Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

After the recent realizations about my backsliding, I have taken matters seriously in hand. It’s time to update you all, especially since I’m feeling proud of myself – and we all know how rarely that happens with most of us!

I’ve done serious abs a couple of mornings this week, and today, I did some light weights on biceps and triceps. Yes, it’s true – there’s still more weight work that needs to be done, but this is a start, at least. It proves to me that it IS INDEED possible to fit this in [this workout happened while my breakfast was in the toaster oven – takes about 15 minutes to make my baked omelette].

And I’ve been either hiking or biking or both, time permitting. The length of time varies, of course, but I’m taking advantage of 15-minute opportunities.

It wasn’t easy at first. The fatigue was hard to deal with. Exercise is supposed to be invigorating, but that didn’t happen. It took a bit more time for that to kick in. I started by doing only what felt ‘right,’ so that my first couple of bike expeditions were only about 3-1/2 miles. Within a few days, the distance doubled! With intervals!

As for drinking calories, I’ve switched to plain water [after my two huge mugs of tea with soy milk] all morning, a very-low cal, non-bubbly beverage in the afternoon, and that’s pretty much it.

Finally, it feels like I’m learning to build a sustainable form of exercise, at least while the weather is good. The plan will have to be revised when the snow comes, but for now, it’s good

5 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. jonquil says:

    I’m so glad, Jane. I’m going to have to do the same, as my in-laws are coming today for a week.

  2. h says:

    Good for you, Jane. The thing I’ve realized over the course of my maintenance is that the most important long lasting, sustainable change I’ve made is to keep tabs on my body every day. (That could be weighing myself or that could be seeing how my clothes fit; it doesn’t matter.)

    Exercise, eating, sleeping… all these habits and behaviors come and go. But as long as we keep checking in on ourselves then denial and complacency can never take root long enough to cause real damage.

    None of us lost this weight just to regain it, so a five or ten pound gain is all it takes to make us spring into action.

    Good for you for doing so. I’m doing that right now myself. 🙂

  3. Allyson says:

    I am leaving work now (ie not staying late) so I will have time for a run this evening – even if it only is 15 minutes it will get me off my butt!

  4. Deirdre says:

    It is sooo easy to get out of the good habits of exercise and eating right. I went to Italy for a month in the spring, and then started dating. I’m only now getting back to where I was before I left. I’m getting back the same way I started in the first place; small steps. Fifteen minutes here. Thirty minutes there. It adds up, and I find it is easier to add on to modest efforts rather than to start out with big, ambitious plans. I’m not very good about following big, ambitious plans.

  5. Lela says:

    Sounds like you have a good plan in place!

    Keep going!

    The excercise should help you feel more energized and invigorated over time. You body has to adjust to that level of activity.

    Kudos!!!!!

Leave a Reply

