Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Someone pointed out recently that I make WLS look easy. Oh my! That is NOT my intention! And then I realized that, from the posts here, perhaps it looks not much different than losing weight the old-fashioned way.

In some respects, thatís true. After a certain point, like roughly two years post-gastric bypass (longer for bandsters, I think), we DO become fairly normal, assuming there have been no major issues throughout.

But the flip side of this is that Iíve accepted some of the truths about WLS and theyíve become second nature. So, here we go, starting with the immediate post-op phase.

Throwing up became an accepted part of my life for awhile. For 6 weeks, it happened several times a day. The surgeon said that some people just have Ďtwitchy stomachs,í and itíll stop, like a light switch being turned off. Thank goodness he was right! But that doesnít mean itís completely gone. It still happens if I do something stupid. Then again, that was part of the reason for the surgery, wasnít it? To be able to have a known stopping point.

Water, nearly 100 ounces of it. If it doesnít happen, I feel sick.

If I skip a meal, I pay for it into the next day. Itís hard to make up the lost protein. And, as for vitamins, itís possible to skip a day or two without a problem, but make it a habit and youíll be in your doctorís office for sure trying to explain why a normally intelligent person canít pay attention to this absolutely essential part of her care. And you will be SHOCKED at just how bad your blood work can be. I promise you.

It is indeed possible to eat carbs, and after a certain point, you have to get off the all-protein diet and eat more normally. Just what does that mean? Simply this: approximately 100 calories [roughly 14 grams of carbs] of high-quality carbs per meal. That equates to a single slice of multigrain bread or 12 and a half wheatable crackers. And you have to eat your protein and veggies before you start on the carb.

Itís too easy to get sick by eating chips instead of real food, or in addition to real food [calories still add up!] Ė and those of you who have experienced dumping syndrome know all too well what I mean. And, perhaps most important, because you now have a tiny tummy, filling it up with junk prevents you from eating protein and veggies, and you will end up with no energy very very quickly.

Iíll leave the exercise discussion for another time, but for right now, please understand that, just like with other weight loss plans, itís all about choice and what youíre willing to live with, or live without. No matter which route you choose, changing your mindset and attitude is the only way to succeed.

6 thoughts on “WLS isn’t as easy as it might look

  1. wendy tompkins says:

    i read and loved “tales from the scales”!
    keep up the great work!

  2. Vickie says:

    Jane – you make everything look “easy” because you have a great attitude and are always so cheerful.

    Someone else with gastric surgery (I think this was on Oprah) said that surgery gives you a hand while you learn to eat. She gave a percentage something like 80% surgery and 20% your actions for RIGHT AFTER surgery. Then, she said, the further you get away from surgery, the percentage starts to switch until eventually it is 80% your actions and 20% surgery. Her point being that if you don’t change your life – you will regain/have problems even with surgery. I am sure that I do not have percentages correct and I am paraphrasing her – but I believe this was the spirit of her comment.
    Vickie

  3. Tamra Little says:

    I agree! I too am post-op. Many people think this was the easy road. But that isn’t the case. It’s still a lifestyle change regardless how the weight is lost!!!

  4. sherry says:

    Jane thanks for throwing that out there in a quick synoptic (is that a word?) way…. Amen sister… it’s the same….we just have to do what we had to do quickly so we could live …. no way could I have done the 2 pound a week weight loss diet at the point I was when I had the surgery…. I would have been dead….
    Thanks for this…

  5. London Slimmer says:

    I am always astounded that people can think major surgery is an ‘easy option’. It seems to me that it is surely the hardest option of all and should be considered only when it is really the only viable choice, which sounds as it it was the case for you.

  6. Musa says:

    Jane,

    I’ve heard you mention vitamins here a few times and wondered what your thoughts are concerning the recent talk of multi-vitamins and the lack of evidence showing they do any good.

    I’ve really cleaned up my eating over the past year with a focus on whole foods, whole grains, dairy and plenty of fruits and veggies but after tracking what I was consuming (including 6-8 servings of fruits and veggies) in a day, my RDA’s are still falling short.

    I haven’t consistently taken vitamins but am thinking I’m going to have to start. Are there any brands/companies/retailers that you would recommend?

    Thanks! And also, thanks for sharing your struggles, your insights, your achievments – it’s a blessing.

Leave a Reply

