Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Call it what you will – back to basics, relearning, changing a bad habit and making it stick, whatever – taking small bites is important.

It’s about savoring your food, really and truly tasting it. And taking your time – that all-important 20 minutes between starting to eat and when your brain registers that you’ve eaten enough.

Taking big bites and eating too fast are two major ways to eat more than you need. And it’s so easy – but you knew that.

Yeah. I’ve been putting too much food in my mouth, and it hasn’t been pretty. I’m overeating, and feeling it. My tummy doesn’t feel all that comfortable when I’m done. I admit that I should have stopped sooner.

Why am I doing this? It’s not real clear. But, there’s a lot of stuff happening at work, and my time is getting even more crammed. I’m not taking the time to breathe.

It’s endlessly fascinating, the forms that stress takes, and the many ways that it comes out in my eating habits.

One more thing to watch.

And on another note, my walking buddy is out of commission. Poor little Maggie Louise ran off after a squirrel yesterday morning, and came back limping. I let her rest until I got back from work, but she greeted me at the door on three legs. Thank goodness the vet squeezed her in. The foot isn’t broken, just badly bruised. Hiking just isn’t the same without her.

Hold some good thoughts for Maggie. She looks so pathetic and sad!

5 thoughts on “Small bites

  1. Greta says:

    Sorry about your dog. I am a slow eater to begin with but one thing that REALLY slows me down is a large salad and/or a bowl of hot soup. You just HAVE to crunch fresh greens and soup is hard to gobble, especiallly when it’s nice and hot. Maybe a change of foods or the addition of soup and salad to everyy meal would help you. Are you familiar with the study that showed that people who eat a salad or soup before a meal take in fewer total calories? I think it might be the slow-down factor.

  2. Rachel says:

    I found this link through a comment a Skinny Daily reader made on an earlier post. I found it a really helpful guide to mindful eating and the mindful bite.

    http://mindfuleating.org/Basics.html

  3. coraspartan says:

    Jane,
    Thank you, thank you, thank you for this post! I was literally wolfing down my lunch as I pulled up your blog today. It forced me to slow down, think about and enjoy what I was eating. My lunch today was very healthy (grilled chicken breast, a whole tomato from my garden, and yogurt), but wolfing it down would have left me feeling hungry when I was done. I probably would have sought other food to fill me up before the 20 minutes registered. Thanks to your post, I leisurely ate my lunch and managed to feel full at the end since I took my time.

    I unfortunately tend to wolf down my food on a regular basis–especially dinner because I’m usually starving by the time I eat. I am always the first one done eating because I eat so fast. This usually results in me having seconds because I’m still hungry since I didn’t allow myself the 20 minutes to feel full. I realize now that I need to make a concerted effort to eat more slowly. Thanks again!

  4. susan says:

    I think along with taking small bites, it’s important not to allow yourself to get overly hungry. I positively wolf down my food if I’ve waited too long to eat. There’s nothing wrong with feeding your body when it’s hungry — even if you don’t “think” you should be hungry yet.

  5. Marie says:

    Jane,

    If you take time to breathe between bites it will slow you down *and* you’ll get that all-important breathing in at the same time, thus freeing up time to knit. If you laugh between bites it works even better. Just remember to swallow first. Keep passing the open windows hon, and I hope to see you soon.

    P.S. Somehow the words “poor” and “little” just don’t mesh with my mental image of Maggie Louise. Hope she’s feeling better already.

Leave a Reply

