Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Remember the last time you were able to lose weight and keep it off? It was a LONG time ago for me, and I’ve been trying to remember what made it all work for me.

First, I lived alone, in a city with good public transportation, and my job, in a busy hospital lab, was a 15 minute bus ride away. I was on my feet a lot back then, and when it was time to go home, I’d get off the bus about 3 stops early and walk home – about a mile. And I’d stop at the grocery store every single day, and buy what I wanted for dinner, and lunch the next day. Just the right amount, very portion controlled.

In general, I ate higher protein, almost all of it as fish, lots of veggies, and low [not no!] carbs. No alcohol, no sweets. My biggest treat was a ‘milkshake’ made with some buttermilk and frozen strawberries, poured into a stemmed goblet and enjoyed in a bubble bath.

And for recreation, I walked everywhere. The buses didn’t run often outside of rush hours, so it didn’t always make sense to wait. It was about 2 miles to my best friend’s apartment, and then we’d figure out what we wanted to do, and walk there. The journey was often more fun.

In short, I had the ‘holy trinity’ nailed: healthy diet, portion control, and exercise.

And, of course, I had no real responsibilities. No family, and I was certainly the low person on the hierarchy, so my responsibilities were minimal. So food control ended up being my obsession.

What changed? Well, life changed – longer commutes, more responsibility. But, the real change was more outside interests, which led to less compulsiveness.about food and eating.

So here we are. It’s all about balance – not being obsessed about food or exercise, but being in control and making choices. Participating in the world, yet having enough personal space and time to exercise and relax. And all this while maintaining relationships, responsibilities, families.

No one ever said this would be easy, but it’s hard work.

3 thoughts on “Life used to be so simple

  1. cindy says:

    Oh my gosh, Jane! Have you ever hit the proverbial nail on the head! After spending a year in a self-obsessed weight loss frenzy where everything revolved around eating and exercise, I’ve pulled back and leveled out. I still need to lose more, but I am so busy with “life” that I don’t have the focus I had before to make that happen. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? I am not really sure… On the one hand, I want to finish this job. On the other hand, the whole point of doing this in the first place was to broaden my life and choices—and I’ve begun to do that. Maintenance is HARD—losing more seems beyond my grasp, at the moment. Thanks for the opportunity to thinkabout this subject in this way. You are always such a help!

  2. jonquil says:

    Weight maintenance is like sports or music, IME. If I’m too mentally uptight and obsessed, or too loose and undisciplined, I lose focus. And it takes regular, if imperfect, practice to stay in the game.

    It does take more work as you get older. Even my jock brother has to work harder these days, to stay in shape for his sports. And my husband has to practice the piano every day, or his hands stiffen up and he loses his reach. But hey. Better a rich, complex life than a boring, simple one.

  3. Amanda says:

    Jonquil- in a word, your post is perfect. Especially the first paragraph. That’s EXACTLY what maintenance is like for me; I just never knew how to put it in words.

    Happy Thanksgiving to all!

Leave a Reply

