or post- workout supplement. The regular whey is relatively fast absorbing. Mixed proteins that include calcium casseinate or other proteins will feed your body for longer and potentially keep you more full.

    Some protein powders mix easily, some really need a blender. I prefer the mix easy type, as cleaning a blender every day is a chore.

  3. Jeanie says:

    Ellie, Thank you for speaking from your experience. I appreciated the extra information.

Comments are closed.

