Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

This is not something I’m proud of. As I approach the 4th anniversary of my surgery, I’ve been examining what’s been going on. Eating is, although not perfect, coming along. Exercise could be better, but again, I’m aware of it and am working on making changes.

The biggest area for improvement, however, lies in the vitamin supplementation. I’ve known for awhile – more than a year, in fact – that my iron stores are gone, and my B12 levels can drop to below normal (WAY below normal, in fact). I ran out of B12 months ago, and have not remembered to buy it. But perhaps even worse, I’ve had a new box of easily absorbed iron [the type given to people with end stage renal disease] that I’ve been ignoring.

Even sorrier to report (see? we’re really doing true confessions here!), I’ve been feeling it. No energy. Low stamina. Brain fog. Difficulty in coping with stress, even though some days it’s doubtful that ANYONE other than a saint could cope with the stress.

So, something had to change. Over the weekend, I’m happy to report that I laid in a supply of chewable B12 plus liquid B complex, and that I’ve been taking both regularly. But that iron!!!!

It was time to ask for help. Remember the mention of my colleague Michael? The man who proudly says that he has no issues with eating and is a body builder in perfect condition? Despite these ‘perfections,’ he’s a very kind, supportive person. I handed over the iron capsules and asked him to give me one twice a day. And not to let me argue him out of it or walk away.

So, first thing in the morning, he OPENS THE BLISTER PACK and either hands it to me or leaves it on my desk. The fact that he opens it means that I can’t ignore it. And he repeats this in the late afternoon. I’m not sure how he remembers to do this, and I’ll never know what made him realize that opening it was the right thing to do, but trust me, I’m grateful.

It’s humbling to let go like this, to confess my weakness and my needs, and to ask for help. However, let’s face facts. If I continued to struggle with this simple task, no matter what the reasons could be, the consequences will be serious. It was starting already.

So, a little creativity, a huge amount of honesty, and the kindness of someone else are all going a long way to improving my health. I’m grateful. VERY grateful.

8 thoughts on “Being Creative

  1. Laura says:

    Jane – it is always harder to be vulnerable, especially in front of those who are seemingly perfect in many areas, so it’s HUGE that you opened up to your colleague and wonderful he is helping you.

    I have always found I was inspired more by those who confessed weaknesses and continued moving forwarding then by someone who seemed to never have a problem. We all need to see each other’s humanity to help one another.

    Laura

  2. LA says:

    That is terrific that you have a support person like that. That is great.

  3. stretch says:

    Hi Jane,

    I too, “forget” my vitamins…and I know they are important, esp my bloodbuilder iron and my b12s. Maybe I dislike spending $30 on Co Q 10, maybe… I don’t know why I let days go by without replenishing my supplies… why I skip days… and days…
    Supplements are important, and way cheaper than lots of other purchases we justify.

    Putting our health first …why do we have trouble with this?

  4. Quinn says:

    aawwwwwwwwwwwwww!

    I think it’s sweet that this bodybuilder type is helping you out. And in such a non-agressive way! Opening the blisterpak and then leaving it there for you. What a honey.

    Asking for help is okay, Jane. Really, it is. As my dear dad used to say, “Most people are pretty nice.” And they loooove to help out. (Remember the response of ordinary people to the tsunami last year? And Katrina?) It’s one of the pleasanter methods that we humans use to make the connections needed for community.

    Let people help you.

  5. jane says:

    and a PS. he’s 34 years old and unmarried. unattached. anyone interested???

  6. Mj says:

    Congratulations on recognizing your need and finding a creative (and supportive!) way to fill it. And kudos to Michael, for being such a good friend!

    My vitamin/supplement-taking tends to be haphazard – definitely something that I, too, need to address if I am to receive maximum benefit.

    Perhaps there’s a “Michael” I haven’t identified yet…

  7. Jonathan says:

    Jane — Wellbutrin pulled me out of a deep, deep depression two years ago. When I take it consistently, it staves off the chemical depression that I find so debilitating. So explain to me why I find it sooooo hard to remember to take it every day? I don’t have a ‘Michael’ so I use an alarm on my cell phone that goes off at 5 p.m. every day, and I keep a stash of the meds at work, in my briefcase, at home, etc. No excuses!!

    -J

  8. jane says:

    wellbutrin and i are VERY good friends, and i take mine every blessed morning, along with my multivitamin and a couple of other things.

    i think you need a MICHAEL. he can be a PIA, but he’s well-meaning, funny, and kind. if only he weren’t so darn perfect about eating and exercise!!!!!

Leave a Reply

