Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Today started off badly, no denying it. I’ll spare you all the details, but it involved the Alzheimer’s mom (AM), the too-early van driver, the dog, laundry, and oversleeping. I felt as if I were living with several of Snow White’s Seven Dwarves – Grumpy, Sneezy, Sleepy, and Dopey. You’re getting the picture.

When all was said and done, I stood at the kitchen counter, making some chai [loose tea, not a mix] to carry with me during the drive to work. Out loud, I said several things:

It’s over, everything is fine
You don’t need to stress eat
Relax, drink your tea
You are safe

and then I took a couple of deep breaths. When I realized what I was saying, I took a step back, and smiled.

Call them affirmations, pats-on-the-back, whatever you will. They were not only verbal reminders that I was actually taking care of myself, but they also stood in stark contrast to previous post-stress forms of talk. Those forms would have been entirely negative, and I’d end up blaming myself for not controlling the entire situation, and not taking care of every little detail.

In fact, the only thing I’ve vowed to do differently is to not oversleep! The other events were comletely out of my control, and I handled the situations the best way I knew how.

Let it go.

And that’s what happened! I sipped my delicious tea on the ride to work, and I haven’t carried the problems with me. AM and the dog are well-cared for and safe, I’m having a decent day at work, with no stress-related food issues. After work – and I’ll leave on time – there will be either a hike or bike ride.

Everything is fine. Really and truly. It’s all a matter of perspective. I could have chosen to hold onto it, but there was no reason to do that. Letting it go was much safer, and saner.

4 thoughts on “It IS possible to change your program!

  1. jonquil says:

    Too cool. It’s so important to reassure yourself that “everything will be all right,” and “you’re doing the best you can.”

    But also, and this is even more important, you’re using your emotions as a source of insight and constructive self-analysis, rather than letting the emotions start a stress cycle that builds on itself, spiraling out of control.

    Brava!

  2. Cindy says:

    Hey Jane,
    Another great message. I just heard about telling yourself positive messages as a way to deal with stress and now you’ve talked about it in action. I love your posts! They really work for me! Thanks!

  3. Xenawannabe says:

    Jane, good for you. Thanks for this awesome script – I need to try it the next time I’m ready to dive into something bad for me just because I’m stressed out! And saying it out loud has power, so thank you for your example that worked.

  4. carol says:

    It helps to see what non-abusive self-talk sounds like.

    Jane dear, you rock!

Leave a Reply

