Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Right. New Year. We have work to do.

I’m not a big believer in resolutions, but I do believe in the power of habit, and I, uh… haven’t been sticking to my new health habits lately…

So I have work to do. And today’s the day. My work starts with a sweep through my house to transform it from a place of flour and sugar and icing to a place of greens and light proteins and smoothies. A place where the day starts with exercise and a good breakfast…

Remember exercise?

Remember breakfast?

Somehow these two essentials have slipped entirely away from my routine as I fretted and freaked over finishing gifts, writing cards, and over-scheduling.

But it was a good holiday. Not so sad as last year. Quiet, dear, and good. And though sweet and floury things found their way into our home, and we did enjoy them, it’s time to put it all aside. Move on toward longer days, light, spring.

I figured that out last night when neither acid reflux nor night sweats would let me sleep a wink. Funny how things dawn on you while you’re waiting for dawn.

I KNOW that killing the sugar from my diet and getting exercise will put those symptoms away immediately and help me deal with all the fun that comes with pushing 50. If only knowing it down to my bones counted a little toward DOING it.

But it really doesn’t.

So I’m making a new post-holiday list. On my way home I will hit the grocery store to:

1. Stock up on fresh and frozen veggies, and buy a big bin of baby lettuce.

2. Grab up chicken breasts and fish, fish, fish for freezing and fast grilling on tired evenings.

3. Grab cans of tuna and beans for low-fat, clean protein sources.

4. Grab unflavored yogurt and frozen raspberries and blueberries and strawberries (unsweetened) for morning smoothies. (I already ordered my favorite Designer Whey French Vanilla protein powder to add to that smoothie.

5. Grab nuts and dried fruit and old-fashioned oats for quick bowls of meuslix when I have time for something more than a smoothie.

6. Get string cheese and apples — my quick-grab breakfast when I can’t even put the smoothies together.

Armed with all of the right foods, the next step is to have a nice dinner. And when I’m full and strong and rested, I will grab a large garbage bag, and without remorse or guilt, I will pitch all the sugar and flour snacks, all the empty calories and terrible temptations from the house.

And tomorrow morning I reaquaint myself with my gym. It’s there… I’m reasonably certain it’s there, where I left it back in November…

Oh it’s not easy to get back to our habits, but if we don’t climb back on the bus now, we might not do it.

That’s my list. What’s yours? Do tell, won’t you?

19 thoughts on “Happy 2007 Everybody

  1. Laura says:

    JuJu – many months, possibly a year+ ago you told me (and I’m sure you don’t remember) the journey would be very hard, that I was possibly insulin resistant (I finally found a dr. who diagnosed me correctly along with low thyroid problems), that I would have to survive on less then I thought possible. After finding a decent dr to hear me and work with me, for the first time ever, I have lost 16 lbs. through the holiday season. Doesn’t mean I didn’t graze a bit along the way either but made more wise choices then not. So I am here to say thank you for your wise advice as this is the first time I have felt hopefull in ages.

    My list:

    More consistent exercise.

    Be kind to myself and jump back on the wagon as soon as I’ve been imperfect.

    Keep the white and processed stuff away as much as possible.

    Learn more variety and delicious recipes with (what feels like) a more limited list of foods (Jane I’m still waiting for you to write cookbook!) so that I feel satisfied.

    I hope the REAL journey has finally begun for me and that the new year will have me continuing in earnest despite the hills and valley ahead. I can only hope and pray that by this time next year I’ll be close to where I want to be.

    Thanks for all the great posts.

    Laura

  2. Alphamare says:

    on my list for the new year

    1) run a marathon by Dec. I am running consistently now and have my first 5k on 13/01/07 Frist 10k in may and then a marathon by dec.Just to keep me going and get me out the house and running 😀

    2) loose 3stone and 11 pounds which makes my weightloss todate exactly 1 stone and a half and will take my weight down to 10 stone, a nice round number! 😀

    3) i would like to give up chocolate for new years, three days in and im doing well :p

    4)get a full allergy test because somehting i am eating is upsetting my digestive system (even wehn i am eating well)

    GOOD LUCK for 2007

  3. kirsty says:

    1. Weights workouts twice a week, consistently, even if I have to do them in the evening (which I hate). I have been mightly humbled after my SI joint injury in May, and am only now feeling that my progress is sound and stable (had a few “too much, too fast” setbacks – you’d think I’d learn eh?).

