Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

So, how was your Thanksgiving dinner? Mine was wonderful – complete with mac and cheese, a treat I rarely have. All those favorite foods, and so many of them are carbs.

Why oh why does this happen? What is it about these mostly processed carbs that we equate with celebration? And, trust me, I’m saying this from the relative security of having just eaten a fresh salad, complete with some raw red peppers, which have to be one of my favorite foods.

Yesterday’s carb fest is over, and it should be back to normal, but what happened? What REALLY happened today? Well, I wish I could say that I went back to my higher protein, lower carb, lots of veggies lifestyle, but I can’t. It seemed that every time I turned around, I was putting some sort of processed carb into my mouth.

To make matters worse, I spent a lot of time with the Alzheimer’s mom. She’d talk, I’d put something in my mouth. Of course, something comforting.

Something about yesterday’s carb fest seems to have triggered a ‘comfort’ reaction that I might be trying to get back to.

There is some hope, however. Those red peppers tasted better than any carb I’ve eaten over the past couple of days. The sweetness and crunch were just fabulous. And for someone like me, who uses taste to connect body with mind, that’s really important.

So, tomorrow will be better – and the rockiness of the past two days will slow down, and then stop. I’m going to take some ibuprofen or something and go to bed. Raking leaves for two hours was NOT kind to my old knees! But look at all that exercise!

How’d you do? any revelations?

5 thoughts on “Carb Fest!

  1. cindy says:

    The carbs were great, as you said. And, yes, it is hard to stop after getting started, but we’ll do it because we know we have to get our body and mind ready for the next explosion—Christmas to New Year’s.
    I had one tiny revelation on Thursday—I am better at measuring portion than I used to be. You see, I use small plates at home and at our dinner, we had full-sized plates. When I was done loading on all my choices (and there were ample choices to be made!) I still had room on my plate. When did that happen?! When did I start to get better at this? It is a baby step, yes. But I am taking it as a win for the day, even if I wasn’t perfect. This is such a process and I find I learn something new every once in a while, despite my old brain and well worn patterns. Thanks for the opportunity to reflect on that!

  2. JuJu says:

    Now’s the time to treat yourself to a skein of something really comforting. Merino or even cashmere. Something that is better than a blankie’s silk edge running between your fingers.

    Knit when talking with Mom, babe, and it just might give you the comfort you deserve…

    Maybe…

    If you work with mohair, it’ll be a big deterrant to touching anything sweet!

  3. jessica says:

    Remember your tea tactic… this would be a good time to put that back in place.

    (I adopted this ritual from you and it has SAVED MY BUTT a thousand times when I was in need of comfort food).

    I had two thanksgivings in one day this year, something I’ve never done before, and I’m proud to say that at my Weight Watchers meeting this morning, I STILL lost 1.4 lbs!

    Not bad, eh?

    I ate what I wanted, but I hit the exercise really hard.

  4. Carla says:

    As a newbie, I wonder what the tea tactic is? I am in that awful nebulus place, where I have been gaining weight back after a loss–eating poorly against my own best interest, my higher self watching from the background, waving her arms, trying to get life back on track.

  5. Jane says:

    You folks are the BEST! congrats on your success, Cindy – and you’re right Jessica – tea DOES help. In fact, for my nightly bouts with Mom, it’s some nice spicy tea bag chai.

    And, Carla – welcome aboard! the tea tactic is very simple. I bought a wonderful teacup, but the container is not as important as the fact that it’s filled with some wonderful tasting tea blend, and sipped. As calmly as possible.

    Now, Juju – about that yarn. I’m actually working on a DIVINE mohair shawl for my sister [don’t tell her!]. And I still haven’t finished my two-layered alpaca hat with matching mittens made from locally produced alpaca [and I’ve met some of them!]. The felted purse I made for my other sister is – I have to say – a work of art. And I’ve taken some of that wonderful ribbon yarn that most people use for scarves, and it’s becoming a drawstring purse for a niece.

    Fascinating textures, fabulous colors, lots of projects. just not enough time.

Leave a Reply

