Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Yes, folks. It’s that time of year again. The fifth anniversary of my roux en y gastric bypass.

I’m not going to boor you all with the details, as you’ve been living them with me. However, something noteworthy happened today, and I’d like to share it.

Today was spent in the hospital ER. The Alzheimer’s mom woke up and was so dizzy that she couldn’t sit up. We tried it a couple of times – slowly, and I had trouble finding a pulse, so I did a sensible thing , and called the ambulance.

Off we went, and we were in the ER before 7:30 AM. Testing showed nothing major (thank goodness), and the current view is that she has labyrinthitis, which is an inflammation in the inner ear, which controls balance. But they want to do more tests, which is why she’s been admitted (the neurologist isn’t QUITE convinced yet).

Anyway, while sitting there in the ER, she walked by – Lisa, the respiratory therapist who gave me the absolute most important piece of advice I’ve ever received. She had just started at the hospital in August of 2001, when I was in the middle of my unfortunate, pre-surgery, incarceration.

She said: your exercise is to take 10 deep breaths 6 times an hour. She went on to explain that one of the goals of exercise was to increase the rate that blood flowed, and to get more oxygen circulating. These deep breaths would do this.

I was thrilled to be able to do something productive for myself.

And the lesson is that it’s ALWAYS possible to do something. The step you take may not look like anyone else’s, but it doesn’t have to. As long as it’s a start in the right direction GO FOR IT.

Of course, I grabbed her and told her what she’d done. We hugged, we cried, she thanked me for letting her know how much of a difference she made.

So plans for tonight involve a huge pan of roasted veggies. All the ingredients for a veggie lasagna seem to have landed in the refrigerator. And the more veggies that go in, the better it’ll be.

For those of you who are keeping track of recipes, the pan has 4 small eggplants in large dice, 4 zucchini, a package of mushrooms cut up, a diced red pepper, a diced green pepper. It’s all roasting with some olive oil, parsley, basil, salt and pepper.

The rest of the filling will be about 1 pound of very good ricotta, two eggs, about 1 pound of diced mozzarella, and some grated romano. And the whole thing will be layered with no-boil lasagna noodles and sauce. This amount will fill MORE than a 13 x 9 pan, but I’m not sure how much more. Will keep you posted.

10 thoughts on “5th anniversary today!

  1. madtexan says:

    Dear Jane,
    Congratulations on the fifth anniversary. I am sure that life is nothing like you could have imagined it five years ago. A new life, a new you. A new way to live.

  2. kirsty says:

    WOW. sounds nice! How many portions do you reckon to get out of it. Does it freeze well?

  3. Jane says:

    LOL, Kirsty!

    well, yes – it freezes GREAT. as for portions. well, let’s see. i divvied it up about 1/2 hour ago.

    a big piece went to my sister. she’ll get at least 5 portions out of that [she also had surgery]. and then another big piece into a plastic container for a co-worker. he’ll eat the whole thing in one sitting.

    and then 8 smaller portions are in the freezer. and there’s a 4 x 4 piece in the refrig for dinner tonight and tomorrow for mom and me.

    Having said all that – for most ‘normal’ servings, i’m figuring 9-12. if there are big appetites around, i’m thinking 6-8.

  4. bron says:

    Gotta recipie for all of you, too. Last week I was craving comfort food, specifically high-fat, high-calorie chicken pie. So here’s what I did:

    -Sauteed 1 skinless, boneless chicken breast in a pan with a spray of olive oil & some S&P. Cooled and cut into bits.
    -Blanched a panful of veggies – asparagus tips, baby green beans, broccoli, cauliflower,carrots, whatever I found in the fridge. Plunged them into cold water to stop the cooking after 5 minutes.
    -Used a tad of butter to grease a casserole dish.
    -Mixed a can of FF chicken soup, 1/2 can of FF sour cream, 1/2 can FF mayo, and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese in a bowl.
    -Combined all of the above in the casserole dish with:
    -A handful of slivered almonds
    -Sprinkled a little parmesan on top.

    Baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Absolutely delicious, satisfying, and packed with good, fiber-rich veggies! I had enough left after feeding the hubby & myself for lunch the next day.

  5. cindy says:

    Hi Jane,
    Happy Anniversary!
    Thanks for all you do.
    You are a constant inspiration.

  6. jonquil says:

    Brava! Congratulazioni!

  7. kirsty says:

    Hmm, maybe I shall try it out then – I am a big fan of making ahead and freezing!

  8. chrissie barclay says:

    Many, many congratulations on your five year anniversary. I joined weight watchers five weeks ago after trying all my life to lose the 30 pounds that have always bugged me. So far I’ve lost 8 pounds in 4 weeks. this week I stayed the same but for once I’m not down-hearted because I know through keeping my journal that I’ve done everything possible and that it must just be a “blip” (water retention for instance). I’m having a very difficult time because my husband of 33 years has been diagnosed as having a tumour on his lung and we are in the hospital every day for more and more tests. I need to go now with him for his biopsy to see if it malignant. At times it seems selfish to be focussed on my weight loss and at others it keeps me sane to have something else to think about. Thanks for all your inspiration both from your book and this blog.

  9. HK says:

    I just stumbled across your blog. Thanks for being here! I just started blogging about my own dieting (but I like to think of it more as a permanent lifestyle change). I’ve been at this just over 2 weeks, and so far I’m -12 lbs! I’m going to start reading your blog from the beginning for inspiration. My blog is at http://hkloses.blogspot.com/

    Thanks!

  10. Miss New Booty says:

    Happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

