Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

When I travel I often find myself drifting towards food choices that donít support my overall objectives Ė partially its being out of my familiar element, part of it is life long habit, and part of it is loss of a sense of priorities. Today I spent the day in airports, travelling back and forth to Los Angeles, and enduring the usual delays and waiting.

For this trip, however, not only did I take the time to bring along a few helpful foods, I also spent some time focusing on my overall objective of being able to feel proud of myself after the trip was over. The temptations were everywhere, from start to finish, so I had to stay calm and I had to be strong.

I brought my food journal along, and jotted down my choices. I brought a bottle of water with me and refilled it at regular intervals. At lunch and dinner, I consciously ate slowly, put my fork down and tried not to rush. In the board room at our main meeting, I positioned myself away from the food table (cookies the size of dinner plates) and when I had the chance, I chewed gum.

Itís a bummer that it takes me so much planning and effort to achieve the results that I want Ė it would be so much simpler if I didnít have to keep my eating choices in mind and could just go with the flow. But I have a lot of experience with this travel thing, and what bugs me most is not so much the lapses that happen to me while Iím on the road, but the seemingly endless recovery phase when I get home, trying to do damage control while feeling discouraged.

My focus today has been on what it will be like to start the next day knowing that Iím still on track, feeling neither remorse or guilt over the choices that I made. Iím not certain that doing this one time successfully means that Iíve made a breakthrough Ė Iíll have to see how it works out on other, longer trips. What I am certain of is this, no matter how poorly I ate on prior trips, no matter how many times my weight management efforts may have felt stymied upon my return Ė there is, neverthess, ANOTHER CHOICE. Its nice to know.

5 thoughts on “Want Power

  1. Greta says:

    Congratulations, Jonathan. What a breakthrough! Travel is my biggest downfall though it’s usually when I am at relatives’ houses that I have my biggest trouble. Still I find those airport foods seductive and what can be worse than staring at cookie platters all day? Great job!

  2. Debbi says:

    Wouldn’t it be easier sometimes to just have a scoop of dog kibble twice a day and be done with it? I, too, have food issues when I travel. Since I don’t work, it’s mostly a vacation mentality Ė hey, we’re on the road so let’s have some fun! But the fun ends up being food-related and, well, you know the story as well as I do.

    I’m so enjoying the daily posts. I don’t want to say I depend on them, exactly, but I sure do appreciate these nuggets of thoughtful wisdom. Better than the Daily OM!

  3. Laura says:

    Boy, you really hit the nail on the head when you said:

    Itís a bummer that it takes me so much planning and effort to achieve the results that I want Ė it would be so much simpler if I didnít have to keep my eating choices in mind and could just go with the flow. But I have a lot of experience with this travel thing, and what bugs me most is not so much the lapses that happen to me while Iím on the road, but the seemingly endless recovery phase when I get home, trying to do damage control while feeling discouraged.

    I’m in that last part right now, trying to get myself back on track. Luckily I’m back to the gym and exercising again, but the diet is not where it should be and the old feelings of hopelessness and desperation that “nothing ever works” are creeping in again. Skinny Daily always gives me hope to put one foot in front of the other and get back on track.

  4. Vicks says:

    This statement in your post is essential for me. “I also spent some time focusing on my overall objective of being able to feel proud of myself after the trip was over.”

    I now realize that my daily thougts rarely include being proud of myself. My most frequent thoughts are berating myself, dissapointment and disillusionment. I believe that this is what consistently sabotages my efforts. “I messed up by eating 3 cookies, so I might as well eat the entire bag of 20.”

    My new goal is to have more “proud” thoughts throughout the day. In my journal, I write down atleast 3 things that I am proud of that day. I also include some things that I am grateful for. This helps to keep my mind focused in the right direction.

  5. Deirdre says:

    I’ll admit to having some trepidations about going to Italy for a month this spring. I’m looking forward to it, of course, but I’m concerned about what will happen to my weight when I’m away from home where I have control over my environment.

Leave a Reply

