Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

And the way things are going, I’m NEVER going to feel better! Enough whining.

In the middle of all this, I had, if not an epiphany, then a realization. You’ve heard it before. But for some reason, it’s now sticking.

A morning protein shake – 20 grams or a wee bit less – is just about the ONLY thing that keeps me on track. I’ve tried so many other strategies because I’d prefer to not drink this. But, no matter what I’ve tried, the ending has been the same: late-afternoon munchies. Carb cravings.

Part of the reason for this is that the WLS makes protein absorption harder, so I truly need more of it. But the other part of the reason is blood sugar and insulin stabilization. At least, that’s my working assumption.

But the biggest realization was the fact that whatever I do for the first two hours in the morning makes ALL the difference for the rest of the day. Exercise, eating, alertness, you name it. Those first couple of hours are critical.

Who knew?

My morning: two huge mugs of tea, a 20 gram protein shake, deviled egg, slice of toast with some LF cheese, and cherry tomatoes. Most of my snacking is GONE!

What’s your BEST morning strategy that gets you through the day, if not in high gear, then with at least some control.

I’ll let you know when I feel better – people say I look better, so maybe there’s hope!

10 thoughts on “I’ve been sick!

  1. cindy says:

    Hi Jane,
    Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. Get lots of rest and drink plenty of fluids—it cures almost anything! As far as breakfast goes, I go in spurts. For weeks, I’ll have a peanutbutter sandwich and a glass of milk. Then I’ll get on a yogurt kick—plain yogurt with a banana, a little pure maple syrup and a sprinkling of ezekiel cereal. On the week-end, I will occasionally stray from either of those and make two slices of french toast or zucchini and onion scrambled eggs (when I do these, I double it and save half for the next day. Eggs microwave surprisingly well). I tend to be a creature of habit. Once I start with something, i stick with it for a while—’til I’m saturated. Then I move on to the next obsession. Thankfully, it is not dough nuts or McDonald’s breakfast sandwiches (though, given the opportunity, I could go down that road…).
    Feel better real soon!

  2. Susie says:

    My best breakfast is one cup of coffee with nonfat evaporated milk to lighten, and 1 cup of hot oat bran cereal with 1 TB. of peanut butter and 1/4 c. of whipped cream…:))))

    4 WW points, and I go like the energizer bunny on it.

    I’ve tried the high protein breakfasts, but they don’t satisfy me as much as this does. I eat this breakfast about 6 days out of 7. The other day, I seem to want eggs and toast.

    Susie

  3. Skibbers says:

    I’m with you, Jane. I take my son to school at 7:30 most mornings and go directly to the gym. If I can work up a good sweat in the first couple of hours of my day, I have much more energy all day. I eat eggs or a protein shake most days.

    Feel better soon- I’ve been down a couple of times this winter too, and it does feel like forever, but it finally passes!

  4. suzycue says:

    I love to be able to exercise in the morning, but right now i’m working on getting enough sleep. I’ve read that getting emough sleep is very importatnt to wieght loss, and for emotional and physical health. After I get my sleep pattern right by going to bed early,my next goal is to get up early and excersice. I usually eat after I exercise because I read that that is how you burn the calories from the day before. Could that be true?

  5. Deirdre says:

    I start the day with a bowl of oatmeal with a handful of walnuts, a handful of raisins, half a teaspoon of cinnamon (helps control blood sugar and cholesterol), and 1% milk. Sometimes, I go crazy and use pecans and dried cranberries instead. A pot of tea and I’m good for the rest of the morning. On days my fiancee is here, we have egg beaters, whole wheat toast, fruit and coffee.

  6. jonquil says:

    1 cup Go Lean
    1 cup skim milk
    1/2 cup blueberries
    1/4 cup almonds
    2 cups coffee

    1 multivitamin/mineral tablet
    1 calcium-magnesium-zinc tablet
    1 fish oil gelcap
    1 flax oil gelcap
    1 DMAE tablet
    1 alpha lipoic acid tablet
    1 biotin tablet
    1 selenium tablet

    Herbs: saw palmetto, evening primrose, black cohosh, vitex, cinnamon.

    N.B.: The supps are for general health, and to help control PCOS, chronic migraines, borderline hypothyroidism, and menopause. Not for weight loss.

  7. kirsty says:

    For a long time I ate homemade soup for breakfast (heavy on the veggies).

    I have been having lots of porridge lately

    5 tablespoons oats
    1-2 table spoons soya/gram flour
    1 tablespoon sesame seeds
    handful of nuts (pine nuts, pistachios, almonds and cashews, redskin peanuts right now)
    1 tablespoon ground flax or wheatgerm
    1-2 tablespoons skimmed milk powder
    1 teaspoon mixed spice (like you put in cakes).

    Put in a big bowl, stir, add enough water to cover (plus a dash), and microwave for 5 minutes. It’ll be to thick and too hot to eat, so add cold water and stir until temperature and texture are just right 🙂

    I canNOT have dried fruit in this, or indeed eat museli or anything like that – for whatever reason it sets me off and I eat and eat and eat like crazy all day. Took me a while to figure that. but fruitless, it does just fine.

    Weekends probably omelette or scrambled eggs with lot of of veg in maybe some cheese. Or a full English 🙂

    Today it was a big bowl of chicken/fennel/marrow/celeriac/tarragon soup adn a small bowl of nuts.

  8. Traci says:

    I just found your website and I’ve been reading the back-posts.

    I want to say I’m in a weight loss contest right now with my husband and two friends. One of the friends had gastric bypass and he was afraid without some accountability he wouldn’t stay focused on the diet and exercise. The rest of us have plenty to lose, so we decided to “race” to 100 pounds of weight loss – winner to collect $1 for the difference between 100 and however much the other guys have lost.

    Mr. Bypass is winning, no doubt, but he’s hit a plateau and I think knowing that we’re after him has helped him to stay on track. The other friend is gaining – he’s changed jobs and just can’t get on the bus – but my husband and I are doing well. I’ve lost about 30 pounds, husband has lost 40. We pay attention to what goes in our mouths and try to go to the YMCA everyday.

    We knew going in we were probably going to have to pay Mr. Bypass a pretty good chunk of change, but it’s been worth it to help him and to keep us on track. We’ve also forced ourselves to make real changes to our lifestyle – things that will keep the weight off long after we’ve finished the contest.

  9. Southamerican Slimmer says:

    What works for me is 20 minutes of warmup exercises first thing in the morning when I get up – not a strenuous workout, just something to wake up my muscles, take the edge off my morning stiffness and remind myself to take care of my body! Breakfast is a plain wholemilk yoghurt with 2 Tbsps of either oats or soaked quinoa sprouts and lots of a local tea called mate (pronounced mat-eh) which I´ve got addicted to since I moved down here. I do get hungry midmorning and I take a banana with me to deal with that.

  10. Kelly says:

    Yogurt with some Grape Nuts mixed in holds me pretty well through the morning. I like Stonyfield Farms FF yogurt. Oatmeal doesn’t stick with me at all.

    For lunch, soup (oddly enough) with a multi-grain roll can get me through an entire afternoon, although I usually have a piece of fruit in the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

