Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Ya gotta try this! It’s so easy, and much more weight-management friendly than those coffee-shop treats!

I made an entire 12-cup pot of decaf Bavarian Chocolate coffee. It came from a chain of coffee shops in Virginia, but trust me, if I hadn’t had this around, I would have used some store-bought French roast.

Then, while it was still warm, it went into a 2-quart pitcher along with one packet of sugar free hot chocolate mix [60 calories], and 3 tablespoons of a good quality regular cocoa mix [it had 80 calories for 3 tablespoons.

So, this 2 quarts of iced mocha has about 150 added calories, even though I strongly suspect that the chocolate that’s in the ground coffee added some as well – let’s call it 50 calories.

200 calories for the pitcher, eight 8-oz servings – that’s 25 calories per serving!

Blend this with some ice, or add whatever else. I mix mine with some soy creamer and pour it over ice.

Happy happy happy!!!!!

8 thoughts on “Jane’s iced mocha

  1. coraspartan says:

    Jane, I love this idea! I love iced coffee drinks but never order them anymore because I know how full they are of fat and calories. I refuse to waste over 500 calories on something I can’t even chew (unless you count the ice, which I don’t). I am going to the store today to buy some sugar-free hot chocolate mix and will try your concoction. Thanks for the idea!!

  2. Greta says:

    I use chocolate flavored “light” soy milk instead of regular soy or cow’s milk as an add-in to my decaf. Tastes great and no more calories than if I just added low-fat soy milk. Similar taste to adding hot chocolate mix but without lactose for those of us who are lactose intolerant. I also enjoy iced coffee in the summer. GREAT to have a SkinnyDaily 2 days in a row!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Allyson says:

    I rarely have an iced coffee treat mainly due to the price. This is a great alternative for me! My favorite coffee treat has like 1,000 calories and costs $5+.

    Cora have you tried asking for skim milk and sugarfree syrups in your iced latte?

  4. tony says:

    This sounds great – I can’t wait to try it. I am always looking for something to stand in for chocolate, and it’s hot here – 100 degrees today. I’m going to try Greta’s idea on the chocolate soy milk too. And it’s nice to read SDP two days in a row, too.

  5. Sarah says:

    I’d love to hear more about your favorite treats. I’m trying to figure out some things that won’t leave me feeling deprived or guilty 😉

  6. sherry says:

    Thanks Jane!
    my around the corner coffee house/ get away closed a couple months ago abruptly, and I have to say…. I was having issues!
    I have all the stuff ….right here at home to make this go!
    But I have yet another spin to put on it… since I am a surgery “convert” coffee is something we were ‘warned about” …. well the kid (thats my alter ego) found caffiene free herbal coffee… I tried it out on my husband…did not know the difference…made out of roasted carob, barley , chicory roots, dates, almonds, figs extract of mexican vanill and natural flavors, no propelyene glycol used (this right off the back of the pkg….
    ya’ll I really like it…. ooh this stuff is called “teeccino”…. if you are intereste it works in the drip pot, the filter cone and french press and Iced… yahoo. http://www.teeccino.com this is not a paid endorsement…
    haha!

  7. Ginger says:

    I make my very own iced coffee this way:
    Brew 2 cups of strong black coffee and keep in the fridge. Each morning use 1/2 cup of coffee (or more to taste), 1/2 cup nonfat milk or soymilk (which I froth with my milk frother) and 2 tablespoons of sugar free favored syrup- such as caramel or vanilla. Serve over ice or simply chilled. 1 pt on WW for the milk 🙂

  8. coraspartan says:

    Jane,
    I wanted to let you know I made your iced mocha as suggested, and it was fantastic! I added a little fat free coffee creamer to mine and it was delicious! I am keeping a pitcher of the iced mocha in my fridge from now on and will just throw some ice in a glass, pour the iced mocha over it and add my fat free creamer and voila: a much-needed caffeine jolt (I used regular coffee, not decaf) and a little chocolate treat! Thank you so much again for sharing this recipe! I have already passed it on to one friend and I will be sharing it with others.

Leave a Reply

