Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Where does resolve come from? If anyone knew, I suppose he or she could patent the process and make a million bucks. At the moment, Iíve got it, and Iím enjoying it, yet wonder how I can best nuture and sustain it.

Yesterday was my annual christmas tree ornament party and it went off without a hitch. There were a few last-minute Ďdiscussionsí about the amount of food we were to have, but in the end, plenty of ornaments were made and lots of food was to be had. My primary strategy was to exercise early in the day (5 a.m. on a Sunday!) because I knew that would set me up for success (although a few yawns as well!). I then ate normally throughout the day, had a two plates of veggies at the party, and just avoided all sugar and trigger food. I even had a fun time.

The very moment the last guest was out the door, we threw on our coats and drove to an awards banquet where Devin was to get some recognition for his achievements in the tennis league this year. I took a small plate of food, and when I discovered it didnít taste very good, I just had the waiter clear it away. I took a moment to listen to my bodyís signals, and I have to say, I felt comfortable and satisfied. Talk about a Christmas Miracle!

This morning, although I was running late, I stopped by the market near my house on the way to work to pick up some healthy produce for the office. Afterwards, when I got to my car, it wouldnít start! I was stressed out and fatigued and not in the mood for a morning disaster. Several hours later, by the time I got to work, I was ready to eat anything and everything I could get my hands on. But I didnít. Based on yesterdayís success, I decided to see if I could try eating a little bit and seeing if that would be enough. It was. Christmas Miracle number two!

As I said, Iím not quite sure where this resolve is coming from, but lately I have been spending at least a few moments every day quietly contemplating my goals, Iíve been making sure to get enough exercise, and Iíve been leaning heavily on my support network.

Who knows, this might be my first happy AND healthy holiday season!

3 thoughts on “Resolve

  1. Kate says:

    Awesome Jonathan!!

    I’m going to try that resolve thing on for size. It’d be amazing to not eat my stress away, especially if my car didn’t start.

    Kate

  2. Greta says:

    Having and sustaining resolve is the heart of successful weight loss isn’t it? I think we can make it less important through setting up good daily habits but when we are faced with foods we know we ought not eat then there’s nothing but resolve to get us through. You are right about reviewing goals. It really helps to look at the big picture and care about where we will be in one week, one month, one year. When I was getting in shape to hike the Grand Canyon and Machu Picchu it was easier for me to keep my resolve than with nothing coming up. Exercise helps change our body’s biochemistry towards being more of a “naturally” thin person. Regular checking in with our body to see if we are hungry, full, satisfied really helps too. For me it really helps to stay away from sweets. Once I get the taste of a sweet it can be hard to remember my resolve for a very long time. My own resolve has been a bit weak lately. Thanksgiving foods in the house got me eating off my regular plan too many days in a row. Losing 2 pounds by the end of the year does not seem that earth shattering a goal. I have been having trouble putting together multiple “perfect” days with the many holiday food encounters I am having. However the first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is evaluate yesterday and make a commitment to myself for today. A daily commitment really helps.

  3. Laura says:

    You’ve inspired me: I resolve to get resolved!

Leave a Reply

