Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Another DUH moment for me. It’s about snacking. Over my entire lifetime, I’ve been one of those cooks/eaters who takes out the ingredients and leaves them around until it’s time to clean up.

It’s been a convenience. Everything is at hand, and as I use something, I put it in a different place until everything that’s gone in is in one place, and the stuff that’s still needed is somewhere else. And, if I need a little bit more of something, it’s all right there.

But, what does this lead to? Let’s say it together: MORE SNACKING, MORE TASTING.

This week, however, I decided to try something different. As I finished with something, I put it away. So, after the cheese was grated for the quiche I made for Mom, it went into the refrigerator. It was much harder to take the occasional slice of cheese. Same thing with the ham.

And then, I noticed that I’d taken a major, huge step. Hungry while cleaning up the kitchen, or feeding the critters, or whatever, I realized that I was hungry, and that a snack – a controlled, appropriate bit of food – was in order.

Didn’t matter what it was – two whole grain crackers with 1/2 ounce of cheese, 1/2 of an apple with peanut butter – I fixed the serving, AND PUT THE REST AWAY. In fact, I didn’t take a bite until everything else was away.

Gotta admit, however, I feel really stupid. For heaven’s sake, I’m more than 50 years old, and I’ve only just realized that this is a great way to prevent mindless eating!

No one is immune from such embarrassing moments, however. And it just proves that baby steps are important, and that lightbulb moments can happen at any time.

Thank goodness!

11 thoughts on “So simple, so important

  1. Cindy says:

    Another great reminder—portion counts, even during prep work! I still need to do my portion control before I start eating (no serving bowls on the table—and buffets are a nightmare!). I feel badly about this sometimes. I wish I could be “normal” or could get “better.” I have been able to lose 120 pounds, but if I let my guard down tomorrow, it will all come back. Because, you see, I haven’t really changed. I still feel compelled to eat food if it is in front of me. I still want the bad stuff—and lots of it! Learning new habits is all well and good, but the old ones are simply waiting in the wings. They haven’t been replaced. They can reassert themselves if I don’t keep watch. When I started this whole business, I was naive enough to think that I was going to change. Now, at times, I admit to myself that I probably never will. I will need to be this vigilant the rest of my life. It is never going to be easy. Food will always dominate my life. But, the positive side is that I don’t think it will ever be any harder than this past year and a half (almost) has been. So, if I keep up my end and remain ever watchful, I should be able to sustain this effort and live a full life. I’ll still be me—I’ll just look different.

  2. m.a. says:

    where’s the quiche?

    and, um, good job…you know we have a cheese problem don’t you? wrap the darn thing in foil. put it next to the darn butter that is also wrapped in foil. place both in the dark corner of the fridge, next to the darn chocolate which is…yes, wrapped in foil.

    now go buy more foil.

    foil is an approved weight watchers product.

    everything you wrap in it magically becomes core.

    i crack me up. you can ban me now.

  3. cindy says:

    m.a.—You crack ME up! I got one of the best chuckles in weeks out of the banter you posted. I am someone who is often amused by my own jokes, as well, so I can really relate. Thanks for the laugh!

  4. Jen says:

    Wow, Cindy, your post took the words out of my mouth. I lost 108 pounds, then let my guard down and 18 came right back on. I’ve been beating myself up, wondering why I can’t be strong. But, reading your comment made me realize that it’s just something I have to accept and deal with. I just have to be vigilant. I can either just whine about it and beat myself up, and gain more. Or, I can accept it and continue to be vigilant and get these 18 pounds off!

  5. vickie says:

    Great Tip.. This is NOT on topic but i have a problem and need some help. I have just lost 22 pounds.. ( still have at least 30 more to go) and NOONE has really noticed.. Ive gotten “your face looks thinner” but its so depressing to me … Has anyone had this experience?? i know i really had gotten heavy but for noone to notice 22 pounds is demoralizing.. PLEASE dont tell me to do it for me.. I am , but whats up with not noticing 22 pounds?? Thanks..

  6. Sally Rhodes says:

    I’m a Weight Watcher, and I agree, ‘everything wrapped in foil magically becomes core’.

  7. Pam says:

    Couldn’t help but to add my two cents to this post. Not your post Jane but Cindy’s comments. It was as though it was written by me, about me. I too lost 125 pounds in 2003-2005 but even though I want to loose another 50-60 I’ve been more or less in maintenance since then. And even though a few pounds have crept back on that I’m determined to get off again I too have realized that as much as my eating habits have changed for the better to healthy, mindful eating I could just as easily resume my “old” ways and I’d be right back where I started. It’s a struggle everyday at every meal to try to do the right thing. I don’t guess it will ever be easy for me either –

  8. Lala says:

    Oh my! How true this is. I used to leave out all the sandwich makings….just in case I wanted another one…and invariably I did!

    This is good stuff.

  9. Cindy says:

    Hi Pam,
    Maybe we can start a mutual admiration society—I really need to hear from people who have been maintaining successfully. My biggest nightmare is gaining it all back. I don’t think I would survive that. This has simply been too hard. So give yourself a pat on the back for maintaining. I, too, have another 30+ pounds to lose, according to the charts. But if this is all I can do, than I’ll learn to live with it. I am so much healthier than I was. As for happier—well, the jury is still out on that one. But I’ll get there…and so will you!

  10. Cathy says:

    I want to say here that you all are AMAZING whether you have lost over 100 lbs. or 20, you should be PROUD of yourselves! You HAVE made behavioral changes (yes, you too Jane!) that you need to acknowledge. So you’re finding it hard to make these changes permanent, well join the club. But you have *recognized* that you will struggle all your lives, again join the club. You are still healthier and yes, better looking than you were before YOU yes YOU decided to watch what you eat, exercise, make some *changes* in your life in order to lose weight. That is WONDERFUL, way to go.

    LOL about foil…I am on WW core plan too since 2004, love it and lost most of my 23 lbs. on it. Vickie – have YOU noticed that you look thinner, feel better? Are you happy about this, why do you need comments from others? (Yeah, sounds like you need them…depressed and “demoralized”??..come on, girl you’ve lost 22 lbs., that’s great). The comments are nice (& you have gotten some) but even if you get them, they stop eventually. People are too wrapped up in their own lives and struggles to give compliments constantly.

  11. Jen says:

    Vickie, are you still wearing the same clothes you wore 22 pounds ago? If so, then that is why no one has noticed. I didn’t buy any new clothes until I had lost over 30 pounds. And, as soon as I did, it seemed like the compliments never stopped.

Leave a Reply

