Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

The Alzheimer’s mom [AM] and I just returned from a couple days in Virginia with my sister. A good time was had by all – good food, good wine, good exercise, and sis bore the brunt of the AM care. Magnolia Louise had to stay home with the cats. A professional pet-sitter came 4 times a day, and walked Maggie at least a mile each time, and fed everyone, and cleaned up.

As expected, however, Maggie didn’t eat. At least that was the report. I wasn’t suprised. Magnolia is very attached to us, and despite the fact that two of her best friends were there with her [the cats], neither AM nor I was there. She was pining. And that meant that she didn’t eat very much. Just enough, I suppose, to satisfy her to some level or other.

I fed her tonight. Guess whose plate is clean?

When I’m sad or lonely, I want to eat. Why doesn’t Maggie? In fact, why don’t most dogs? I’ve never heard of a dog who misses its owner having a binge-fest. Either the dog eats fairly normally, or, most commonly, it doesn’t eat!

We are able to change our programming, and dogs aren’t, at least not without a lot of behavioral issues. Hmmm. look at that last statement. When we change our programming from a ‘natural’ state, we DO have behavioral issues, don’t we?

Maggie feels her emotions freely, without reserve, without fear of being judged, and acts accordingly. What do I do? I deny what I’m feeling, ignore it, or, if I actually FEEL something, I try to hide it, and attempt to swallow it with food.

Juju’s right. We need to be more like our dogs. And they’ll happily show us the way – without reservation, and without thought. Thank goodness!

4 thoughts on “More lessons from the dog

  1. london slimmer says:

    For those of us who love dogs, I can recommend a really good book, The Truth About Dogs by Stephen Budiansky. The author is a science journalist and an editor of Nature, so he approaches dogs from the point of view of a zoologist, but manages to combine interesting science with very clear, accessible writing.

  2. jessica says:

    Our dog doesn’t eat either when we’re not home – I mean, even if we leave her food and go out to a movie, when we get home, the food is still all there, and then she chows down as soon as she gets over the excitement of seeing us again. Bizzare!

  3. Rebecca M says:

    My dog eats garbage, poop, dead animals, and anything left on the kitchen counter, wrapper and all. She’d also eat until she exploded if we let her. I don’t think I want to use my dog as a role model!!

  4. Val says:

    What I am hearing is that some animals (including humans) naturally regulate their body weight and others do not. Why does it surprise us that some people can eat whatever they want, stop whenever they want and maintain a healthy weight — just like JuJu’s dog (and mine, except she has put on a little weight because she likes coconut truffles). And, some will eat anything and everything in sight if not restrained in some way, including the tin pan the brownies are in (my friend Jenny’s dog). P.S. Jenny is the naturally thin opposite of her dog. I want to train myself to be like Jenny, not her dog. I also think it is significant that the dogs who eat dog food, generally eat any and all other things they can. While my dog who is pampered and prefers chicken to steak (and would never eat a chip or pretzil), turns down food all the time. And I’m doing much better eating less quality food than I every did gorging myself on less nutricious junk until I hurt.

Leave a Reply