    2. Cycling/and or walking every day. Not to bad right now, as I am working locally and cycling to work – this is likely to change in February.

    3. Eat (mostly) only what I intend to eat. Try very hard to see if I can crack this buying in bulk thing without just eating in bulk too! I think I will have to do without dried fruit entirely – no great loss. Nuts, though, they are really good for you – if I can stick to 25-50g a day rather than ten times that!

    4. Motivate myself to DO something in the evenings, instead of just eat, bath and sleep. Even I don’t need 11 hours sleep every night, even in winter!

  4. Pat says:

    Mine are pretty much the same as yours, JuJu! A marathon is not in my future, due to bad knees, but walking is. Time to get the treadmill and upright rower back into operation…

  5. jonquil says:

    Now that the migraines are under control (too much caffeine, as simple as that), it’s back to weight training. Tractor season is just around the corner, and I’ll be logging out several big Douglas firs we lost in the last storm… and there are some nice rocks at the quarry for retaining walls and steps… then plant some new trees, build some fences… and soon it’ll be golf season again…

    Happy New Year, and success to all!

  6. Lizz says:

    Found you from the editor’s blog at Epicurious.com. She’s right! Lots of good, sensible info. I’m back exercising and am eating veggies and whole grains, so feeling good.

  7. Mary Lynn says:

    Every morning is a fresh beginning. Every day is the world
    made new. Today is a new day. Today is my world made new.
    I have lived all my life up to this moment, to come to this
    day. This moment, this day, is as good as any moment in all
    eternity. I shall make of this day, each moment of this day,
    a heaven on earth. This is my day of opportunity.
    – Dan Custer

  8. Mary Lynn says:

    I plan to wear a pedometer ever day, and log in at least 10,000 steps a day. I plan to do the Walking Off The Pounds power mile often. I plan to drink tons of water and eat right.

  9. JuJu says:

    I’m inspired and humbled by your lists. Here I thought I was being so good just getting decent food into the house. But y’all have bigger dreams. Much bigger. I’m going to have to think about that.

    I DID find my elliptical machine this morning, by the way. It was there, under linens and wrapping paper… pretty much where I left it, and it LOOKED at me with such sad little flywheels…

    Epicurious.com loves us! Dang! Come ON. How much do we love them!?! Lots. Lots.

    It’s the first place I go when I’m frustrated with my veggies, or encounter one I don’t really understand. Also, they’ve taught me so much about FISH.

    And of course we also love them because some of the best information architects in the world have enabled their site to sing and flow gorgeously. We have to respect that. Little genuflection…..

    Sigh. We need to work on our blog… Dang. Another thing for the list…

  10. Rhonda says:

    Wow, So many lists.
    where would I even begin?
    It almost sounds way too overwhelming.
    Maybe just cutting back and doing some excercise.
    Im in the tried every diet out there club including Glutten To glorious and still find myself at my new top weight. 230
    Im 42 ,married 23 years , have 3 kids 21,18 and 11 and I own a small beauty shop next to my house in Arkansas.
    I read Julie’s story in Health mag, and thought I’d check out her blog.
    So, This is a blog.
    I guess as long as i keep reading success stories I believe overweight people can really loose weight but how do you turn on that switch in your mind that lets you finally do it, cause i believe the mind is the hardest thing to overcome.
    Any diet will work, we all know that but its the decision, you know the final decisison to really do it that makes all the difference.
    Even the bible tells you to transform your mind but that’s my weakness.(my mind)
    I’m truly addicted to food and know it.
    I guess my qustion to you is..
    What finally clicked in your mind to do it this time?
    Did you know you had finally made up your mind, or was the battle pretty difficult for a while?
    Any advice on how to absolutly turn and FLEE from Mexican Resteraunts?
    Funny i know but true.
    Im addicted to all resteraunts in this town that start with La.
    Chips and salsa are my downfall.
    So, do you go with the moderation thing and learn to just set 12 chips aside and then break them in tiny pieces, chew them a thousand times, or Do you stay away from the places that you can’t seem to be moderate in?
    I don’t mean to sound negative but Im at the beginning with 60 to 70 pounds to loose
    and each Janurary I find myself right back here only ten pounds heavier, checking out some web site that might get me motivated.
    Last year, it was Discovery Health Challange
    haha
    I know this, No big challanges for me anymore.
    Im smart enough to know now that if i can just at least get on the road to weight loss I will have done alot.
    My goal is to just start.
    Any advice??
    Wishing you all the best!!!

