Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

In my 20-odd years of adult life I have tried a variety of means to lose weight, including several rapid-weight-loss diets with severe restrictions. Being somewhat compulsive, I always seemed to throw myself into these things headlong, taking the rules to heart, and following them to the letter, no matter how I felt. I would gather every resource I could find, whether food, or recipes, or books, and I would immerse myself completely. With each new diet I would think ‘if only I follow it perfectly, THIS time it will work.’

The result, of course, would be short term ‘success’ followed almost immediately by ‘failure.’ Seldom was I able to keep weight off for more than a few weeks. And the result of these severe attempts was usually to lose a lot (25 – 30 lbs) and then gain back more ( 35 – 40). Repeated enough times, I ended up hitting my highest weight ever in 2000.

When I started my healthy weight loss program four years ago, which included sensible guidelines, peer support, and moderate exercise, I unfortunately brought a fair amount of mental baggage with me. I took the elements of the program rather far, and created what I now realize were very rigid rules for myself. If variety was suggested, I would sit down and make a precise and varied list of exactly what to eat. Since calories were limited, I never once (not in five months) went over that limit. With exercise, I forced myself to walk at least two miles every day first thing in the morning (with gym workouts later on). Convinced that I was doing things ‘correctly,’ I failed to listen to my peers when they urged me to be a little forgiving of myself.

As a result, I achieved a consistent rate of weight loss, but when I reached my goal, I had still lacked the knowledge I needed to maintain that loss successfully. For quite a long time, I maintained my journals (147 weeks of them!), exercised, got peer support, etc. and kept my weight on an even keel. But in that time, I still never learned how to fall down and get back up again.

Yesterday while casually talking to a friend, who had asked me why I felt concerned about my weight, I had a realization. This past year, I have bounced around here and there on the scale, had good times and bad times, was unmotivated, highly motivated or simply in the dark. Its left me feeling frustrated.

But the fact is, I have not regained 50 pounds. I have not crashed and burned. Some of my clothes might not fit. Some of my journals are incomplete. Many of my goals were not reached. But I think I’m learning something profoundly important.

I can’t be certain, but I’m getting the feeling that I’m learning the most valuable lesson of all. How to lose weight imperfectly. It won’t be easy, but I’m going to give it my best shot.

4 thoughts on “Past Perfect

  1. Christi Nielsen says:

    So true! It’s like it’s all or nothing. If I can’t be perfect or follow the diet perfectly, then I just won’t even try. Sometimes I think keeping strict journals and counting calories just makes me think even more about food. I’m better off not obsessing about it. Then I’m not always thinking about what to eat!

    http://www.about2getskinny.blogspot.com

  2. stretchy says:

    Once I figured out that ” Body, Mind, and Spirit” are not three very separate and unrelated things, respecting my body became a lot easier for me. I no longer needed “to fight” cravings, or to “strain for more willpower” The idea of respecting my spiritual life and my intellect came easy…they never let me down! They made me happy and got me promotions at work!

    my body was far more difficult to respect: it got hungry, it wanted lots of sweets, a whole bag of chips, more cake. more cake. some popcorn, more popcorn. I thought of my body as separate from my mind and spirit because …why? I don’t know. But as long as I separated “Mind, Body and Spirit” I could not respect my body.

    I guess I can credit Yoga and Tai chi for slowly and steadily bringing me to relaize I am a whole person.

  3. Greta says:

    My problem is that if I get too relaxed about what I eat then I gain. At 54, female, low thyroid it’s a fight all the time. However, I AM imperfect anyway however much I “need” to be “perfect”. What I try to concentrate on is good health first and then weight maintenance follows. A little “imperfect” food does fit into a healthy diet and this is our one go around at life which means a few treats ought to be allowable. Back to your topic of a few days ago of binging, I think we are less likely to binge if we allow ourselves to be a little imperfect.

  4. Karen says:

    Wow! I think you could have been reading my mind when you wrote this! I too had been on the yo-yo diets (lose fast following strict plans, then gain back more), finally joined a sensible weight-loss support group/plan (WW), followed the plan dutifully, maintained my loss for awhile, and then had some struggles. My struggle was losing post-partum weight, but in 2.5 years, the 15 post-partum pounds I’ve lost have been so much harder earned, and correspondingly more helpful & self-insightful for me than the initial 57 I had lost in 2001.

    Kudos to you for writing about it so beautifully. 🙂

    Karen

Leave a Reply

