Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Compared to a lot of people I know, I lead a fairly quiet and predictable life. So its hard for me to embrace the fact that change is not only inevitable for every person, its also desirable. But in my heart I know its true. I also have to acknowledge that Iím scared by change and Iím uncomfortable with the unknown Ė even when its Ďgoodí change.

This week I gave notice at work because, at long last, Iíve found an opportunity for career advancement that is a much better fit with my skills and my goals. There are so many wonderful things about this Ė itís a more secure job, itís at a higher level, it offers many more opportunities for growth and, perhaps best of all, I am going to be able to walk there from home! No more white-knuckling it in rush hour traffic twice a day.

So am I happy? Well. Iím actually kind of nervous. Will I find the job interesting? Will I get along with my coworkers? Will I have what it takes to be a success?

Its funny, because when they called with the job offer, my first reaction was that I wanted to eat something. When I gave notice it was the same. And now that Iím in the process of clearing off my desk and preparing things for my successor, Iím thinking about food virtually non-stop.

After all, food can be fun, it can be pleasing, it can be comforting, exciting, soothing Ö you name it. So when Iím faced with change and with anxiety, or even when Iím filled with anticipation, food calls out my name. So far, Iíve been careful about this. In my food journal this past week or so, Iíve taken to making a notation next to my entries if I was eating particularly for emotional reasons. No judgements. Just data.

I find it interesting that what Iím craving is mostly about crunchiness and about volume. A piece of chocolate doesnít work. A bag of popcorn does. Yogurt doesnít help. Steamed veggies do. While we canít Ďcureí our emotions with food, its useful to know that some foods have more satisfying qualities at certain times.

So, over the next three weeks, Iím just going to hold tight, and keep journalling, exercising, and staying in dialogue with others.

Some things never change!

8 thoughts on “Making Change

  1. Mercury says:

    Congratulations on the job, Jonathon! At least you’ll be free of the “foodies”, eh?

  2. Laura says:

    Me too, congratulations…at least we HOPE you are free of the “foodies”. Could be a whole new set to contend with at the new job. But in any case it sounds like a great new change and I am awed how you are handling it.

    Stay strong and good luck!

  3. jonquil says:

    Cool. ūüôā

  4. Deirdre says:

    Congrats on the new job. It’s nice to be sought after, isn’t it? Over eating is a form of sedation. You need to find something else, like meditation or yoga to calm yourself.

  5. Deirdre says:

    Better yet, schedule a massage. Just be warned. They are addictive, too.

  6. Mj says:

    Congratulations, Jonathan, on moving forward – and on recognizing and coping with your reaction to this chosen change.

  7. Greta says:

    Congratulations, Jonathan. I am happy for you.

  8. Nikhila says:

    Congratulations! You should celebrate this change with a reward that is both soothing and decadent–I like the massage idea if you can afford it.

    I read in a book once that claimed we crave certain type of foods based on certain emotional needs. Crunchy/Salty food is associated with stress, anger, frustration–those hard edged negative emotions. Soft/Sweet food is associated with loneliness, depressing, sadness–those soft edged negative emotions. After I read this I noted that these sorts of divisions were true for me.

    Of course, I do sometimes crave sugary foods for their own sake–but I don’t ever crave salty/crunch food for its own sake. So I suppose it can vary.

Leave a Reply