  11. Carol says:

    Hi Rhonda – I so understand where you are coming from. I have struggled with my weight for years. Sometimes something “clicked” and I managed to lose but I never kept it off because I never had a plan for keeping it off. This time has been different. I joined Weight Watchers last January and reached my goal in August. I haven’t missed a meeting since. I’m working as hard at keeping it off as I did at taking it off. Doing it one week at at time with mini goals for my next weigh-in, the accountability of knowing that Saturday morning and my meeting was coming, the great inspiration from my leader — that’s what made this time different for me. I pretty much stayed away from the Mexican restaurant during this process. In fact, I eat out much less and cook great, healthy, easy meals at home. I have gotten rid of the word “diet”. That was my problem before. You go on a diet. The diet ends. Then you go back to eating the way you always did before — and end up weighing what you did before. I’ve found a healthy lifestyle that I can comfortably do for life. I got through the holidays just fine with a few treats – in balance. I don’t plan to give up my meetings.
    Did it cost a bit to do WW? Yes – the best money I ever spent. And I spent so much less eating out . . . The really expensive part has been shopping for a new wardrobe! 🙂 Believe me – not an expense I regret! I know that one approach doesn’t work for everyone — but if you can find a meeting that you look forward to and throw yourself into this project with enthusiasm, you will amaze yourself! Where would you like to be at this time next year? If you lost just 1 pound per week – totally doable with no deprivation – you’d be 52 pounds lighter! Visualize that! Go for it!!
    Carol

  12. cindy says:

    Hi Juju and Happy New Year to All,
    It has been interesting reading everyone’s responses to your post. Such wonderful plans and inspiration from so many perspectives. I am in my second year of lifestyle adjustment (began Labor day 2005). To date, I’ve lost 120 pounds, with another 40-ish to go.I say 40-ish, because I’ve never been this size in my entire adult life and I truly don’t know what the next 40 pounds will feel like or be like. It is a mystery. I had a five pound gain over the Christmas week, the first time I’ve really gained since starting to lose. I’ve plateaued (often!), but never gained. So this has been very scary for me and I am struggling with not letting it overwhelm me or defeat me. It doesn’t have to mean that I am on the road to Hell again. It can just be a temporary setback. But it IS my BIGGEST nightmare and I am scared. Reading others’ posts about their plans has been great. Thanks for getting the conversation started.
    To Rhonda— I don’t know what made things click for me, finally. But you are right in thinking that it is a different mind set. I sometimes think of it as pixie dust and worry that the magic will somehow disappear and I’ll gain it all back again. But this time, I planned for about a month in advance what I was going to do. Labor Day week-end. I cleaned out my entire kitchen. Opened packages were tossed in the trash. Unopened dry goods were sent to the local food pantry. All pastas, white rice, crackers, cereals, salt-laden canned goods, etc… were removed. I knew I couldn’t live with any “temptations” or I’d fail. Then I went to the Corelle outlet and bought several very pretty small plates. With them, I have begun to teach myself about portion. Sometimes, it starts to look right now. But it has taken a long, long time!
    I am not a joiner, so weight watchers, or OA, or other weight loss groups are not for me. I’ve had to do it alone, but have thankfully discovered the Skinnydaily world, which has made the last six months easier than the first 8-9 months! So keep thinking, and when you are ready, you’ll know it and then do whatever YOU need to do to make it work. It takes becoming more self-absorbed than most of us have ever imagined we could or should be. But believe me, it works and is probably what we really need in the first place—to put ourselves first. I’m worth it, and so are you!

