Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

And trust me, we could have, no, SHOULD have, figured this out for ourselves.

Last night, while applying a heat pack to my back and contemplating writing a post about not overdoing the exercise, a commercial for a new product came on the tube.

SPRITZING SALAD DRESSING! One calorie per spritz. And there it was, salad dressing in a spray bottle, the pump kind!

What a fabulous way to control the amount of dressing on your salad, or a little flavor enhancer on your meat or veggies. And I should have thought of it myself.

So my imagination started running, towards making my own. After all, if it’s only a single calorie per spray, the entire bottle has to be carefully made so that we’re not getting just oil.

What would I put into it? Herbs would be wonderful. Oh, wait, the little green pieces would clog the nozzle. Spritzing caesar! The cheese would provide a wee bit of protein. And clog the nozzle. Bleu cheese? Same problem.

Bottom line, it has to be completely liquid, with no grains or slices or chunks to clog the nozzle. Sounds boring. Hold on, though, it gets worse.

I just checked out the website [this is made by Wishbone, and after this, I’m not inclined to post a link here]. The first ingredient in the Italian vinaigrette is high fructose corn syrup. It’s the third in the other two varieties, after water and vinegar.

Not for me! I’m letting this one pass me by. But, if I can find a spray device that won’t get clogged from bits of herbs, WATCH OUT!

17 thoughts on “The latest portion control gadget

  1. Chris says:

    I got really enthused when I saw the wishbone commercial too. Drat about the corn syrup. I think it’s still feasible to make your own though. I think the key would be in infusing the vinegar with the herbs for a nice long while, then straining out the solids. It’s worth a shot any way.

  2. stretchy says:

    These types of sprays are the latest gimmick. I saw a demo recently: grocery store lady spritzing “chocolate” flavor spray on mini rice cakes. She also had other flavors, like “butter” and I’ve blocked out the rest of the flavors…

    It seems these things would only be triggers to eating the real thing for many people. More frankenfoods…give me the actual herbs, please, a square of really good chocolate…

  3. Mercury says:

    Something else to consider – a lot of the vitamins you get from salad-type veggies are only fat-soluble. I saw a study that says that the amount of nutrition you get from your salad is directly linked to how much fat you eat it with. So it might make sense to cut fat calories from something other than your dressing.

  4. Allyson says:

    What if you used a Misto to spray a small amount of good quality infused olive oil on your salad. Add herbs and vinegar at will. The olive oil would get evenly distributed which is my issue with fatty salad dressings when you try to use a very small amount it gets “patchy”.

  5. jessica says:

    Jane, I did the SAME THING – I was so excited, ran right out to the store, and saw the High Fructose Corn Syrup and was sooo disappointed.

    I have a Mister misto that I use for olive oil, and I wonder if I could just add some balsamic vinegar in there and shake it well before spraying… and then sprinkle my own herbs on top.

    Very very disappointed in Wishbone that they weren’t more health conscious. Granted there is only 1 calorie’s worth of HFCS per spray, I think I’d rather watch my portion control with an all-natural dressing!

  6. london slimmer says:

    I prefer to have old-fashioned vinaigrette, because it means that I get a small amount of healthy olive oil. Since I don’t fry things in much oil and eat a rather low-fat diet, I reckon it won’t hurt. My recipe, for what it’s worth: 1 Tbsp. olive oil; 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar; herbs; a pinch of mustard powder; 1 Tbsp. fat-free yoghurt (for creaminess) – serves 2 generously for about 60 calories each. I did also discover, however, balsamic dressing. It’s simply balsamic vinegar in a thick, syrupy form (no other ingredients at all) which is sweet and mild and sticks to the lettuce well. I keep a little bottle at work for the salads there. If you still want to get the goodness of the fat-soluble vitamins, though, you need to top the salad with slices of avocado or a tsp. of seeds.

  7. Jennifer Bodoh says:

    flavor-spray.com they have many sprays there with no sugar and little calories although some are a bit salty. I don’t so much like them on salad as I do a spritz or two on steamed veggies. But theres still no substitute for a healthy oil and some good balsamic for my salad.

  8. susan says:

    I’ve been using a Misto for olive oil on salads for a long time. I sprinkle a little balsamic vinegar on, spray with the misto, and toss. Sometimes I mix garlic and herbs into the vinegar. Seems to get distributed very well and tastes wonderful!

  9. Sue says:

    I swear I have seen this product before…years ago, perhaps, long enough that it seems vaguely familiar, but I can’t quite render the full memory. It really is too bad about the corn syrup…that junk is in almost everything it seems!

    What if there was a small screen or filter on your home-made spritzer? I had an el-cheapo spritzer that had a wide-ish intake…maybe a faucet screen could be trimmed to fit in there?

    Maybe we have an inventor out there ready to tackle this one!

  10. June says:

    I had a coupon so I figured I’d try it – loved the concept. It was AWFUL! I didn’t read the ingredient list until after I tried it – I thought to myself what IS this stuff, anyway??

    I agree with Allyson – maybe spraying on good olive oil and then adding whever blend of vinegar and herbs to it. Or infusing the vinegar first and straining the herbs like Chris said. I’m sure there’s got to be a way to do it that’s much better for you than HFCS.

  11. Rachel says:

    I went out to Wal-mart and they have metal, portable sprizter containers. I made my own dressing with Macadamia Nut Oil “MacNut”,and Huckleberry Vinegar. Yummy.
    I carry it in my purse in a small ziplock.
    I’ve made many combos, but this is my favorite. MacNut Oil is supposed to rev your metabolism.

  12. Tess says:

    This might not be new to some but it was to me when I first heard about it and it works, you get yourself a good (not one of the hard to use ones)salad spinner, put your salad in it and a tablespoon of dressing and spin it, it distributes the dressing throughout the salad. Works great!

  13. star says:

    it is scary that people eat such de-natured food, do any of you have any idea what is in wishbone dressing? do you consider high fructose corn syrup a food? if you stop eating packaged foods and other garbage such as diet drinks, your body will naturally lose weight and it will also be much happier , as you will be feeding it with whole food, not junk, i was once a very obese person, and now i am not, it frightens me that people over the age of 25 think its ok to eat low cal fake food, from waxed apples to weight watchers fozen foods, just wondering if you have ever considered this, and i lost the 120 pounds on my own, through will power and exercise, good luck and check out your nearest health food store, and read labels

  14. star says:

    almost all packaged food has high fuctose corn syrup, and its genetically mod. the only good fats are virgin unrefined oils, best is virgin coconut, and olive,

  15. LeAnn says:

    Thanks for the salad spinner tip Tess….

    I am SO dissapointed in “new” foods…like the NEW “natural” 7-up. WHat’s natural about High fructose corn syrup??? It’s one of the main ingredients. It’s awful about the spray salad dressing…I’m going to go buy my own spritzer!
    F.Y.I. I make a yummy vinegarette with regular Italian dressing mix (dry) Balsamic vinegar and olive oil. It’s delicious!

  16. tony says:

    Let me add my comments about using a Misto – it works great. I’ve also used just a good balsamic vinegar on salad. A little olive oil goes a long way and as Mercury said, you’ll get your fat soluble vitamins that way. The bottom line is read those labels!

  17. Jennifer says:

    While I understand completely where you are all coming from with regard to the addition of the high fructose corn syrup (as I watch my sugars carefully), it’s only 1g of sugar total per serving, which is a whopping 10 sprays…way more than enough for your average sized salad. Just another way of looking at things…

Leave a Reply

