Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Ever notice that, just when you think you have an issue conquered, something happens to bring it back? It always amazes me, just how quickly old habits can return.

At the end of the year, I actually had some time off from work. It was great – busy, but great. And now that there are no more holidays and we’re back in the rut, a bad habit that I thought was pretty much gone has returned this week. It’s gotta stop.

Here it is: I walk into the house and start eating, even though I immediately put water on for tea! It’s amazing just how much poor-quality food I can shove into my mouth during these few minutes!

There is one major difference, however. In the old days, I would have eaten dinner on top of this binge. And now, I’m not. This isn’t necessarily a good thing, though. From the perspective of calories, it’s not so bad, but it’s a nutritional disaster! And I can’t afford to do that from either perspective.

This is no small matter!

So, tonight, and just for tonight [because that’s how far I can think right now!], I’ll walk into the house, take my coat off, and put the tea water on, AND WALK OUT OF THE KITCHEN. I can’t think of any other way right this second to handle this.

Perhaps after the tea, Magnolia Louise will get a nice walk – stress management seems to be in order here. And then we’ll see what’ll happen next.

If only there were easy answers for us all! But, bottom line, it’s only been a few days of this nonsense, and I’m very aware of it. That, in itself, is a major life change!

Change is possible.

15 thoughts on “Let sleeping habits lie!

  1. Annie says:

    You are recognizing it and working to change the habit. I think that is very good. The walk will probably help a great deal too.

  2. tony says:

    I have been doing the same thing lately. Even though I try and get in a small healthy snack before I leave work, by the time I get home it’s almost automatic. And like you, I need to nip this in the bud now. I don’t currently have a dog to walk, but maybe the tea would work for me.

  3. Ben says:

    Well, if you walk in the house and you’re hungry — then you’re setting yourself up to fail at walking out. You should have a healthy snack waiting for you. Don’t wait til dinner because then you’ll just be super hungry, and that’s uncomfortable, and makes you prone to eat more. Better: pre-plan a snack that you have 30 minutes or an hour before you get home.

    Also, you need a plan for what you do after you walk out of the kitchen. To get rid of a bad habit, you need a good one to replace it with. Cold turkey is rarely successful, and it’s unnecessary anyway. Progressive change is much more manageable, enjoyable, and sustainable.

  4. Carolyn says:

    My husband just pass away and my new best friend is food. I gave myself a month to get back to w.w. and walking. Hope this will help me along.

  5. jonquil says:

    Why are there “poor quality” foods in your house at all?

  6. Allyson says:

    Good for you Jane! I did something similar the other day – too much stuff all day and wasn’t really hungry so why add dinner? I have fallen off the wagon and need to jump back on! Hope you are well. BTW – I got a new job! Excited!

  7. Deirdre says:

    Alternately, plan a healthy snack you can eat while you wait for your tea. An apple or something nutritious might head off the urge to eat more or to eat something worse.

  8. Cindy says:

    Hello Jane,
    As usual, you are right on target with this entry. The new year is here, but the old habits are on my doorstep, as well. I am having trouble resisting impulse eating—whatever happens to be laying around, instead of making good, healthy choices. And with all the leftover holiday eats showing up at work or on visits to a relative’s, there is plenty of bad temptations! I gained five pounds over the holidays. I have worked at losing three of them, but it is still hard to accept this gain. It is scary, and it is scary how easily I fall prey to “old” habits. So thanks for the reminder—how to take a “baby step” at taking back control. You are the greatest! Your honesty helps me be honest with myself…

  9. vickie says:

    This sounds crazy but I found in a magazine these HOODIA lollypops.. They are 29calories and supposed to suppress hunger.It might be in my head, but I’ve been rushing home to have my pop before dinner..It is sweet, takes about 30 minutes to finish, and Im really not as hungry.. ( or at least Idont think I am…)..Its been working for me..!!

  10. Lee says:

    What Ben said – recognize hunger, feed it something healthy, then walk out. Pre-plan something you can and should and want to eat, in a little cup or bowl all measured out, and eat it with joy, sitting down, marvelling at the thoughtfullness of the person that left it for you, right where (and when) you need it!

  11. amber says:

    maybe it would be a good idea to have some ready-made snacks available to nibble on? like a coffee mug with carrot sticks sitting at eye level in the refrigerator or a 100 calorie pack of crackers, some v8 or an apple.

  12. Sally Rhodes says:

    It is so hard to break old habits–it sounds to me like you’re doing good. I’ve had my weight off for almost two years, and am just now beginning to feel like I’m really under control.

  13. kirsty says:

    what a lot of these folks are saying. You will be hungry when you get in from work – make sure you have something nice and healthy and correctly portioned all prepared.

    I have been having a few weekend binging problems lately and I worked out that if I eat what I think I ‘ought’ to eat it is NOT ENOUGH (like <1200 cals/day, more like 1000). Hence after 5 days of that my body says ‘enough’ and demands lots of food…

    So I am trying to eat a bit more in the day in the week and to make sure that everything I eat is natural and unprocessed (which 99% of the time it is anyway with me) and see how I go…

  14. KENZIE says:

    I DO THIS ALL THE TIME..
    i will be sitting on my bus thinkign ill go home..and have a nice healthy salad and then go for a walk..
    but no
    i will walk right in the door and for some reason go straight to my cupboard.
    its almsot like it needs a lock on it.
    but after i have eaten those foods.
    i usually go and throw them up:s WHOOPS.

  15. Harriet says:

    I did this, and overcame it by also switching on the cettle, and then go outside to pull some weeds out of the garden. I broke the habit, got some ‘exercise’, and my garden looked better@ 🙂

Leave a Reply