  13. Patricia says:

    My list. Simply ways to try to help loose weight without over obsessing about it.
    1. Start back to exercising. Start with walking the dog every day (barring rain) for 30-45 minutes…besides the dog would appreciate it.
    2. get back into yoga. It makes me feel better and also improves my riding.
    3. Only eat out once a week. First will help save money and second will reduce the temptations at a resturant.
    4. After a few weeks walking, start running again. Anyone who is interested do a google search on couch potato to 5k. great way to get into it.
    5. Start back with weight watchers. It really did help me loose 30 lbs (which i gained back)
    6. When hungry snack on fruit or veggies. At least its better then chips
    7. Give up all sodas. they definately are the devil for those trying to loos weight.
    And last but most important….love myself, fat and all (:

  14. vickie says:

    Rhonda
    I have struggled with my weight for over45 years.My advice to you is just to stay away from Mexican food or whatever your triggers might be.I could NEVER be happy or satisfied with one cookie, twelve grapes or two chips.The only way it works ( as sporadically as that is) is when I eliminate my favorite foods. We are not wired the way other people are. Im convinced its an illness and we need to treat certain foods the way diabetics treat sugar.. I HATE IT!!! ahhhhhhhh!

  15. Sandra says:

    This is such a great site for those of us going through the daily battle with our weight. A friend at work told me about the blog, and I’m eternally grateful.

    After consulting with my doctor and registered dietician, I also set an exact date of when I was going to begin my new “lifestyle” – not diet! July 5, 2006 was the day for me. My kitchen was stocked and I was ready to go. Since my goal is to become as healthy as I can, Sharon, the dietician, and I have decided that the scale is not going to be our main focus. So, I see her once every two months, and that is when I weigh. It keeps me from being a slave to the scale, and the pounds lost are impressive when you go that long between weighing.

    My goal everyday is to eat the healthiest food I can for my body and to walk five days a week for 30+ minutes. Sharon also told me to include fruit and/or vegetables with every meal, which really helps to satisfy the hunger.

    As for my motivation, I just turned 46 years old, and have been really trying for the past few years to get my financial life in order so that I can retire and do what I want to do, like travel. But then I got to thinking, what the heck kind of retirement am I going to have if I am unable to do anything because of my health and weight? That really hit home for me.

    So, I’m down 54 lbs (as of my November weigh-in), with probably 150 more to go. However, I don’t care how long it takes, as long as I know I’m doing the healthiest thing for my body each day.

  16. lorna says:

    Thanks for all the ideas and words of encouragement. Last year through exercise I was able to get off pain medications. This year I plan to start walking again. Continuing to exercise though so the pain will not recur. Plan to cut the flour and sugar and increase the veggies. Maybe some weight will come off and help with the walking.

  17. Joanne says:

    I have been an on and off dieter all my adult life. I can get motivated and successfully lose weight, but my problem is when I start to transition to maintaining. I can’t eat just a few of those tempting foods. Then is back to all those bad habits. The word diet is the issue and what one person said – it is a lifestyle – hit the nail on the head.

    I am able to deprive myself and attain my weight but then can’t align my lifestyle to simply healthy eating.

    Love the blog and will check in regularly.

  18. Mercury says:

    Welcome back, JuJu! I’ve missed you very much.

    Cindy, congratulations on your success. I remember some of your posts over the last year. It sounds like you are doing fabulously.

    My resolution is pretty simple: actively keep my job from becoming the focus of my every waking minute. I hope to go a step farther and starting enjoying my life again, and perhaps even spend time with people other than my coworkers.

    More specifically, I’ve resolved for the next two months to cook at least once a week, and to only eat meals in the dining room. No more lunch or snacks while on the computer! And yes, I’ve already broken it. I do love to cook, though, so I’m optimistic. And I’m planning to buy a portable dishwasher at the end of February as a reward.

  19. Allyson says:

    Go Sandra! You have a plan and that is the best place to be. I really need to find the place I was at last year and continue from there.

Leave a Reply

