Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Thereís an oft-repeated weight management phrase that simply doesnít ring true for me: ďnothing tastes as good as thin feels.Ē In my experience, whether itís a pint of ice cream, a box of cookies, or a half-dozen donuts from the bakery, there are many, many things out there which not only taste ďas good asĒ any other feeling, but probably trump that feeling every time.

After all, feeling thin is a state of mind. By contrast, a cookie is a tangible, sweet thing that makes a delightful sound as you crunch it in your mouth. That burst of sensation when we pop that first piece of chocolate, or forkful of cake, or (insert your trigger food here) is something thatís pretty damn hard to beat.

So it seems to me that if the message youíre trying to insert in your brain is ďthis spectacularly tasty food item is not as good a physical sensation as slipping on blue jeans fresh out of the dryerĒ youíre probably setting yourself up for failure. As sensory inputs go, the feelings we get from the act of eating are basically at the top of the list. (Its not likely that we become overweight by doing something we donít want to do!).

Fortunately, human beings are created with the ability to apply logic and reason to our actions in addition to simply responding to physical stimuli. This enables us to viscerally imagine the consequences of our actions. Why else would Moses have been handed those commandments?

So the phrase Iím testing out for myself is ďWhy give up now what I want most?Ē Tomorrow Iím going to my umpteenth work-related holiday food event (Iíve lost track) and I know that I will be faced with a variety of foods that I find sorely tempting. Iím not even going to TRY to tell myself that those foods donít taste good. But since the logical, rational side of my brain really wants to be able to slip on those jeans, Iím going to have to work on some strategies.

Itís a work in progress, Iíll keep you posted.

5 thoughts on “

  1. Ellewiz on WW.com says:

    That’s a good way of thinking about it. Thanks!

  2. Cassandra says:

    I’ve never liked that phrase, either. Well said.

  3. mrho says:

    I have to disagree with the assertion that “As sensory inputs go, the feelings we get from the act of eating are basically at the top of the list.”

    You can’t think of anything else that’s more pleasurable? Sex? Charity? Child-rearing? The adrenaline rush of a good fight?

    Eating tops the list? Please. I mean, I guess the point of the saying is that food is temporary. Who remembers their last meal? I can’t remember specifically from day to day, but I remember the last time I swam in the ocean. How much more tangible is a memento I have forever compared to a cookie that was in my mouth for a minute at best?

    When did we blow the pleasure of eating out of proportion to the point that it’s become savior, companion and hobby and the dominant theme in our lives?

  4. Karen says:

    I find it hard to remember ANYTHING when a really delicious dessert or main dish is in front of me at a party. Especially the phrase you mentioned. What I try to do is to take a small portion, and drink water or diet soda to help fill me up. Sometimes that works. Eating slowly is really hard for me, but I’m working at making that a habit too.

  5. Sue says:

    Biologically speaking, our sense of taste is quite highly developed (probably one of our most sensitive senses, though I don’t have the data in front of me to consult), so it is easily perverted by the availability of foods specifically designed to be overly consumable…that is my interpretation of what Jonathan means.

    In any case, I never liked that phrase either, because even though I have lost 80 pounds, and am within my “ideal” range (though at the upper end), I still have some flab and extra skin and I definately DO NOT feel thin. I don’t feel like I used to, but I just don’t know what thin feels like. I know what a couple of gained pounds on top of my goal weight feel like (heavy and thick and uncomfortable), and I remember what it felt like to try to maintain a weight 5 pounds under my goal – hungry, deprived, unsatisfied, and certain bodily features were looking like defalted old balloons. So this is my “thin for now”, as my leader used to say. It maybe my “thin” for a long time. And that’s just fine.

Leave a Reply

