Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Editorial note: Hey folks. We nearly missed it, but the deadine to nominate your favorite blog for the prestigious Bloggies award is neary here. By Tuesday, January 10, 10 p.m. EST, nominations need to be in. If you can think of any blog that has become meaningful to you, would you take the time to nominate it here?)

It’s a small thing, this new cup. Beautiful curves, a lovely shade of medium pink – not too bright – on the outside, and white on the inside. At the bottom, the surprise of a darker pink heart. It nestles in its pink saucer, which also has a pink heart at the center. And it’s a good size, about 14 ounces.

So what?

Well, it’s my new tool for stress management. When I walk in the house, I’m greeted with all kinds of questions from the Alzheimer’s mom, and I often don’t even get my coat off before I start feeding the dog or figuring out what to do for mom. All of you with children know what I mean, and frankly, I admire all of you for managing.

I’ve been coping by making a large mug of tea instead of diving into whatever food is close by in order to manage the stress. It’s not always perfectly successful, but it’s a lot closer to ‘success’ than to ‘failure,’ if you know what I mean.

This little tea ritual is an effort to slow things down, to give myself a transition breather between the rush of coming home and the chaos of coping with Mom. Unfortunately, it’s not been much of a ritual, but more of a slapdash, hastily applied bandage.

But this new cup, a small luxury, invites me to make a nice cuppa, and to sit down and enjoy it. Last night was its first test run, although it was just a test. After Mom went to bed, and the chocolate in the house was calling me, I made some peppermint tea.

It was lovely, and I enjoyed the entire experience in peace. So, tonight’s plan is to come home from work, make a nice cup of tea, and sit down and enjoy it before rushing into the rest of the mess. Let’s hope it goes as planned. Let’s hope I don’t get stuck at work and get even more frazzled!

And I know just where to get a teapot that will go perfectly with this cup. Care to join me?

8 thoughts on “Something special

  1. Cat says:

    Let me just add a rousing “yeah, baby” to both the chaos of the Alzheimer’s patient (major kudos to you for being even a semi-sane caretaker) and the magic powers of tea, which I feel sure have prevented suicides, homicides, and even pet-icides on many an occasion. When something’s as expensive and ritualized as good tea, it’s much easier to feel that one’s engaging in a sacred ritual, even without the fat and calories.

    Hang in there!

    Cat

  2. Laura says:

    There’s just something wonderful about a pretty, unusual or beloved cup and saucer that I just adore. The ceremony of it all does indeed help slow things down and be more calm and peaceful.

    And, by the way, I just nominated Skinny Daily for best blog of the year!

    Laura

  3. Deirdre says:

    There’s something very comforting about a nice cup of tea. The dogs will wait.

  4. Isela says:

    I’ve been a lurker here for long time but today’s post made me go out from the dark 🙂
    During last 3 weeks my 2 little kids have had chicken pox,the flu & now an stomach bug; talk about stress and sleep deprivation. Add to that that the stress of Holydays and a ton of work and you can see the perfect ecuation for disaster.
    I need desperately something to relieve some presure and I guess tea could perfectly be it;)
    Thanks a lot

    Ixely

  5. Debbie says:

    I agree about the power of a good cup of tea to “create space.” It’s a real treat. I currently am drinking Stash Chai Spice black tea — completely plain, except for some Splenda. They also make a double-spice version, which is even more robust.

  6. juju says:

    I love a good cuppa.

    Gee, Laura, thanks for the nomination. It’s a cumuative thing. The blogs with the most nominations are the ones that go on to the panel for judging.

    Tick, tick! Thanks, in advance, to everyone who thought to nominate Skinny Daily Post. But do nominate your other favorites, too!

  7. Kat says:

    My friend Clara and I have been enjoying a ritual of a cup of tea around 4pm everyday. We stop what we are doing and where ever we are we make a cup of tea and just think about each other and all the things we’ve been through and just wonder what each other has been doing. It is a time of reflection and caring and a much needed breather for the both of us. Our friendship has been a wonderful time for the both of us also.

  8. Mj says:

    This strikes a chord!

    I’ve been trying to cut down on coffee and subbing in tea for the winter season. And drinking that tea – no, SIPPING that tea! – in a mindful manner, not just gulping it down (THAT I could do with water…).

    My music director has his particular mug at church, and he was quite surprised that I did not… maybe it’s time.

    Thanks, Jane!

Leave a Reply

