Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Yesterday I was thinking a lot about that old chestnut ‘If you always do what you always did, you’ll always get what you always got.’ Even after years of hearing it, I still have to remind myself of its value from time to time. So here’s what came to mind … have you ever thought that you wanted everything about yourself to be just the same EXCEPT that you also wanted to be at a healthy weight? I certainly have.

I like my life. It makes sense to me. There is comfort to me in the routines that I have and the daily tasks that I undertake. I also know what I like and what I don’t like. And I want all of that to stay the same AND for me to remain thin.

But of course, that simply is not possible. We cannot be the same person, with the same priorities, making the same choices and having the same goals, if our desire is to lose weight and maintain at a healthy goal.

Because its not just about shopping at the right market, having the right recipes, and keeping a tidy journal (although all of those things really count!). Sure, having a healthy body at a healthy weight just requires a proper balance of nutrition and exercise … but will that really come about if I just keep on doing the same old, same old?

I’m not saying that I need to abandon the old me, or become a new me that is some kind of stranger to my past. I probably don’t have to join a monastery, or train for a triathlon, or give up eating out for the rest of my life. I certainly don’t have to imagine that I’ll never again eat just for the sheer, pleasurable sensation of it.

So what has to happen? Small, incremental, subtle, and yet ultimately profound new things.

I need to find little activities that give me pleasure and make me happy that have nothing to do with eating. I need to know that denial never got me anything other than a larger waistline. I need to relax and trust in my ability, rather than to fret and worry about whether I’m making the right choices. I need to buy healthy food and prepare things ahead of time, have contingency plans, and not just go along with whatever ‘everyone else’ is doing. I need, ultimately, to understand and accept that its okay to do things a little differently, that I’m capable of change, that the world as I know it won’t come to a screeching halt and leave me feeling bereft and deprived if I don’t have that cookie.

Change. I don’t like it. But I CAN do it, one little bit at a time.

Jonathan.SDP@gmail.com

6 thoughts on “Exactly The Same, But Different?

  1. Sarah says:

    I love my SDP updates – they give me a little bit of profound, common-sense truth, every day. And boy, do I need it. This one, though, struck me enough to post a comment for the first time. I never thought about it that way before, but my goodness, is it true.

    Thank you so much for all the help you give to me and so many people! You’re really doing wonderful work here.

  2. Quinn says:

    Jonathan, you are brillant! Just brillant!

    🙂

  3. Lorna says:

    Am a new visitor to this site. Already am working on changing my thinking. Jonathan’s comments today were especially good. Liked that thought of preparing foods ahead.

  4. Cat says:

    So, um, like, ya know? You know that thing where you really just want a large portion or four of chocolate, and even though you know that a) it doesn’t fit with your New Healthy Life and b) you don’t really want it as much as you want to be normal-sized, which is still a very novel sensation, and c) there isn’t any dang chocolate anyway, right now habit rules and change bites and God bless it, WHY can’t someone just find you some CHOCOLATE? I have a cure for this desire, albeit a temporary one. Logging WW points from the ridiculous things you’ve eaten over the past week, that really shuts up the Chocolate Voice in a hurry. Dang it.

  5. maggie says:

    I think you’re very perceptive, Jonathan. It’s more than just “lifestyle” changes, it’s a shift in thinking where we consider and value our lives rather than using the same old comfort crutches.
    I don’t think I even realized some of the changes I had made until after looking back over a couple of years and realizing I hadn’t done some things for a long time.
    For instance, I didn’t say I’ll never eat cookies or crackers again, I decided to not keep them in the house because a box can “call” to me continually. If I see some really good ones when I’m out, I’ll have a serving size portion and while I may feel like eating more (I always may) I can stop reasonably easy. Except with chips. Today I just don’t go there — my brain leaps out of my body and into the bag, and I finally decided it wasn’t worth the space the grief was taking up in my brain!

  6. mary jean says:

    That thinking “shift” is pretty amazing sometimes. I realized the other day that a doughnut shop had opened up in town, sold them (one of my most dreaded binge foods) for about 8 months and then went out of business without my ever having entered the establishment. Hmmmm….not only haven’t I had a doughnut in a couple of years…I haven’t WANTED one!!

    I can hardly believe it, but I am certainly grateful for the change.

Leave a Reply

