Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Thousands of people were killed in a horrific terrorist attack, and the carnage has continued. I’m not interested in taking sides on this issue in this forum, but the past years have taught me a tremendous lesson.

Life is fragile – take the best care of it you can every day

Being perfect isn’t what matters – trying is what’s important.

On September 11, 2001, I was in the middle of my unfortunate incarceration in the hospital and nursing home, and I watched the news all day long, with horror, shock, and fear. The hospital is less than 30 miles from NYC, and was put on disaster alert. That meant that the employees would now work 12-hour shifts. And after their shifts, many of them got into their cars and went to the World Trade Center to help. They dug, carried, fed, lifted, moved – did whatever they could, and then returned to work.

Many of us lost loved ones, and the courage of those left behind has been astonishing.
There are foundations and memorial trusts, and other organized groups, but the true stories are found among the survivors who live day in and day out with their losses and cope in ways large and small. A man in my town was killed, and since the mother had disappeared long ago, his sister built an addition to their house and now she has a total of 7 boys living there. With much love. And noise, of course.

So, my way of dealing with this is to take the best care of myself that I can so that I don’t become bedridden again. Not perfectly – you all know that – but I’m not giving up. If something stops working, I figure out WHY it’s not working and come up with another plan.

Don’t give up.

One thought on “Five years ago today

  1. Greta says:

    Sorry for your personal losses as a result of 9/11. Keep on hanging in there!

Leave a Reply

