Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Let’s not consider this a real entry, but rather a list of things I’ve noticed over the past week.

First, my new favorite end-of-the-workday snack has become an apple with a tablespoon or two of peanut butter. I slice the apple and dip it into the pre-measured peanut butter. It takes a long time to eat, is yummy, and stays with me for several hours.

Second, people who run, jog, or walk at night along busy, winding, treelined streets without sidewalks need to wear something other than black or navy blue! Reflectors, white sweats, ANYTHING that lets people driving cars see them. I didn’t hit anyone, but it’s a bit scary.

Maggie seems to have put herself on a diet. She’s not finishing her dinner, and is looking quite good. She’s always seemed to have that ‘magic sense’ of when it’s time to cut back. We should all be so lucky!

A wonderful lunchtime salad is chopped cucumbers, peppers, tomatoes, and whatever else with some hummus mixed in.

This is the last weekend for the little farmer’s market. We’ve made some friends there, and, in fact, some have mentioned that they’d been talking about the woman who comes with her mother and large dog. Who knew that people took such notice!?! I’m going to miss this weekly event. There’s a farm stand near us that’ll stay open a couple more weeks, but then, it’s back to the grocery store for fruit and veggies. A sad thing.

It’s been a very stressful week, workwise. Deadlines and not enough time. But I’ve been holding my own – some people think I’ve lost a few pounds! Perhaps, but the exercise MUST pick up, or else. And the consequences are too dire to consider.

At least, I can report that eating hasn’t been too bad, unless you count a couple of skipped lunches with the expected late-day consequences.

How was your week? Any revelations? Thoughts?

10 thoughts on “The week in review

  1. Shrinking Knitter says:

    My week started out so-so. Made some poor food choices, slacked on the exercise. You all know how it goes.

    But then Wednesday I went to the doctor and he ordered some routine labwork that hadn’t been done in a year.

    Thursday I picked up the results. I nearly danced out of the office. My year of getting healthier has resulted — so far — in a reduction of my cholesterol by 70 points!

    So the end of my week is terrific! Details on my blog: http://shrinkingknitter.blogspot.com.

  2. Vickie says:

    I am out in the wee hours with my high school son on his paper route every night. It never fails to amaze me how stupid people are. If they are ON our route and are invisible, I stop and tell them, as nicely as I can. Because we are out at that same time – and if they are going to be too – I need to be able to see them.

    My favorite was a bike rider that insisted on riding IN the street – no lights, dressed all in black. It took twice – but she is finally in white and has working lights on the front and back of her bike. I can’t get her to use the paths and sidewalks – but at least she is now “lit”.

    My husband and I are early morning (predawn) walkers too – but we stick to the paths and sidewalks and stay out of the street.

    My advice to other pre-dawn people – assume EVERY vehicle CANNOT see you – no matter how well “lit” you are.

  3. sherry says:

    My week went well … I got my bike this week. I have had a dream for several years to get a bike… so when I buzzed through last months health magazine and noticed an add for an electra “townie” I had to go and check on out.. I put her in layaway… which lasted all of 3 weeks… I got her out! she is ready and so am I! We went to the fair last weekend and walked for hours on end… my fair food? glad you asked… a dill pickle! It took my entire trek to eat 1/2 of it…i threw the other half away… but man was it good to know I could be surrounded and not get crazy…. ooh yeah I almost forgot the water!
    I am happy with myself finally again… I just had my 2 yr surgery anniversary a couple of days ago… I did not lose like some folks had been in a depression about it… but I am alive..
    I am still on b/p medication… but even at that this week. I have come to the realization that too may end soon. a b/y of 110/70 and 96/60…. dont be alarmed… I am a medical professional… and I am watching it! * I may be able to get rid of the little pill yet… but I am definitely not almost 400 lbs anymore and that counts for something…

  4. Jane says:

    SANDY!!!! i accidentally deleted your wonderful post about your challenges with law school, family, and work!

    it was a wonderful one. and i apologize. would you mind terribly rewriting it?

  5. Sandy says:

    Ok, here goes –

    I have been holding my own since starting law school in September. I am 46, married (second time around) with two high schoolers, work full time and attend class in the evenings. That said, this week was pretty good (I think of my “week” as beginning on Saturdays, my traditional WW weigh in time). I made decent food choices, tried to fit in exercise (made it twice) and managed to pack my dinner for all four days of evening classes (thus fending off convenience store and snack machine temptation). I went to my monthly weigh-in and I am holding my own, so far, still about 5# under goal weight. I am also a daily weigher (I think there was an article about this in the Washington Post health section last week).

    I set a mini-goal of exercising three times this week. So far one down, two to go! I find exercise does help me cope emotionally and physically with all of the stressors facing me these days, as well as easing some of my chronic pain (neck and back).

    I am doing the best I can! To borrow a phrase, one day at a time (and for me, one foot in front of the other). A few deep breaths, and off I am again on my latest life challenge. At least I’m never bored…

    Hope this covers everything! I love SDP and no matter how busy I am, I check it every day for inspiration. I lost 60 pounds 5 years ago and each day presents another challenge – and I need all the help I can get!

    Take care

    Sandy

  6. Jen says:

    Vickie, FYI, in my state, it’s the law that bicycle riders use the street. They must follow the same traffic rules as cars (stop at stop signs and lights, signal when turning, etc.), and they could be ticketed if they ride on the sidewalks.

    Of course, that’s no excuse for riding at night in dark clothes and no lights or reflectors! Good for you for saying something to her. Most people wouldn’t take the time.

  7. jj says:

    I’m convinved that a small portion of natural peanut (or almond) butter on top of any high fiber food is the most filling snack imaginable. Peanut butter and apples was a primary staple of my childhood. Now I spread it on a nice, high fiber, whole grain bread and it keeps me full for hours!

  8. Jane says:

    I so enjoy your columns and the posts. Its great to read how everyone else is going along on this lifetime journey — . I have been reading the sdp for years and this is the first time I have actually posted.
    My goal – to journal every day (hoping it will be most days) and to increase my daily movements so that I am just now working out 1x a day (or whenever) and then sitting on the couch, etc. the rest of the day.
    I have a hard time with weight -I am one of those healthy eaters who eats too much, if I have a week or two of good eating portion wise and journalling, I often get cocky and then everything goes to hell in a basket. That is what I am working on now. Exercising is not a problem – just eating — the portions. (But isn’t that enough to create quite a problem?)

  9. jonquil says:

    The last few weeks have been a bit of a bother. My migranes decided to go “chronic” and I was having stroke-like symptoms. So there were the usual CRT and MRI appointments, plus neurology, etc. They wanted to put me on seizure meds, but I negotiated that down to Imitrex, with a promise that I would get migraine triggers out of my diet. So now I have to give up caffeine, alcohol, cheese, etc. Oh well. It seems to be helping some– at least the nausea is lessening, so I can eat and keep it down!

  10. Kay says:

    For an added treat – you can mix equal portion of fat free cool whip in with the peanut butter for a light, airy dip. Few calories added, no fat, and it makes the peanut butter “stretch”.

Leave a Reply

