Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Even more evidence on the benefits of exercise. In this month’s International Journal of Obesity, researchers at Wake Forest have shown that aerobic exercise along with diet actually shrinks abdominal fat cells – the infamous belly fat.

Too bad it can’t make them go away, but shrinking them is a good thing!

This group of 45 women all had a deficit of 2,800 calories a week, either through dieting or a combination of dieting and exercise.The women who didn’t exercise lost weight on their low-calorie diets, but their fat cells stayed the same.

The low-intensity exercise group walked at about 1 to 2 miles per hour on a treadmill for 50 minutes three times a week. The high-intensity exercise group also walked three times a week, but at 3.5 to 4 miles per hour for 30 minutes. Both exercise groups burned 400 calories each week through walking.

After 20 weeks, the women lost between 19 and 23 pounds, and lost 3-4 inches around their hips and waists. But, the fat cells shrank by about 18% in both groups of exercisers.

Abdominal fat is believed to be an important factor in the development of metabolic syndrome and diabetes. Reducing it is a good thing. This study suggests that we don’t have to work very hard at it!

Even low-intensity exercise works. Three days a week, folks. That’s all it took. We can do it. Honest. We can.

5 thoughts on “Stubborn belly fat and exercise

  1. h says:

    Thanks Jane! It’s so easy to get caught up in the “if I don’t at least run for 3 miles, I might as well not exercise at all” mentality. Reading that walking briskly a few days a week reduced the SIZE of belly fat cells is a great reminder that it doesn’t really matter how we move, we just have to get out there and MOVE.

  2. Alma Resendiz says:

    Hi, im writting because I recently had my baby and he takes all my time and energy. What do you recomend me so I can start loosing weight and sizes. Before getting pregnant I was a size 9 now a size 14. I was 150 pounds and now 175. sinces he was born I lost 2 dress sizes. But still I would like to get in my old clothes fast.
    Anything that you advice I will take.

    Thank you,

  3. sherry says:

    Jane get out of my head! I have finally started getting some results from just walking on the treadmill and doing dvd’s and using the gazelle…. I am soo happy to know that I am doing alright… I even see some definition in my gams…. thanks ladybug for keeping us in the know.

  4. Jamie says:

    I have personally lost about 30 pounds through Yoga and would recommend it as a long term solution . Because once you use yoga your body becomes so efficient in burning fat that it won’t collect easily ever again . You can change from a basically fat person to a basically thin person with yoga .

  5. jay says:

    I have recently realized that I am getting older and that while I’m not obsessed with my weight–I need to get in shape! I have been reading FITNESS magazine and loving it. The focus is on real women and the exercises are easy to do. They even have a YOU CAN DO IT program this month (October)….If you don’t have a copy you should get one! I love it!

Leave a Reply

