Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

YAY! JuJu’s pep talk motivated me. I made an appointment with my self for last night. It’s been months since I set foot in there. In the meantime, I’d actually gotten the basic equipment that I need to have for a good workout. Nothing fancy, but it’s what works for me.

The good intentions went nowhere.

And now, it’s time to start over. The appointment I’d made with myself was to do weights for 1 hour, and then leave. Only an hour. 60 minutes. Entire body. It meant making sure that the workout gear was in the car when I left for work in the morning. It meant leaving work on time, and not wandering off to spend gift cards in bookstores. It meant calling my sister and whining at her from a parking space in front of the gym. (To her credit – her response was simple and direct: GO.)

It worked. Halfway into the first set of ab crunches on the ball, I felt much better – refreshed, not tired. And I’m proud to say that the weights were dialed down – to about 50% of my highest lifting. The LAST thing I needed was to overdo and be unable to move.

And today, I’m a wee bit achy, but not sore. Perhaps a little less weight on the upper body parts, and a little more for the lower body, but the biggest surprise is that I haven’t lost it all!

My goal: to do this twice a week. Yes, it could be more often, but going from 0 to 2 is great progress. I’ll take it and be happy.

What step have you accomplished?

20 thoughts on “Back to the gym!

  1. Xena says:

    I checked into the current yoga schedule at my gym to make sure I could attend enough classes, and today after work I am going to buy a yoga pass! And then I am going to attend tonight’s 7:30 class! I haven’t done much of anything since September…

  2. Vickie says:

    So glad to hear you are doing well – I have MISSED you!!!

  3. Cat says:

    Isn’t there something about January–cranky winter month though it is–that’s even better than Christmas? That sense of clean sweeping, new beginnings, fresh starts, resuming your own life…it doesn’t usually last long, especially given the stuff piled on my desk for this semester, but it’s nice while it does. I too resumed formal exercise today, and let me tell you, that endorphin-induced relaxation was badly needed.

    God bless us every one, said Tiny Tim.

  4. Candy says:

    As of today, I’ve made it into the gym twice this week… legs one day, arms the next. Fitting in cardio and abs both days.

    I found out that I had only gained one pound since I stopped going through December, and that it came off after both days.

    Now, it’s downhill from here 🙂

  5. jonquil says:

    Go, Jane! You’ll be drinking pitchers of raw eggs in no time!

  6. vickie says:

    I have started to talk myself into the fact that going to the gym is medicine and I wont live if I dont take my medicine.. sounds silly but fifteen minutes into it, Im ok.. Those first fifteen are killers though…

  7. kirsty says:

    I did my 2nd weekly workout this morning, despite a dreadful night’s (non) sleep.

  8. chrissie barclay says:

    Have started the new year by awarding myself a joining fee to weight watchers to get some help and be able to focus on myself. Went on January 3rd before I could talk myself out of it and came out inspired. The next day had to go with my husband for an MRI scan (difficult day) but still managed to walk for and hour in between seeing doctors etc. So a bad day turned out positive and the results of the scan were good too. I’m now going to find my pedometer and get myself up to 10,000 steps a day before the end of the month. Usually I wait until I have emptied the cupboards of excess Christmas food but this year I broke the habit of a lifetime and threw it away in the rubbish bin. Felt very empowered by this.

  9. JuJu says:

    Unburied my “gym” at home, got out my Body for Life book, lined up the dumbells, and did my upper body workout one day, started back on Pilates mat the next. A little time on the elliptical both days.

    But this morning I talked myself out of it.

    Tomorrow I’ll start in the gym again. Leg work and elliptical. And a good walk for Charlie. Double pinkie swear!

  10. kristi says:

    All I can say is, “yeahhhhh, you’re both back!!!!” I’ve been introduced to so many wonderful people through your links, but you are my original read and I have missed you both. All the best God can give to you in 2007.

  11. Judi Finneran says:

    Congratulations and two times a week is great. I have started an exercise program for the first time in my life. I was shocked the first time I realized I was looking forward to it.

    Cheers, Judi

  12. m.a. says:

    who wrote raw eggs?

    jonquil?

    that was very funny!!!! and i want to watch! heck i’ll even crack ’em for her!

  13. Patricia says:

    Since my first post on Jan 2nd. I did do the walking with my dog (accomplishment one on my list). Did two 1/2 hr walks on wed and one 1/2 on thurs. Won’t make it today due to bad weather. But still its a start. Also increased my fruit/veggie requirement. And almost gave up coke completely like i said i was going to. I slipped today and had one. But one in 4 days isn’t too bad if you ask me. Heck that’s 440 calories saved in 4 days. (: Its a start. Will start back to yoga next week.

  14. cindy says:

    Happy New Year, Jane!
    All this talk about the gym is making me think it is time to do something “formal.” Last winter, I belonged to a gym and started doing an exercise class there three nights a wek. When spring came, I quit, because I exercise so much outside. Well, summer came and went and the fall breezed by and I continued walking outdoors—fewer and fewer times each week, but still. something. Now it is dark much of the time, so my walks are even more limited. The weather is unusually mild, though, so I have managed to get out more than usual for this time of year. But “regular” can no longer be used to describe my “workouts.” So I will look into a yoga or pilates (or maybe tai chi!) class. This will be a bold move for me, because I am not a “joiner”, but it is a new year, and maybe it is time for a new risk…
    Thanks for all you do—this is a wonderful site. It keeps this struggle real and in perspective. You guys are the greatest!

  15. bron says:

    I started the “Shapely Secrets” program that I sent for (I swear I shouldn’t be allowed to watch infomercials unattended). But ya know, I think this is going to work for me. I like the simple workout, the eating plan is simple and sensible. I received a “diamond” necklace as part of ordering right away, so I put it on to remind me to stay On Program. If I cheat, I have to take it off. This week I lost 2 lbs and feel energized, much less osteoarthritis pain. Here’s to a New Year!

  16. Katy says:

    i’m looking to get fit and lose about 15 pounds. Found you in health magazine. awesome blog!

  17. Jackie says:

    Hey Bron, I’m really interested in getting the shapely secrets video, please let me now how it’s going for you and if you really think it’s worth the money 🙂 thanks

  18. Michelle says:

    I’m curious about the Shapely Secrets. Does it do what is advertised? It looks like it’s a diet & exercise program, not just a “quick-fix” exercise regime.

    I am trying to start walking again, but it’s soooo cold outside. Of course, if I layer up enough, maybe that will make me sweat more?

  19. Cindy says:

    Hi…
    I just ordered the Shapely Secrets. I’m a skeptic, so I really DO hope I didn’t just waste $43 on a lousy video! If anyone has had any success, let me know.

  20. Izanami says:

    Hey! Same here, i’m dieing to get Shapely Secrets! But i’m trying to find out weather or not it works for anyone first!?? Found this site on google when i was searching up info about Shapely Secrets!! =D
    It seems too good to be true.
    2 pounds a week. Thats my goal exactly!

Leave a Reply

