Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Our days have a predictability, with certain schedules. We get up at a certain time, go to work or school, or get everyone else out of the house before settling into whatever tasks we have planned. Most days settle into a comfortable rhythm, with predictable routes to and from job, school, stores, whatever.

But what happens if the rhythm changes? Let’s take a look at last week, the first week at my new job. Before I start, however, I have to tell you all that this was the right move to make. The culture is one that I fall into easily, the work is right up my alley, and the people are nice.

However, I haven’t found the rhythm – the comings and goings of my department, the way we interact with others, where and when people take breaks, the meetings schedules, etc. It’s not a big deal, but I’d had a different rhythm from my old job, and I felt lost.

The first couple of days went great. No food issues. Exercise was fine. But Wednesday and Thursday, the tension started building, and it took me until Friday to figure it out! For lack of a better term, I was ‘between rhythms’ and felt a vacuum. The end result: I was feeling lost and a bit tense!

Enter chocolate. Oh well.

Once I realized this, I took a deep breath and relaxed. The new rhythm will come, and I have a golden opportunity to tweak it so that it’s more comfortable for me over the long haul. In the meantime, it’s time to relax, to not try to control the situation, and to focus on something other than chocolate or comfort food.

But on Saturday, I must confess that I wanted some GOOD FOOD. Believe it or not, this didn’t mean treats. It meant tasty, healthy food, mostly in the form of veggies. This reaction was such a shock that I went to the local expensive grocery store that has an extensive selection of prepared foods and bought a cauliflower salad that had capers, black olives, and roasted peppers [yummy!], and some roasted spring veggies with pomegranate molasses. Unusual, oh-so-tasty, and healthful. With a couple of pieces of good cheese, I felt treated, but most important, CARED FOR.

Routines aren’t really an enemy, but we can’t let them become ruts. There are ways to tweak them, to shake them up even, and all we have to do is change our attitudes. It’s an opportunity, not a problem.

3 thoughts on “The Rhythm of the Day

  1. stretchy says:

    Pomegranite molasses! Who makes it ?

    As for routines– sometimes (short term) they work, diet wise (that month I was busy and relied on protein bars for snacks I lost weight and felt great because I wasn’t so hungry at mealtimes)
    but like all routines, food routines get stale, and you have to change… My problem is, I forget to change BACK… I find stocking up on all helpful and healthful foods helps a lot.

    I didn’t stock up, and when my daughter visited and filled the house with a mountain of really junky food, I was in bad trouble. Tiny CHEATS became a little routine for a few weeks! EEEK!
    I gained fast, and when she left last night I had to throw away an entire large trash bag of her “left overs” unopened tubs of ice cream, sugary cereals , half boxes of Whitman samplers, bags of crispy salty things…”

    She says she wants to lose weight (70 lbs now, last year it was 60) but she says she “has to start on a Monday” and the weather “has to be warmer” and it “has to be” when no festivals or parties or weddings are coming up. She has to be in the right routine to do it… I make no comment. Obviously she has to gain ten more pounds, or ten more than that before she hits bottom and decides to stop the madness.

    as for me, I gained five and it went straight to the belly.
    it wasn’t worth it.

  2. GG says:

    Wow! Cauliflower salad? Pomegranate molasses – can you share your grocery store name 🙂

    I loved this blog. This post is of special significance to me. I underwent the exact same thing when I switched jobs in end of Jan after a 9 year stint at my old company.

    When I gained 5 lbs in less than 8 weeks, I realized what was happening. Free food in the new company was one of the reasons.

    Keep up the good work! You are inspiring lots of people..

    GG

  3. sandy says:

    I have found that starting a new job is one of the most stressful experiences there is. Good for you for managing your stress in a positive way!

    Sandy

Leave a Reply

